We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Bad need of renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“In Bad need of renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great location on the flat near town, but the hotel is very tired, no air con, felt sorry for the staff struggling with a bad product. We upgrded to a suite for a reasonable cost, however it was so noisy that it ruined our stay anyway.
The views from most rooms are to the lake which is fine, but it is on a main road and there is traffic noise, as well as that our neighbors could have been in our room the walls are so thin.
Staff were very helpful with tours and cleaning, but Rydges need to upgrade this accomodation as there are better options in Queenstown for the money.
We did not eat at the hotel as you can walk to town in a few minutes. The hotel does not have a gym which is disappointing given this is a ski resort. We would recommend Queenstown as is a fun place, but fairly expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    630
    560
    312
    195
See reviews for
359
926
112
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were recommended to the Rydges Hotel by the i-Site Information Centre in Queenstown and it was a good choice. While there are some areas in the hotel, particularly the decoration, which are looking tired, the bed was very comfortable and the linen spotless. The hotel faces the lake and with a room on the 10th floor overlooking the lake it was a lovely spot indeed. We stayed one night before going on a trip to Doubtful Sound, but liked it so much that we came back for another night! We virtually only used the hotel for rest, going into the lively town that is Queenstown to eat, but those staff we encountered were all very pleasant and helpful, and the free wi-fi in The Inigo Bar was a nice touch when you have to pay for wi-fi in most places in NZ.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-facing room as high as possible (10th floor is the top) and you will be rewarded with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

The good - the front desk reception staff, we found them cheerful,welcoming and very very helpful. The bad- Internet prices are ridiculous and lack of access outrageous. In this day and age who has a "business centre" that consists of 3 old slow desk tops - where is the wireless????. The very very ugly - the dreadful woman in the restaurant who took our room service order, wrote down the wrong room number, then was rude and unpleasant when we called to check why we hadn't received it yet, told us she would get it to us "when she could" then charged us 2 room delivery fees because she had tried to deliver it to the wrong room. Very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tpw226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Booked a room for this hotel thru expedia for 2 nights. Turned out to be a big mistake! The room ("Sleep n Go Double") was in the rear building. It was old and beaten, and cleanliness was questionable. The ceiling looked like there was mold or something.

I went to the reception immediately and complained about this. Long story short, the only option was to upgrade to a better room! The supposed to be cheap room turned out to be quite expensive. So was the internet access, they charge a fortune for it.

Never again! Absolutely do not recommend this hotel. Try Crowne Plaza, it costs a bit more but is much nicer. I'm sure there are plenty of other options in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheap, old rooms. Or better yet, go to Crowne Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We checked in late after driving from Dunedin to Queenstown due to a plane rediversion. Asked about car parking at check in, was only told to park outside at the left of the hotel or "in the street". It was interesting, later in our stay we discovered a Car Park on the 7th floor that we were not advised of, we had been parking our rental car in the street. We were initially assigned room 416. The only view from this room was of a large external concrete area. To appreciate the view you needed to traverse the many meters of concrete as the lake was not visible from the room. So much for Lakeside, implying excellent views. This room 416 is also an adjoining room, with a door connecting to the room next door. Good for families and friends perhaps who want adjoining rooms but no good for those who want privacy when you can hear every word spoken through the door. Surprising we were even assigned this room when other rooms were available. We went to reception and highlighted this, were told that the door was locked as if that makes it quieter. They then assigned us room 714. This room was quieter initially as no-one was either side of us but still no views as it overlooked a carpark. The same one that we shouid have been told about on checkin. However there was no access to the carpark from the room, just a tiny balcony to observe the view across metres of carpark. What we didn't know was that the room above creaked and groaned like a haunted house. Every step caused a very loud noise like an old staircase with loose floorboards, are the floors not solid between levels?. Surely someone is aware of this but the room is rented regardless, This is a room to avoid if you want any peace. Something else that was odd, if you put the security lock on the door, it disables the Key Cards we were told. Why do the doors not unlock when you exit? Why disable the keys? In 100s of stays in Hotels I have never heard of such a thing. Very inconvenient having to negotiate the lifts to get to reception to get new key cards. Missed the movies we had planned as we couldn't get into our room and therefore missed the start after sorting out the keys. Very dissapointed all round as booked online via the Rydges website as have used Rydges over the years and thought they had a reputation for quality. The information on the website does not highlight the age of the hotel, the noisy rooms, that the Lake views are across concrete landings and carparks, or that there is a need to use two lifts nowhere near each other to access the higher levels of the hotel. The Hotel however is very conveniently located on the waterfront close to town, and is trading on this fact as it is priced at a premium compared to other newer establishments, with superior views. On checkout we found that we had only reserved the room via the Rydges Website, not prepaid it. If we had known this we would not have stayed past one night. For others in the same position, if it is not up to your expections, checkout and try somewhere else. When we came back to Queenstown we booked elsewhere for less money, better view, nicer room, newer hotel, better service. Buyer or in this case consumer Beware

Room Tip: Recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mizmoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel should be avoided. They want to make every dollar while providing no service. The bath was showing patches of bare enamel while it had an extractor fan that could not be switched off and kept us awake on the first night. (I fixed on subsequent nights by stuffing papper in it.) The toilet seat was thin plastic and I feared for my life sitting on it. The swimming pool was dirty and their gym facility proved to be discount vouchers for use of a local gym - really useful!
The cocktail bar lost its ambience due to the pool table!!
The carpet was wavy and the walls bulged in the corridors.
The restaurant prices were about $10 more than equivalent meal at the next hotel Crown Plaza.
The staff did not know how to smile and probably embarrassed to be working there!
The final insult was a 2% additional charge if you used a credit card. We take all cards but.....
High speed internt was $30 per hour!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just do not go there, it is a tired run down hotel not even one star
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is just infront of a big beautiful lake. The rooms are very good. Staffs are very helpful.Outside vies from the balcony is awesome. Worth staying.The cost is also moderate. It is slightly ouside the main market but you can walk to the beautiful markets . Two indian restaurant is also at walkable distance

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hasanzaheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Property: Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing