We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

First impression I love the classic styling and furniture it is so beautiful and a refreshing find with loads of character!

I only came in to use the pool and spa area and found it so peaceful and relaxing with a beautiful setting over the shotover river.

The beauty therapy rooms were also lovely and presentable with a couples massage room and a massage chair while having a pedicure! Nice

A nice distance from town as well I would imagine this would be ideal for a lovely relaxing weekend away :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    177
    59
    23
    20
See reviews for
64
388
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Awesome staff, awesome facilities and very relaxing time!! highly recommended. Went with a couple of mates who all had massages I just enjoyed the spa which was great. Very professional team and everything was super clean and tidy. The prices were pretty reasonable for the amazing service and quality

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrG248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for a week and were happy we stayed there. Really I'd give this 3 1/2 as a score if I could. It is very decorative, though some of it not to our tastes. We didn't get a room with a mountain view, but the views from other rooms were spectacular. The location was great for us because we had a car to drive the 7 minutes into town, and Coronet ski field is quite close. Our first impression was that the air in the passageway seemed really stale, smelly even, but the room was okay and certainly a comfortable temperature. We were put off trying the restaurant because the pumpkin soup on the first night tasted more like salt and coriander soup, but apart from too much salt in the eggs, breakfast was lovely and had a good variety of options. I wouldn't recommend getting a packed breakfast to go for a day out though - they didn't pack what we asked for and did give us what we specifically said not to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I are on our honeymoon for 3 weeks touring through New Zealand, Whilst we are staying mainly in holiday parks, we wanted a few nights somewhere particularly nice, and we settled on the Distinction Hotel. We're really glad we did - it's a terrific hotel and we had a great time! We took advantage of the 'Romance for 2' option, which we felt was such great value that we decided to stay an extra day!

The views are nice, but it's the service that really makes sets this hotel apart. We really took advantage of everything the hotel had to offer (DVDs, room service, Wi-Fi, etc), must admit I've never bugged reception so much in my life; they probably recognised my voice on the phone by the end of it! All the staff are great, we dealt mainly with Emma and she's really exceptional, she seemed genuinely committed to making sure we enjoyed our stay.

There has been some criticism here recently about the restaurant, but I can't make sense of it. We had a lovely meal there. The food was superb and, again, the service was excellent. Only criticism would be that the variety on the menu is perhaps a little thin. Catering for room service is also excellent and the service charge is only $10.

If I could change one thing, it would be how our bags were handled. If there was an elevator available, we didn't know where it was and so we bundled our heavy bags up and down the stairs. In fairness, we were asked if we needed help with our bags, but we instinctively said that we would be fine, and then regretted that decision! If you're thinking of staying at this hotel, take them up on this offer! Doesn't detract from the 5-star rating though.

All in all, a brilliant hotel and one of the highlights of our honeymoon so far.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

PROS:
- Not being amidst the chaos of town
- You can book out the cinema room and borrow a DVD (they provide you with popcorn)
- Nice view of the Shotover river
- Friendly staff
- Great facilities (tennis courts, spa, pool, gym)
- Heated rooms

CONS:
- Upon arrival, it seemed like there were only two staff members working. They just chatted and did not offer to even hold the door open for us as we clearly struggled with all our bags
- The corridoors smelled funky
- There was an issue with our room and we were told a replacement room would be looked into, but did not hear any updates. A maintenance man came by to look at it and said he would be back - he didn't come back.
- The decor is reeeeally dated. Nursing-home dated.
- The safe in the room is pretty much just for show. Don't expect to be able to use it. The staff do however, offer a safe at reception.
- Upon arrival, the balcony area of our room was littered with beer bottle caps, cigarette butts and toe nail clippings.
- When leaving out the "please service room" sign, only our beds were made. No sheets or towels replaced, bathroom was not cleaned (the shower drain was clogged when we got there and remained so the whole time) and we were left a towel short.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishfactorial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a really difficult review. With a little investment, improved housekeeping and some little thought this could have been an excellent review despite the extremely poor restaurant. You can forgive it for one, or maybe two, of the points it could improve on but combined it starts to add up to being detrimental. However, it does have some fantastic things going for it so I wouldn't write it off completely.

Context - a two night stay taking advantage of the "romance package"

First impressions - the grounds looked a little dog-eared but it was winter and I doubt many people are in Queenstown to play tennis on a hotel court. I know we certainly weren't! The hotel inside is quite grand with absolutely fantastic views over the Shotover river. The customer service was fantastic particularly from Kirsty, Emma and a guy in a suit I didn't catch the name of. The room was very spacious and whilst some earlier reviews note some interior décor issues we didn't note anything of particular concern - yes a few chips and cracks but it was hardly going to detract from the room and actually in keeping with the charm this place has.

Other big plus points:

- The Spa. This is complimentary between 6:30am and 10am and again 6pm to 10pm and features a Roman Bath (didn't use but looked impressive), small pool (could be warmer but nothing too concerning), a jacuzzi (not that vigorous but again pleasant), steam room (sufficiently hot and humid!) and a sauna (didn't use). Not quite sure if I would pay the listed price of $75 to use it if that was a per-person price (but worth checking). We also had a couples massage which was provided by Jana and another (sorry forgot name). The service was top-notch and massage very good. We should have booked another - would highly recommend.

- Some good facilities such as movie room and DVD library.

Niggly things, certainly not deal breakers and for us would be in the "nice to have" category:

- would have preferred a genuine king bed rather than two beds pushed together (ironic when staying on the romance package!)
- housekeeping wasn't up to scratch for a hotel in this category (I presume it markets itself as a premium property). Whilst I am all for the green credentials so do not expect bedding and towels to be changed every day I would expect the towels to be refolded or rehung more neatly than our attempt, empty toilet roll to be removed and replenished, the bins being pushed back under the desk rather than being left in the middle of the room after they had been emptied and my partners ashtray on the balcony to be emptied. This just came across as lazy. Not enough to complain about on its own particularly given the excellent front of house service - I'm sure it would have been rectified if I had mentioned it - but premium hotels don't make this mistake.

The worst:

- The restaurant. We made the decision to eat in the restaurant on our final night rather than the 5km drive or taxi-ride into Queenstown due to our early departure for the flight the following day. This was the worst decision we made all holiday and the first time we have ever had to send food back to the kitchen. We eat out regularly and are comfortable eating in pubs to Michelin starred restaurants so we like to think we have a relatively decent palate and know what is good and what isn't. The lack of any quality surprised me a little as there were some earlier reviews which commented favourably on the food although alarm bells should have sounded when there were only other hotel guests in the restaurant on a Friday night.

The steak was ordered medium rare which turned out to be more of the blue variety. Apart from being sealed it was actually raw and cold. The lamb was overly salty but edible given the lack of other options and the rest of the dish was bland. It was a very dated meal. We had to send the steak back. It came back after I had finished my meal (so effectively the dining experience is ruined at that point) and the chef made quite a basic mistake in not letting the meat rest after it had now been cooked with the result being the sauce and garnishes now swimming in blood. It got sent back and we told them not to bother bringing it back. The deserts were average - again edible but I wouldn't expect large whole nuts in the Brownies.

Whilst the waitresses were very apologetic despite it not being their fault and offered us free coffee or cocktails, which we declined given our early departure I had to ask what else they were going to knock off the bill other than the steak and it was disappointing to be told nothing. They were fairly willing to speak to the front of house manager at my suggestion who then offered to knock off a free desert and then a second when I pushed back. Again, quite disappointed to have to ask given the whole dining experience was pretty poor and the only thing pleasant and I was happy to pay for was the wine which as everyone knows is suitably marked up as it is. That said they complied with my request (granted the two cheapest items on the bill - approximately $25). However given the front of house staff had provided excellent service throughout our stay I wasn't going to argue for the sake of a few more dollars as that would have ruined the evening further for everyone.

So would I stay here again? I would if the value was right, stayed in a room overlooking the river again, was going to use the Spa facilities and I didn't need to stay in the restaurant. I believe I am a balanced reviewer and don't just jump onto the negativities and go "terrible" so it is a shame that the negativity about the restaurant has to reduce the rating from Very Good to Average. However, if that service is going to be offered and promoted on check-in then it needs to be better.

Room Tip: An absolute must is a river view - it will be worth the extra dollars. If you struggle with heavy su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days. The staff were so helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The movie room is a great idea and very relaxing. The rooms are big and comfortable. Apart from the thin walls and lack of TV channels available we were pleased with the amenities in the room. The heated bathroom floors were awesome. We must recommend the Distinction Burger it was the first meal we had in the restaurant and over our stay and we were so impressed we had these most nights that we ate in. The fish and chips was huge and very filling. The gym is very clean and has adequate equipment. The day spa was awesome, after a day of skiing there is no better spot to go and relax. You have the hot tub, sauna, steam room and heated pool (not to hot, which made it refreshing to dip into after the hot tub or steam room).

Room Tip: Choose the top floor to avoid the noises of those in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
4.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Property: Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing