We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in a APVC apartment for Christmas night and it was amazing. The accomodation was swish, clean and definately to be recommended.
We ate Christmas dinner in the hotels Lombardi restaurant and wow, what a night. From the cocktails to start and every mouthful of the 6 course dinner....superb!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    520
    150
    52
    23
See reviews for
302
1,041
56
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and we would definitely return next time we are in Queenstown.

My wife and I stayed two nights in January 2013 and were very impressed by the Hotel St Moritz. It is a short walk (less than 5 minutes) to Queenstown central and the two outdoor hot tubs are fantastic! We had a very enjoyable meal at the hotel restaurant, which had great views of the lake.

The beds were fantastically comfortable with two layers of mattress liners under the sheets. It felt like you sunk right into the feathers/down and made it very hard to get out of!

Our room (333) had a lake view and given the hotel is built into the side of the hill, I would make sure you opt for the extra cost of the lake view rooms. If not, your view will be very disappointing. I would also suggest looking for rooms in floors 5 or 6 as you will get a much better view of the lake.

The gym whilst very small had enough for a reasonable workout with a bike, x-trainer, treadmill, rowing machine and dumbells up to 20kg. It also has a sauna next to the gym.

Negatives would be the very, very expensive Wi-Fi - $14.95 for two hours or 100mb is ridiculous! Given the popularity of iPads etc. these days I cannot understand why hotels in NZ cannot offer this as a free service or at least a sensible price.

The short walk back up the hill to the hotel can also be a bit of a drag but the hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle service.

We did have a couple of issues sorting the bill at dinner and as in common place in NZ, a 10% surcharge applies to the restaurant on Public Holidays (our dinner on January 2) and a 1.5% surcharge applies to credit card payments.

Overall a great hotel but a couple of small issues stopped us from providing an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Pay for the lake view and make sure you are above Level 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the St Moritz for 2 nights, and are probably unlikely to return. As a Le Club Platinum member, I was upgraded from a guest room to a 2 room one bedroom apartment. Unfortunately the one window in the apartment was extremely narrow and looked onto buildings in front. We'd have much preferred our smaller guest room with a view of the Queenstown lake! The lack of light across the apartment gave us the sense that we were staying in a cave. The bed was quite comfy and bathroom quite dated (think late 90s vanity cabinet and terracotta floors). Hot tubs were nice for a quick dip, and we enjoyed the well priced happy hour and stunning views in Lombardi restaurant on both days. A couple of small issues interrupted our stay. No air conditioning was provided, nor a dishwasher in the "fully" equipped kitchen. Perplexingly, it took us around 30 minutes to find the light switches, as they were hidden in the most mysteriously illogical places. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the minibar appeared to be stocked with a number of out of date products - 3 bottles of drink and 2 food items had expired, and no minibar pricelist was provided at all. By far the greatest issue however is that the internet service and speed provided by the hotel is a complete fail. Limited free wifi is available in the lobby on a daily basis, with speeds so slow that you will have used up most of your allowance by the time you've logged in. Two computer teminals are provided in the lobby, and one can purchase 30 or 60 minute access passes at an exorbitent price. These represent poor value, as you will be waiting 1 - 2 minutes for each page to load - I recommend not bothering. With the internet being an essential service, I find it incredibly perplexing that a prominent global hotel chain chooses to function with such poor speed and access for such a long time, and has failed to act proactively on feedback given around this issue from many other reviewers. With no decent connection, I'd suggest that this hotel is not fit for business customers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruffleQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fantastic hotel, wonderful Ahhhhh factor. Great deals in the bar each evening. Staff were always very courteous and helpful. Had a few problems with wifi, but staff stepped in and made calls, did all necessary to get me online.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teska M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012 and won't return. The location is great, only a short walk to town which was great but we were far from impressed with our room. There was no air-conditioning in our room or the corridors and the heat was stifling. When we contacted reception we were told to open the window which we had already done. We were then advised they could unlock the window for us so it opened further but we would have to sign a waiver, absolving the hotel of any legal liability. A staff member then came to the room, however the lock wouldn't work and he really couldn't have cared less. So we roll the ancient water cooler out of the wardrobe and fill it with water (5 star - I think not)!. Numerous other guests were also complaining about the heat.

Then there was the bed which had 2 single mattress toppers and 1 king mattress topper which slid around all night and slipped off the sides of the bed - very uncomfortable. Next we experienced problems with getting our room serviced. We returned to our room at 3pm on one of the days to find the cleaning staff servicing the room next door, so we went for a one hour walk only to return to find them at the other end of the corridor and our room still not serviced. At 4.55pm they finally knocked on the door.

When we bought these matters to the attention of reception staff, we were advised they were busy. On a positive note, the concierge staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough to please and the hotel was very clean. We won't be back though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharleneanddarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Moritz in Queenstown. The Hotel concept is beautiful! Free buffet breakfast (with a view) was such a nice perk as well. The rooms were very classy, and came with some nice ammenities. My only frustration was that we had to pay for parking and internet service, but I think that might be the case for many hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiJane_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing