We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad hotel at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. We had booked a deluxe lake view room with a King bed at a discounted rate without having read many reviews. We subsequently decided to read the reviews and thought "what have we done?", as a lot of them didn't make pretty reading.
When we arrived the staff were friendly but we feared the worst when we were given a room containing 2 double beds. However, we were moved to another King room on the same floor which was much closer to the lifts.
The room was very comfortable, if slightly tired, but ideal for our needs. No problems with the bathroom, toilet or hot water. Couldn't complain about the cleanliness either.
We decided to try the restaurant for one evening meal and one breakfast. The restaurant and decor were lovely, good service but we found the evening meal a bit ordinary. Breakfast was great however. The bar was very nice and bar staff provided excellent service.
We too noticed a slightly odd smell out by the elevators, couldn't quite decide what it was but certainly not offensive.
All things considered this hotel is not as bad as many of the reviews suggest. Location is great, views marvellous, staff friendly and rooms are comfortable. We would be quite happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellotz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for posting your observations and experience. We have a great team here and I am always happy to receive positive comments about them. I have passed your post onto the team.
Kind Regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    631
    560
    312
    195
See reviews for
359
927
112
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed for five nights for a ski/adventure holiday. We had stayed at the Rydges in Auckland once before, but this was our first experience with Rydges, Queenstown. As so-called "priority" guests, we were a bit disappointed. (I realise that the "priority guest" programme is nothing more than a loyalty programme, but it really should be promoted as such, and not as a "priority" programme, since virtually every guest is encouraged to join, which makes none of them a priority. Still, Rydges is calling this a "priority guest programme," so that is the criteria by which they will be judged.) For a start, only one of us got a complimentary glass of wine at check-in, but this is a minor quibble. The real trouble started when we got to our room. The decor and furniture was dated and well-worn, but the bed was comfortable, and we did sleep well. The room was also very warm, which was nice, even if the thermostat controls were so imprecise that it took us the whole first night to get the temperature right. Unfortunately, things only got worse from there. The toilet could not be flushed with the lid open without it spraying down the entire bathroom, and there were large shards of glass on the bathroom floor (as well as a few very small ones that I found by stepping on them in my bare feet).
The problems didn't end with our room. The hot tub was so luke warm that we avoided it entirely, opting instead to pay the extra money for the Onsen Hot Pools after a day on the slopes. On the one night that we opted to dine in the bar during happy hour, we found half of the bar area cordoned-off for a medical conference reception, which made it off-limits to other paying guests. Finally, when we asked for a late check-out, we were told that we couldn't have one because another guest was going to be checking-in and would need the room by 2pm. I guess the other guest must have been a "super-priority" guest because being a "priority" guest at Rydges Queenstown doesn't seem to get you very much.
The location was very good, but there are much better hotels that are even closer to town. I don't think we'll be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldeneye1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
I am sorry you felt your stay did not meet your expectations. I have addressed your RPG concerns with the relevant team. You are 100% correct and it was unacceptable. As an RPG member, it is important that that recognition is a priority. Rest assured that this is an isolated case and remedial action has been taken.
Kind Regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at Rydges, Queenstown for a couple of nights. The hotel itself is quiet good but the staying experience was not good. The room given to us was not cleaned up properly and even the smoke alarm in the room was hanging out with a wire attached. When I complained about the same at reception they told us to wait for a day or to move to a lower standard room as all the same or above class rooms were full. It was not a good experience for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satyendra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for bringing your observations to my attention. It appears on this occasion some basic room maintenance has been missed. I must apologise and have ensured correct procedures are being followed.

Kind Regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We have stayed at the Rydges Lakeland in Queenstown while on ski / adventure holidays in Aug '10, Jul '09, Jul '08 for approx 1 week each stay. On each occasion we have stayed in 'superior lakeview' rooms.

The bad:
The very annoying hot water situation.... the tip from hotel staff is to run the shower for 15+ min to get hot water flowing. However in my last stay (Aug '10) the hot water worked almost straight away but faded to cold within 10 min, which is not good when more than 1 person needs to shower & or shave. I tried leaving the water running but even after 30+ min the shower was never better than luke warm.

Poor shower nozzle / pressure in many rooms. To the staff's credit they did replace the shower nozzle on 1st and 2nd stays.

The average:
The king size beds are those king-single zip together style beds which create an uncomfortable hard zip down the middle of the bed. On our last stay one side of the bed was actually slightly lower.

Room sizes are OK / average. However room 715 on our last stay (Aug '10) is quite small with poor storage, hanging, drying space.

TV is an old style CRT box.

No free broadband / wifi.

The Good:
Great location!!

Overlooking lake Wakitipu and a nice view of the Remarkables.

Quick, easy walk (even in winter) to main village precinct.

Good free parking. Plus able to park on street without paying, or in fear of getting a ticket.

Pleasant helpful staff.

20% discount off food and drinks with a Rydes Priority membership.

Value Tours / Kiwi discovery desk in hotel foyer.

Ski transfer / Tour buses pick up and drop off at front door.

Ski equipment storage room on basement floor.

Overall:
With a bit of looking around you can often book this hotel quite cheap. For us, the good value and great location have over weighed the negatives. Request a room higer than level 7 & not on the upstairs carpark side if possible.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDubya_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Thank you for your honest comments and continued support of our hotel. I am happy to report that the issues with your hot water are being rectified as I type this response through a major overhaul of the buildings plant and mechanical. I look forward to having the opportunity in welcoming you back in 2011 for another fantastic ski season.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

we were staying in queenstown for 7 nights and was not able to stay at this hotel for the whole duration as they were booked out one night in the middle, thank god! it was such a dissapointment. upon a speedy check in, we went to our room (superior on ground floor) which was awful. i had 4 nights at this hotel and there was no way I was staying in this role. As soon as I opened the door there was a huge brown stain on the carpet, the decor and bed etc was so out of date. I dont mind a historic looking hotel but i didnt look clean plus the noise from the road was loud. i complained to reception straight away and was changed to a junior room on level 1 which would be an additional 40 NZD per night. i could only stay in this room for the first 2 nights then change again which ended up been on level 2. neither of the rooms were very good at all. bathrooms so outdated and look like they are from the 80's. I was here for a 30th bday trip with partner and was VERY disapointed by this hotel. Yes excellent location and looks great from the outside but rooms / lobby were such a disapointment. shali on reception was lovely. would not stay here ever again. hotel st moritz was a pleasure for the last 3 nights in queenstown...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
I am sorry we could not accommodate your requirements for the full duration of your stay. Refurbishment plans are underway and we are looking forward to the completed product. I have noted your comments regarding cleanliness. We maintain very high standards however it appears based on your comments we have let you down on this occasion. I have addressed your comments with the relevant Department Head.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Your standard large tourist hotel. Large, somewhat soulless, good position on the lake front. about 12-15 minute walk to town. Beware though that a busy road runs in front of the hotel rather spoiling the outlook across the lake. No air conditioning so you can't shut out the traffic noise. Get to breakfast early otherwise you'll be scrumming with the big tour groups. Also the hotel wi-fi charges are way over the top, more than eight times as much as the internet cafes in town.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are indeed a very busy hotel and the winter period has a wide range of guests from individuals to groups. The destination is a New Zealand must see and is the country's premier tourist destination.
Kind regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed for one night in June as the airport was closed due to snow. Room was absolutely freezing. Staff unhelpful when matter was pointed out. Decor tired and dated. In addittion there was a party in the hotel that was really loud. Again when reception were contacted they were rather unhelpful until we pointed out that we had in fact paid for the room and were due to catch an early flight. They eventually moved us to another room, but we had to carry our own luggage as they did not have a night porter! When pointed out to on duty manager that our stay had been less than satisfactory she offered us a cup of coffee, I could not wait to get out of the place. I agree with another poster on this forum, the place did smell weird.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeadowSweet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am intrigued by the alleged smell you refer to. Without knowing specifics, general statements such as yours make it difficult for me to offer an explanation and it disappoints me that this is not brought to our attention at the time, rather than after reading a previous posts. This would allow us to investigate further. We do have an overnight porter on duty. I will address this with the relevant Department Head to discuss this unusual situation.

Kind Regards
John McIlwain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#15 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing