We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel had a very nice view, room furnishings were nice but hotel itself is a bit dated!. Air con is pretty standard in 2012, maybe you should look in to it, got quite hot and stuffy. A full size pool would be nice. Very nice touch with the national geographic magazines in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael201245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent a week in Queenstown in late July staying at the St Moritz. we loved the hotel. I attended a conference so didn't get to try the breakfast buffet but had 2 meals at their restaurant in the evening. The first was a late night pizza after a cocktail function and the second was a formal dinner with my nephew and his girlfriend. Both were great. My conference was at a hotel the other side of town so I had a 20 minute walk between venues. Uphill to St Moritz was invigorating but not for the overweight or unfit. Staff were very helpful. I found it difficult to get the sauna hot and humid due to a significant draft into the sauna and only one outdoor spa was working. Our room was excellent with beautiful views of The Remarkables and the lake.A great base for an enjoyable week.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and upgrade for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timtom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here in December 2010 with my parents, brother and husband. Us 'kids' shared a one bedroom room with a fold out in the lounge which was plenty big enough for the three of us. The folks had a Lake Wakatipu facing room and ours was on the opposite side.

There is such a cozy feeling in this place as you walk up the stairs. The kitchen facilities were fantastic for a hotel and the bathroom was huge. The bed was ultra comfortable and it was very quiet in the rooms.

We only had dinner in the restaurant once and the food was some of the best I have had. We then drank in the bar until the wee hours and the staff were very accommodating and friendly.

I would highly recommend staying here, and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sure, it's a couple of blocks away from the action in Queenstown, but I'll take the quiet of Brunswick Street and the fabulous views. Stayed for 3 nights and it was an ideal hotel -- huge room, great kitchen and bathroom and ... ta da ... a washer/dryer that came in handy after a few days kicking around the South Island.

Hanging in the hot tub and looking across the lake ... not a bad life. Not bad at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We felt everything about our stay was great, apart from the location of our room, we had the hotel kitchen above us, so we were woken around 4am each day, to busy feet rushing around, trolleys, etc, was disappointed i didnt get the sleep in i was hoping for on my days off.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braquin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have always loved this hotel and have stayed here many times over the years so when we wanted to go to Queenstown for an anniversary celebration -we choose the St Moritz! We chose a lake view and waking to 'That view' is breathtaking! The decor is a favourite. We have always had rooms with modern decor and great beds so not sure what the other reviewers have been experiencing. I would say that the staff are a bit impersonal than they have been In The past.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lakefront view! Worth the extra money! Be careful! They now charge $15 per day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $171 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing