We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The location of the hotel is good, and a short walk to restaurants and shops. The view from our room was lovely and I guess for what we paid it was ok value but our room was very run down. The hotel is very overdue for renovation. We had to turn the fridge off at night as it was so noisy and there was a horrible noisy fan in the bathroom that we could not turn off. We purchased wifi but it was too slow to use. The price of the internet was far too high. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. I do apologise for the obvious displeasure you experienced with your accommodation. Our hotel is earmarked for refurbishment in the near future. Once this is completed, all our rooms and facilities will be up to the expected standard.

Again, I must apologise for the less than satisfactory stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to Rydges Lakeland Resort under more favourable circumstances.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    639
    568
    318
    198
See reviews for
362
943
114
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a "superior room". The view was incredible. The meals in the Fireplace bar upstairs were very good value (better than the Ben Lomond restaurant), again with a lovely outlook. Staff were very polite and sought to be helpful. Unfortunately our sleep on the 3rd night was ruined by a group of lads who were staying in two rooms along the corridor from us. Incessant noise and doors slamming went on from 8 to 10:30pm (when they went out) and continued from 4am (when they returned). I phoned reception a number of times and the lads were warned a number of times that they would be thrown out but somehow manged to stay on. I complained again in the morning. We were "upgraded" to a room 2 floors above (though it was actually a bit smaller) and I asked for a complimntary meal that night which they gave me. At 6am the next morning another selfish guest woke us up walking past ournew room talking loudly. Cannot complain about the staff who were excellent but you can't legislate for ignorant guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I chose this hotel based on its location. The view of the lake and the Remarkable is, well, remarkable. Only a short walk along the shore to the city/shopping/cafe. Stayed here for two nights and I had no complain. So what if the room is a bit old; I didn't come to Queenstown to stay in my room anyway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SansRegrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback on to the Team.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here 7 nights during the Winter Fest was nothing to write home about...thought it was overpriced to be honest. Didn't get breakfast included in my room even! What a rip off :( for someone paying almost 1500 nzd for a weeks stay...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gab_irwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in the Rydges 28th January 13 for 5 days and had a great time. The location is great and the price is very resonable. Overlooking the lake and a couple minutes walk to the main shopping area. the staff on reception were so nice and extremely helpful and anticipated our needs. The bar had deals on every night and the restaurant's food was great.
What more could you want! I will be going back.

Room Tip: The rooms near the bar on the 6th floor have free wi fi once you buy a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazzerdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The view/location is the best thing about this hotel. And it was clean....but oh so tired and shabby. We made the mistake of eating in the Ben Lomond restaurant - waited 45 minutes for our pre-dinner cocktail, the bottle of wine came before the cocktails, by about 5 mins, and then the whole meal, entrees and mains all arrived at the same time. The food quality was fine, and the wait staff were very embarrassed and apologetic, but there seems to be a total disconnect between them, the bar staff and the kitchen. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, and warm (but not hot!!!). The room was stuffy and hot, however you could open the windows and ranch-slider, but then it was noisy from the bar below. Have stayed at Rydges hotels overseas and in New Zealand, but this was the worst Rydges experience for us. Would we stay again, sorry no.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your recent comments.. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inadequacies you experienced during your recent stay.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was a very good hotel for a short stay holiday, The view of the lake was very good, The view from the restaurant was brilliant, the hotel's cleanliness was good, the one exception was they didn't respond to clean the balcony after dropping tea on the floor.
The breakfast had a very good selection but the cook part could have been warmer.
but overall the stay of 2 nights was very good.
I would stay there again if I go back to Queenstown, New Zealand

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyjohn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to complete the guest survey at the end of your recent stay with us.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in our upcoming Guest Services Meeting to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned.

I do trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Lakeland Resort Queenstown in the near future.

Regards
JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing