We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly quiet with amazing views of the mountains & lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly quiet with amazing views of the mountains & lake”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Rydges for 5 nights at the end of September/ early Oct 2012 with friends and family and we were allocated to a room on the top floor facing the lake. The accomdation was booked by family on our behalf who were arranging the weekend in Queenstown and intially we were a bit anxious after reading some not too good reveiws on the hotel but to our delight these proved to be in vain as we found the hotel to be quiet, with amazing views and only a short walk in the township. The staff were lovely and helpful and we all enjoyed having drinks and pizza in the fireside bar

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor, it has one of the best views into Queenstown and the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Many thanks for your post KellyP16. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    640
    578
    321
    200
See reviews for
364
956
114
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Rydges.
We chose to upgrade to a Lake Facing room, and got one on the first floor, which had a large, but communal balcony.
The view was absolutely amazing, and it was a great distance from town. A short walk but no noise or traffic.
The staff were lovely, and our room was always clean. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no air conditioning, and the bathroom mirror was heated, so the room got really stuffy and hot during the night. We just closed the bathroom door, and left the sliding door ajar, and it worked well, In fairness we had also arrived just at the end of winter, so perhaps they turn it down.
The breakfast upstairs was great, and not overpriced, and the coffee was beautiful. Unfortunately with all the amazing restaurants in Queenstown, we never got to eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, but the menu looked delicious.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, it was value for money, clean and comfortable, and has a sensational view of the lake and mountains.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a large communal balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharyn_watt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks Sharyn. I hope you have a chance to dine in our Restaurant next time you visit beautiful Queenstown.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tin Can Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Rydges. It was only a short walk to the main shopping area and restaurants. We stayed in a deluxe lake view room. Room was spacious with a large balcony and unobstructed views of the lake. We found the location very handy. We could park our car and walk to all of the attractions in the main part of Queenstown - including the wharf area, the gardens and shops. The fireside bar was awesome. With free wi-fi we were able to curl up in front of a gas fire and use the internet. Our 8 year old daughter was made to feel very welcome. The $15 meals were excellent value and very tasty and filling. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A great place to relax and also to meet people. Great value for money. We decided to stay an extra night and they gave us an excellent rate.

Room Tip: Avoid budget rooms. Go for deluxe or superior rooms with a view. Negotiate for a better rate. Check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robsie-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Great post Robsie-C and good advice. The budget rooms are exactly that and designed for the specific budget traveller or school group. I trust you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012. We booked a lake view room. Yet when we got to the room, while it did have a lovely lake view, there was an ugly carpark and pool area right in front of the view which spoiled it! We were on the 9th floor in what seemed to be the older part of the hotel. I would recommend asking to not be placed in the older part of the hotel. It was a disappointment to be placed where we were. Other than this, the room itself was nice and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was tired but adequate. The breakfast which was included in the room price was very good. Overall, an average stay. One plus to note about this hotel is the free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nz_shez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post. I am glad you found the room to your satisfaction and I hope next time you stay we can lift your experience from average to excellent.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was showing my husband the part of NZ that i came from. It was all we wanted and more. The staff were excellent, the view was impeccable & was within walking distance to the heart of Queenstown. We will definately stay there without hesitation again and recommend it to anyone that will be going there.

Room Tip: We chose the lake view front room for the views as it was my husbands first trip there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I am very happy tour first review on TA could be a positive one. I look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Queenstown in the future.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights as part of a tour. We had a room on the mezzanine level which meant going through the computer room and going down about 6 steps to get there. A little tricky with a large suitcase and carry on. There was no elevator access in this area. Our room faced the lake and even though we were on the first floor, we had a beautiful view. There was a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs. Our room was a double and nice sized. The decor is a little dated but the room was clean. We did have an issue with the fridge freezing everything which caused glass bottles of beer to break. We called to have it looked at and were told it was ok. It happened again and they replaced the fridge. The breakfast buffet was good and we did have dinner one night, which was very good There are daily specials and are usually served in the bar area. During ski season, this bar is very busy so we asked if we could be served the special in the main dining room. That dining room was virtually empty so they said it would not be a problem. The restaurant staff was very friendly. The location of this hotel is one of its best points. You can walk into town in just a few minutes. And waking up to the mountain view is simply wonderful. Our stay in Queenstown was the icing on the cake of our 25 day tour and we were very happy with the Rydges Lakeland Resort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your post Jenves. I trust you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future and I am happy Queenstown was the highlight of your trip.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The room was vey clean although the decor was a bit dated (in comparison with Rydes Auckland).
Staff were very friendly and helpful during the check in/out process.
Very centrally located within easy walking distance of shops & restaraunts.
Breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection range of food.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SingleMaltMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmac1, General Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for the post SingleMaltMan1.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing