We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bewitching”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed on 10th floor in double room with lake view. Our package included breakfast. Hotel is a short but picturesque walk to town centre. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was very substantial and set us up for the whole day. Bus stop right outside. We thought Rydges was great value. Would definitely recommend it for all ages. Very comfortable. Our only regret is that we weren't able to stay longer.

Room Tip: If your are on 10th floor, ask for uneven number room as these have stunning lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We loved the location and the setting of the hotel. HOwever, the room that we book was close to poor I wouldnt say terrible. Our room was old and can hear loud noises at night from the other room probably because of the room was constructed by wood partition and ceiling slab instead of concreted. It was certainly the older wing or side of the hotel as they have renovated or newly built a new wing. We asked for a new room from the email and booking website but we were given old room. Bathroom smell of strong bleach and everything seems like a portable bathroom unit. The room was clean but was very very old with cracked ceiling and color faded carpet. Enjoyed their lounge with live band and great glass of their house wine was worth the money. Beautiful location and lake front view if you could afford the front row of rooms next to their reception. Good walking distance to town centre with plentiful of restaurants and cafe and pubs. Forgot to mention we received a honeymoon greeting card from the hotel thought it was a small surprise and appreciated their courtesy. Overall was great except for the old and tired room.

Room Tip: Ask for new constructed room at their new wing not the old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed one night having completed a 27 hour journey into NZ. Rydges was sufficient if rather uninspiring. The double beds were a bit 'snug' but are probably regular Queen dimensions. Still, $190 for 3 in a lake view room in pricey Q'town is not a bad deal. The hotel's a 10 minute stroll to the downtown which means it's quiet and fairly easy to park nearby.

Overall, the 3.5 average it has gained perfectly reflects the product.We'd happily stay there again for a night or two but would look elsewhere if looking for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

my poor hubby booked us here for a relaxing night in queenstown. the night before was at the hilton in queenstown, so standards were set fairly high. we paid $250 for our superior lakeview room. we got a little nervous when we got into reception and saw it was a little tired. ahhh we thought, the rooms must be outstanding..... oh no no no...... the rooms were extremely tired - made look more so because the nice bedding made the rest out the rooms dire state stand out more. there was a lakeview but only if we stood up and looked over the concrete balcony which enveloped the big concrete floor covered in 70s stones. needless to say, we checked out and booked in at the heritage up the hill - yes a five minute walk to town, but much better than feeling you were getting extremely ripped off. trust me - do not book here unless the rooms are about $80 per night which I think is fair for the standard of the rooms.

Room Tip: choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milfordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi, thank you for your recent comments..Feedback such as yours enables us to continually improve our product and service.

I do apologise for the obvious displeasure you experienced with your accommodation. Our hotel is earmarked for refurbishment in the near future. Once this is completed, all our rooms and facilities will be up to the expected standard.

Again, I must apologise for the less than satisfactory stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to Rydges Lakeland Resort under more favourable circumstances.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here in a deluxe lakeview room on the fourth floor. Check-in was a bit of a mess but service was good once I was finally able to talk to someone at the front desk. As you can see from all of the reviews below, the place is desperate for an remodel and it appears from manager reponses that one is coming. That said, I won't re-hash all of the reasons why here. The place is really really outdated (green linolium floors in the bathroom- yikes!), enough said. Aside from this fact, the we found our room to be comfortable and we had an outstanding view and balcony. It is only a short 5 minute walk into town. Once this hotel gets remodeled, it will be a really great place to stay. Parking is free and there is free wifi in the bar if you purchase a drink. You can use the password for the rest of your stay which is nice. Otherwise, wifi is .63 cents per minute-crazy! NZ is not like the rest of the world where free wifi is more of a rule than an exception.

My one major complaint was the food. We ordered a pizza for room service one evening and it was not even cooked completely through. The crust was nearly runny. I should have returned it or complained but I was too tired to make a big deal out of it. Based on that experience and the breakfast buffet that is offered, I would never choose to dine in their restaurant. There are many great eateries just up the street-head there instead.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

we expected no lake view with our budget room but got a great one which was a nice surprise ! only a 10 minute walk to center of town and also free car parking wish we could have stayed longer than our 2 nights

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank deborah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just spent four days at Rydges in Queenstown.
While the hotel is clean it is in dire need of a good makeover.It is a big hotel but very hard to find your way around,it is like a maze inside.The food was okay,just okay,nothing fantastic,some staff were just going thru the motions but others were great.The towels in our room were threadbare.
As i said this hotel is ok,just, but in dire need of a makeover

Room Tip: make sure you get a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent posting..I do apologise for the obvious displeasure you experienced with your accommodation. Our hotel is earmarked for refurbishment in the near future. Once this is completed, all our rooms and facilities will be up to the expected standard.

Again, I must apologise for the less than satisfactory stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to Rydges Lakeland Resort under more favourable circumstances.

Regards
JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $102 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing