We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and Service-friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The lake view is the selection of choice when booking this resort, as you also get a full frontal view of the mountains as a bonus! The rooms are super tidy and hygienic and very spacious. The staff's attention to small details were paramount! There is also a private movie theatre which you can book in advance and it comes along with a bowl of hot-buttered popcorn, for you and that special someone!

The wine list is spectacular and the food menu and staples were superb! Concierge is always on hand to make your trip even more special to Queenstown! A 5 Star+++++ is not doing this property justice! Thanks Distinction for making our holiday memorable!

Room Tip: Book the lake view - definitely a pleaser!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 639 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We got a good deal off Wotif $159 for the first night $139 second night. The rooms were quite large, we got upgraded so that was nice, we had a view over the river. Even though the place is grand it is dated, You can hear the people in the next room, not a problem most of the time but ours had a baby with them. I don't know what the rooms for $400 look like but I think paying over $160 would be to much.
You could use the pool and spa, but only after 6 pm till 10 pm, so going out for dinner meant you were either to late or to full.
The gym and theatre are very good.

Room Tip: Our room was 208 so get something on that side and you will see all the river and jet boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had a very pleasant stay for 6 nights over the Christmas period. Our room was fancily furnished (not our usual taste), but was clean spacious and quiet and had fantastic views over the Shotover river. The staff were very helpful. Only comments are that they should use king size sheets on a king size bed (the one's we had appeared to be for a queen bed), a little dusting wouldn't go amiss (there was a good layer of dust on all surfaces after a couple of days) and the parking was inadequate (just not enough spaces for all residents) and there was no lift. The location is great if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown, but not good if you want to stroll out for a beer or a meal. The only restaurant,Gantleys, is 200m away, has a fantastic wine list, but is very slow on service, very miserly with the portions and very pricey. Would definitely recommend this hotel again, but only to those who are good at creative parking!

Room Tip: Top floor river view rooms with balconies are spacious and have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 615elleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel has amazing views and the staff are very friendly. It is definitely the place to stay if views are what you're looking for. Unfortunately I would have to seriously think about going back for a number of reasons. Firstly, the electric jug in the room burnt my hand (quite badly & ice was required) after being boiled due to the jug being faulty. This was replaced by an apologetic staff member but then was replaced by a jug that had scummy insides and a flaky element. ??
I was further disappointed to find pretzel's (not just one!) down the back of the couch, this would indicate to me that house keeping are not doing their job ?? and there was a hair tie(not mine) left in the bathroom on the floor - I think I got a little over it by the second day when a bad smell started to emanate from the bathroom sink. I also had major difficulty getting a parking space as it is on a first come first serve bases. This is such as shame as I really think the hotel has a lot to offer and a real point of difference with the views. When I mentioned my feedback to reception it wasn't really meet with any real interest , I was still charged the two cappuccino's I had from the restaurant . Even an offer of a credit for one would have been a nice gesture?? Such a shame :-(

Room Tip: Room 308, tired and needs work in bathroom - flaky paint and smelly sinks but fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you travel to Queenstown NZ The Distinction is beautiful place to stay. I was lucky and found a great deal online. We have a scenic view of mountains and the river. A small patio that we have enjoyed daily. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our bed is comfortable and the room is clean and fresh. Wifi is free. They have a spa and restaurant. There is indoor pool. An awesome private movie room. There are many adventures and sites to see close by.The gondola had great view. The buffet dinner was delicious at the gondola. We had a great day on the Earnslaw farm and horse trek. We ate at Fergburger sooo big and good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here last Christmas,and loved it so decided to return this Christmas.When I entered I wondered if the second time would be good as the first.With in five minutes of check in,we had realised we had made the right choice.The manager Andrew gave us a tour ,organised our wine and made sure we were settled in.Susan on reception was a revelation.The most helpful person weve come across in any hotel and fantastic sense of humor to boot.We ate four nights in a row in the restaurant,with out a single complaint and nothing but praise for the chefs.We were lucky enough to be served all four nights by our favourite waitresses ever.Martha and Luisa were absolutely delightful.Couldnt have asked for anything more.We would also to say a big thank you to Hannah,Emma and all service staff for making our best holiday ever.Will be returning annually.

Room Tip: We had a garden view ,which was lovely but our parents were lucky enough to have a river view,which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here just before New Year 2013, as all the cheaper hotels were booked up. At around $300 it wasn't cheap but it's not overly expensive, and actually great value for the facilities.

Our room was located close to reception and just beautiful. The view was over the river and mountains and watching this at sunset was spectacular. The bed was very large and comfortable. There was also a sofa, mini kitchen facilities with fridge, wine glasses, and a sink etc. Large flat screen TV, lovely bathroom.

The hotel facilities are great. The gym was the best hotel gym I've ever seen. Not only did it have the usual cardio machines and dumbells, it also had a power cage with an Olympic bar and plates totally over 150kg. Amazing! Also, it has the best view of any gym I've been in. Following the gym we were able to use the pool and spa suite for free. This included a steam room, sauna, and jacuzzi, again with the beautiful view. Oh, and we had the whole of the gym and pool to ourselves.

We also had dinner in the restaurant. It was pricey but worth it. Beautiful view from our table.

A few other things to mention - parking available, rooms are quiet, reception were helpful showing us around the facilities and particularly in giving us access to the spa. There is a cinema room where you can watch dvds and the hotel provides free popcorn too. Possibly the only negative is that it is a little far out of town - although for me this was a positive! Would recommend and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esmeralda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,627 reviews
3.7 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 59 in Queenstown
909 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
3.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
3 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#35 of 59 in Queenstown
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $122 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing