We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #54 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed a long weekend skiing with my school age daughter and found the hotel good value for money.

Maximum 10 minute walk to town, breakfast had everything you could want without being 5 star.

The room was accessed by two separate lifts which was fine for us and the room had a great view.

Checked in around noon (when the plane arrived) no problems.

We were sad to leave Queenstown.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The room was clean, comfy kingsize bed, nicely furnished and a resonable size for a 3 night stay. We were lucky enough to have a corner room (801- premium lake front) so got a good view of Queenstown and most of the lake from the balcony. Pity about the front stairwell blocking some of the view but was great for the price we paid. The bathroom was quite tiny and not big enough to fit 2 people at once but it was nice to have a bath. Check in and check out were efficient and staff were friendly and helpful. We tried the spa pool one afternoon but it wasn't very hot and there is no changeing room so we had to walk back to our room wearing wet bathing suits.
The hotel is an easy walk to the great choice of restaurants and activities that Queenstown has to offer so we didn't eat in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The best views are from the rooms at the front of the hotel but these are more expensive. Level 7 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here because they were offering a good 2 night deal,and loved it. The foyer and public areas are looking a bit tired, but we had a really nice room, recently refurbished, by the look of it, with stunning views across the lake. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the centre of town with all the restaurants and shops was an easy walk along the lake shore, under the flowering trees.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great price! Great location! Very poor service at times though for example a light bulb in the bathroom kept cutting out and needed to be constantly adjusted by standing on tip toes with a comb to make work despite me drawing it to their attention; the shower curtain was barely long enough and as soon as the shower was turned on was immediately stuck onto your body (Grrrr please go the USA if you want great shower/curtain designs - eg bending the shower curtain rail in an arc instead of it being straight!); repeated requests for wine glasses that were barely rinsed (as in not cleaned or replaced) by housekeeping before expecting us to use them again; not sure that the bath was cleaned over the 5 nights we stayed!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I attended a Conference in Queenstown and the venue was Rydges Lakeland so I stayed there as it was Conference Headquarters. Staff were friendly and the Conference went well. The room I had needed an update though. Great lake views from the room, but the carpet wasnt that flash. I actually went back to reception to ask if it was a "Premium Room" and was advised it was. It was meant to be a King but wasnt. Because of the Conference, breakfast for all was held in a room that had no windows and was usually a meeting room. I would have been disappointed if I was a Tourist. It would probably pay to check if a Conference is being held prior to making a booking. The Conference Director was great. The whole Hotel really needs an upgrade.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are great for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your comment, your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting and I will pass your feedback on to the team.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We got a good deal for this hotel online. When we arrived we discovered they had upgraded our room & had a bottle of complimentary sparkling wine on ice in the room as it was my 30th Birthday - a great start to a nice stay! The hotel itself could do with a revamp in the communal areas - hallways & stairs are a bit tired looking.

Our room was a deluxe double with lake views, we would highly recommend this grade. We were on the 8th floor so had great views of the lake and mountains, was lovely to have tea on the balcony watching boats go out in the morning.

The room was well appointed, the bed super luxurious and comfy. My only gripe would be the size of the bathroom - it was tiny! And as somone else has commented the flush was one of those old style, need 2 hands to push it in and flush. But it hardly ruined our stay!

The outside spa was a nice place to soak after a day skiing, would have been better if you could see the mountains from it though.

The location is perfect for a stroll into Queenstown. Would recommend here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We easily walked the short distance into town for a meal each night so location is perfect. The room was spacious and well appointed with amazing views of the lake. We had a deluxe lake view room on the 2nd floor. Staff were very friendly. Buffet breakfast was as expected of a large hotel chain, lots of everything. There is a great little bar on the 6th floor that has happy hour.

Room Tip: Free wifi is available in the bar on the 6th floor, ask for the code. If stairs are a problem, ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hi there, thank you very much for your recent comments... I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the team so they can read how pleased you were with the service they provided.

Once again, thank you.Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#24 of 59 in Queenstown
1,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,283 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#40 of 59 in Queenstown
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $107 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing