We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #51 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed June 29, 2013

While the rooms are reasonably plain, we were very happy with the view (which is the main thing we wanted), and the price was very good especially bearing in mind it was the last night of Queenstown Winter Festival.

Other than that, my main criteria is that everything works - and everything did. Not a huge range of TV channels but they included movies, two sports channels, and a news channel, so happy with that also. The heater kept things nice and cozy overnight.

My partner is keen for me to mention that the bathroom was fairly dated. There was a certain irony about there being the usual sort of sign about conserving water etc, however the old toilet flushing system and shower head use a heck of a lot of water. As far as I'm concerned everything was in good working order and the extractor fan was very efficient so I was happy.

The bar area was nice, the restaurant (that we didn't use) looked fairly good, and reception area was good too. Had good experiences with the staff unlike some of the other reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a view!! And yes you do need to share the huge patio style balcony but without this you wouldn't get the amazing views!! We were on the same level as the outdoor heated pool and spa - quite funny running in the cold back to our room brrr. Room is a small suite but no complaints. Happy with the housekeeping ladies and the nice man who let my kids get a hot chocolate in the morning free!!! So kind. Buffet was what I expected with enough food to meet our needs. Pizza was nice in the bar next door. Only had one issue and it didn't effect us greatly but the walls of the rooms are thin. We heard our neighbours conversations!! So I suppose if you had bad neighbours your stay would be unpleasant. We will stay again as the value for money is brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelV1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a great find. We have stayed in many hotels in Queenstown, and this hotel maintained the quality experiences we have had. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing safe and secure storage for our bikes over night. Our room was well appointed and quiet. The included breakfast in our "deal" was of good quality and had beautiful views of the lake. The Bar staff were very friendly and helped us access wireless internet. We enjoyed the walk to and from the town centre, taking in the crisp alpine air.
We will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: Great Sauna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckoinchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here on winter festival weekend. An easy 5-min stroll from town along the lake, spacious room. Bathroom was a bit dated but the furnishings were nice and modern. The hotel seems to have two parts to it so access to the 'back' where our room was, was via 2 lifts which was a bit odd. But all in all a great place to stay. It will be our regular place now.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonNZMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying here for 7 nights, booked through an agent and I have to say the only thing impress about the hotel was the location. The view is remarkable but that's about it. There were no parking available when we need to check in the hotel. There were not enough receptionist at all even though there were a queue considered the hotel is booked out for conference at the moment. The receptionist was cold, unfriendly, did not bother to say anything, almost like a machine actually. The room was small, luckily when we asked for one more bed, they delivered very quick. There was no wifi in the room. Only down at the reception, or at the bar but you have to pay. There were no changing room so literally have to walk to the spa either in the towel or walk back to the room soaking wet and pass the bar. The breakfast was ridiculous, I don't even know where to begin. It was overpriced as in 19$ pp for hot dogs, scramble eggs and some hot choices. All either really really salty or not hot enough. Too many cons, I'm not going to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyothu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hi there, thank you for recent comments..Please be assured that I will be discussing your feedback with the relevant Department Managers to ensure our improvement in these areas.

I take all guest comments and experiences very seriously and rest assured remedial action has been taken to address your concerns.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are staying on the Ground floor in a twin style hotel room. The room is fine - actually bigger than most hotel style rooms. We have a view even though we are located on the ground level. Heating all good. Great pizza! Spa working yay! All happy. Hoping our next 6 days in the junior suite (changing rooms) is just as pleasing and i can write another positive review. Oh and hardly a walk in to town - nice 5 mins stroll along the water!! Yes it is an older building so things are dated but nothing at all to complain about unless you are fussed on modern decor.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelV1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After reading some dodgy reviews I gave Rydges the benefit of the doubt after contacting the hotel with my concerns.
However, I should have followed my gut....Although we were in a deluxe room, apart from the view there was nothing deluxe about it.
Worn and old carpet, very dated furniture, no power point in the bathroom, and had to make repeated requests to have tea and coffee re stocked. Bathroom was very small. Only small issues, I know, but hello how hard is it to stock up. Asked for a late check the 2nd day there, and lucky I checked on the morning of departure as there was no note on our room.
On a positive note the room from our 2nd floor room was breath taking, and the hotel is located is just a quick 7 min walk to central Queenstown. Room heater worked really well, and on the odd night had to turn it off, we were cooking.
We ate at the bar a few nights and found the staff great and friendly, the lounges by the fires are a real treat.
Give the breakfast a miss ... we ate once, and decided to head to the local super market and stock up on cereal and yoghurt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCTGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi there, thank you for your recent comments..Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned. I take all guest comments and experiences very seriously and rest assured remedial action has been taken to address your concerns.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $112 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing