We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great, rest of experience disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #51 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed February 5, 2008

The location of this hotel is great, 5 minutes walk to the town along the lake and far enough out that there is no noise. I was very disappointed to find that the Remarkable Lakeside suites have a communal balcony/terrace so people are passing right outside your window on their way to and from the pool. You can see right into peoples' rooms on this level. All the king side beds are two singles zipped together.. As mentioned in other reviews there was a female receptionist who was pretty rude (on a number of occasions).

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Emma_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,952 - 1,958 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2008

This is a large chain motel which appears to cater primarily for large tourist groups. We stayed in a room with a beautiful view across the lake. It was perfectly fine but there is a sense in which the hotel has seen better days. Our room's furnishings looked a bit grubby but they could just hve been worn and faded. The bathroom was in particular need of updating. There is a laundry on the fifth floor but there are only 3 washing machines and 2 dryers for a hotel for hundreds of guests. The day I tried to wash one dryer was broken and there was detergent all over the floor. Better are the restaurants which are child friendly and have glorious views. There is a park opposite which is nice in good weather. We found it satisfactory for our stay in Queenstown but parking can be difficult as the parking lot out the front is difficult. You can walk to Queenstown centre and while it is a bit far for young children trying to find a parking space in the city centre can be difficult.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RussianBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Stayed for one night. Rydges is now a pretty tired hotel both from aesthetics and customer service. I'd rate it 2-3* Room was clean though and the view of the lake great. There is a tiny swimming pool which seemed to always have a few kids in it.

Clientelle seemed to be a bit of everything. I didn't hear anything from the other rooms during my stay. Location is good..5 mins walk to the center of Queenstown.

Just about value for money for what I paid. Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megablst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Having read the reviews from several other people I am wondering if we stayed at the same hotel. We had the cheapest room advertised as "small and cosy" so were not expecting anything special but were delighted with the quality of our room we had for our money. It was large spacious clean and comfortable we could not have asked for more but the crowning glory was the breathtaking views of the lake and Queenstown from our large patio windows. We loved every thing about our stay at Rydges Hotel and would not hesitate to book there again if ever fortunate enough to find ourselves on the South Island of N.Z .

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank Globetrotter14202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

The views from the rooms and the restaurant are fantastic, the rooms are large and clean, but the furniture is starting to look a little tatty. Had noise of closing doors from 7 am onwards as this hotel is used a lot for tour groups and they have to leave early. Average choice of food at breakfast, but agree with previous review about the breakfast, there were not enough staff and tables were not cleared quickly enough, so we had to resort to taking cultery off nearby tables.

Staff did not seem happy. We had a problem with our toilet which was reported 3 times and still not fixed when we left after 4 nights.

5 minute walk from centre of Queenstown. We can recommend Luciano's restaurant

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank DisneyDi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Stayed here for a week recently with some freinds for a catch up. Arrived in Queenstown at 12.30pm but could not get into room-fair enough. Came back later on and checked in. Firstly I have to say the view from 324 is amazing! In the morning you could see the clouds almost touching the lake. The room was a decent size and beds comfy but the furniture is a little dated and definately needs a facelift. The hotel is close to the centre of town-took me 5 mins to walk and close to all local attractions. Adventure activities were booked through the front desk but some of these did get booked to the wrong room. Ate at the hotel restaurant one night-very pricey and extremely small servings. The pool is heated though and the spa was a welcome relief after bungy and jumping of cliffs.Overall a pleasant stay-staff were freindly and never had any problems with noise etc

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Please accept this post as a warning, if you have to stay in Queenstown stay somewhere else. I am a frequent business and family traveler and this hotel is a joke. The staff do not know the meaning of customer service, the rooms are small and pokey, the breakfast buffet is like something from a school camp. You would be well avised to stay at the Crowne Plaza just up the road or book a self contained unit which would offer a better level of comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Coza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $113 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing