We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice view, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Staying here was a first for us, friends of ours have stayed here , so we thought it would be nice to try some where new. My first impression was the hotel is in need of a little makeover, the check in was a little slow, ( only one receptionists on duty) and parking was a nightmare, we had to drive way up the street and leave our car parked on the road side, the hotel does have its own few car parking spaces , but you would have to be in early. The room we found very clean and well presented, and best of all we had arranged a room over looking the lake front, we had our own little balcony with table and chairs, very nice to sit back with a wine and soak up the views. We chose to eat out in Queenstown as there are endless options for one to chose from. Value for money i still felt was good, and i would be happy to return again.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a view, its worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaneo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is fairly cheap for a group of 4 as long as you dont mind bunk beds. The bed was comfy, the room was clean but the bathroom was a bit dated. They have laundry room available for the guest with $2 coin for washing and $2 coin for clothes dryer. For breakfast, they have 3 types of buffet breakfast, the cheapest was $9 per person, it was bakery and some coffee and tea. The croissant was the ultimate delicious and so fresh melting in the mouth - cant ever have enough. I highly recommend this hotel for people who wants to visit Queenstown for a period of time and in budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsFloridaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is old and needs updating. But the location is perfect and every room has a great view off the lake. The service is minimal and not professional in any way but the people are nice. Things go wrong (bad dinner planning) or are wrong communicated and the diningrooms, bar and rooms are cold. The room was dusty and the carpet in one word dirty in the room. This people are not ashamed to let you pay a room for the full price while there is no lounge, bar or diningroom available for you because they rent it to groups from outside. You have to sit in a windy hall at one of the floors. Wifi is 100% free.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Cotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Having stayed in a number of other resorts in Queenstown over the last 5 years we were quite keen to try the Rydges. We spent 4 nights here, checking out on Sunday the 23rd, March 14 and I must say I was underwhelmed. Like most other reviews have stated the hotel needs a refresh desperately, the decor is very tired. That's fine, the beds were comfortable and we did find the breakfast quite good and varied, albeit overpriced.
I'm not sure whether the hotels main customer base is business clients but having our 3 small children with us we did find the staff quite rude and not tolerant to kids at all. I cant remember seeing any of the customer facing staff smile once whilst I was at the hotel, I didn't feel welcomed at all. This was disappointing.
With plenty of other hotels in Queenstown and having Peppers next door and the Crowne Plaza a short walk away I think the Rydges does need to step up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savagesheepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hi there, thnak you for your recent feedback..I take all guest comments and experiences very seriously and rest assured remedial action has been taken to address your concerns.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inadequacies you experienced during your recent stay.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had 2 nights here in early February and were very pleased with the comfort and standard of our room, the whole hotel in general and the stunning view we enjoyed from our balcony. The front desk personnel were courteous and the restaurant , although not of gourmet standard, was OK. The cost was reasonable as well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent comment.. Guest feedback allows us to improve our services and reward our outstanding team members. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the team so they can read how pleased you were with the service they provided.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

$200.00 + paid for a room that was small and in need of a tidy up, bathroom had a damaged floor, the room was very noisy inside and out. Bed was average at best. The front desk person verged on rude, very blunt and direct, terrible attitude. I'll never stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hi there, thank you for your recent comments..Please be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers to ensure our improvement in these areas.

I take all guest comments and experiences very seriously and rest assured remedial action has been taken to address your concerns.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were dreading this after seeing the reviews after we had booked and paid up front. Some of these reviews seem to relate to budget rooms. We had a Junior suite with a lake view. The first room looked out over a wall but reception quickly & willingly changed the room to 608 when asked. It comprised a separate sitting room and bedroom with access to a communal balcony which was fine privacy wise. The suite was a bit dated but clean with tea and coffee making stuff provided. We didn't use the restaurant or bar. Wifi was free and in room. Generally a good average standard hotel that could do with a bit of a facelift.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $117 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing