We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We were in a suite at the front with excellent lake views. The accomodation was well planned with kitchen area (sink, washer/drier, fridge m/wave and plenty of utensils & crockery), lounge with sofa, armchair, large cabinet with cupboards, tv. The separate bedroom had a large double bed, wardrobe, chest and another tv. The bathroom had basin, wc, shower & separate bath.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Underground car parking was extra ($10 per night)

Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reserved19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,835 - 1,841 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2008

Make sure you book a room overlooking the lake. The rooms at the back are noisy from traffic coming and going (including coaches early morning) and seem very dark needing a light on even during the day. We had a back room for the first night but asked to be upgraded for the second night.

Our lake view was an absolute contrast - bright, airey, large and had an amazing view with a small balcony.

This hotel is in a convenient location to the town although up a steep hill.

Breakfasts were OK and dinner was good. There is happy hour in the bar between 5 and 7.

Staff are generally attentive and give a good service.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JAM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

I was out a bit late with my bookings, all hotels (good hotels) were booked so I "was forced" to choose St Moritz. After a miserable stay at the Queenstown Crowne Plaza I was on a bad mood, disliked the hike up hill and was put off by the exterior of St Moritz.
But once inside it all changed. Staff was attentive, had an eye for the smallest detail and really made you feel welcome. This continued throughout my stay. The bedroom was big, almost too big with a bit of unnecessary space (or re-organize it for a junior suite) and non-flat tv was a minus (this is about to change). Lovely view, good toiletries and a cosy lodge feeling. Breakfast was of French quality, in other words it could be have been richer and more true to NZ. Not bad, but not a memorable one.

Their website doesn't do their justice but I would strongly recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HedonistLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

Don't get me wrong - this is a nice hotel, and our room size was very generous, and all-in-all the facilities were ok maintained. However, if you are after sleep - forget the rooms to the street. Traffic on the street is not the main problem here, as it is fairly moderate at night. But the driveway to the hotel is in kind of a gully, with one wall to the road (which is considerably above hotel entrance level) and the other wall being the exterior of the hotel. To make things worse, they put a roof on top of that. The driveway doubles as the valet parking area. There was an enormous amount of car door clapping and starting engines during the night, not to mention groups of people coming back from a night out in town. Since there is no air condition, the windows need to be open (they are single glazed, so there is not a huge difference anyway). The acoustic feeling was like staying in a very busy parking garage. Even though we did not pay the same as for a lake view room, we still forked out way too much money for not being able to sleep at all.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RuaMaRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

There were some major points in favour of this hotel, but a few against. It was a great location, we had a lovely view, although given the fact that we had booked a superior room with lake view I think we should have been on a higher floor. The room was enormous, and really cosy and homely, we even had a little kitchen. Balcony was a standing balcony only. We loved our room, but it had a few problems like the heating not working, the pay per view tv was broken, the washing machine was very strange indeed, though it was nice to have one. They are very concerned with being like a hip modern new york hotel here, and the service falls short because of it. They need to be a little less familiar, and more formal. I know that sounds bad, when we were trying to get things fixed they were quite offhand. Food was mediocre at best. All in all, it was really nice, Queenstown, though stunningly beautiful, isn't exactly the gourmet capital of the world, and I'm not really sure how many 'nice' hotels there are, so this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

My wife and I stayted at the St. Moritz for two nights in November 07. I got a great deal via advance purchase directly through the Mercure hotel website. I can say that out of all the hotels we've stayed at world wide, the standards at the St. Moritz are ver high. The furnishings were very luxurious, comfy beds, cotton robes, etc. If this was Aspen, you'd likely pay 3-4 times more per night. Unfortunately we didn't have a room with a lake view, but can't really complain as the rooms were large and I would say around 400 sq ft...maybe it was a junior suite. The hotel is situated on a hill by the center of town. Every night we walked to town for dinner. The staff were also very attentive, as a matter of fact, I would say that the level of service by the staff at the St. Moritz are even better than other high-end luxury hotels (i.e. Ritz Carlton Maui). I remember upon arrival at the hotel, the valet notified the front desk via headset. By the time I got to the front desk (300 feet away!), the concierge had my info up with keys waiting....now thats service.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lucyethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

My wife and 2 children recently stayed here for 2 nights in a 1 BR apartment/suite. The hotel is first class and has a European feel with a lovely view of the lake from the restaurant. Not all rooms overlook the lake. Our apartment was excellent but lacked a lot of light. It faced to the rear but this was not an issue. The quality of our room was to a high standard with a pull out sofa. There were no sheets on the sofa upon arrival but this was remedied. There was a mini kitchen and full dining table. Lovely large bathroom. The room was quite hot for some reason but not unpleasant. Restaurant excellent overall. Underground parking for $10 per night. The location is a short stroll from the town centre and an even shorter stroll from the lake frontage and a small beach. Would definetely return. Highy recommended.Check in and out efficient and desk staff friendly and helpfull. waiter staff in Restaurant very good.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank munjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $171 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing