We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to feel a thousand miles away whilst still keeping the city on your doorstep this is for you!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you want to feel a thousand miles away whilst still keeping the city on your doorstep this is for you!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I wanted to take my partner away for a long birthday weekend. I was searching for a place that was secluded, boutique, had an on-site spa but was still close to Queenstown (Not an easy find!). The moment the taxi pulled up at the entrance I knew that I had chosen the right location! Once we walked through the big doors into a marble floored reception we were greeted by friendly staff who invited us to sit down at the reception desk while we were being checked in. Before heading to our room we were giving a tour of the facilities (Restaurant & Bar, Breakfast area, Gym, Squash Court, Purpose built Cinema room, Spa & Pool, Sauna, Steam Room and Tennis Courts). We were then went to our room which was overlooking the Shot Over River, we were not disappointed as we stood on our private balcony and was struck by the fact that we could not hear anything, nothing! This is an extremely odd sensation in todays frantic world. The only sound was the occasional rumble of the Shot Over Speedboat going past (this was not an annoying sound as you might imagine).

When it came to getting into Queenstown we had 2 options. Catch a taxi (order a Green Cab via reception and the fare is only $20 each way) or a bus (there is a bus stop on both sides of the road and a return fare is only $8pp with a service going past every 30 minutes. The taxi is approximately a 10 minute ride and the bus is direct and takes 10-15 minutes pending the weather conditions. - We used a combination of taxi and buses and were more than happy with both.

We made use of the Cinema room (which is awesome!), the bar and restaurant (my partner had the Lamb Shanks and said "Best Shank I have ever had, good Southern Meat with no fat!") and also the Pool, Spa, Dry and Wet Sauna (all of which you have amazing views from). My partner also purchase a full body massage which was done in a room overlooking the Shot Over River and surrounding mountains, she told me that the lady who did the massage was great at actually listening to her about aches and pains and offering advice on what may help them.

Overall this was an absolutely amazing trip and very good value for money - We were both a little blue to be leaving after only 4 days. The reason that I have given the total score a 4 and not a 5 is due to the bed in our room. It was two spring mattresses pushed together. They didn't line up which created a hard bump in the middle of the bed which was really uncomfortable if you ended up on it during the night. The mattresses themselves were also a bot hard with not cushioning and I felt that after so much effort had gone into the presentation and atmosphere this was quite a big oversight as the bed is a critical point in any accommodation. Would this prevent me from returning? No, I would however, mention it when booking again.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room that is overlooking the Shot Over River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stitterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    177
    59
    23
    20
See reviews for
64
388
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a River View Suite. Great view of Shotover River and the mountains. The spa was very relaxing. There is also a cinema and squash court. The staff are very friendly .As it is approx 6km out of town a car would be very handy. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wow! How lovely it was to stay in a beautifully decorated hotel with lavish furnishings. Rooms are large, exquisite bed linens, marbled bathroom luxury.The view over the river was incredible as the hotel is perched high above, and watching the jet boats take tourists and adventure thrillseekers through the bends and curves at speed was very entertaining! The staff are very friendly and helpful, Matt made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Dining in the restaurant was a fabulous and was consistent with the high quality and taste Queenstown offers. Treatments we enjoyed in the day spa were incredible, Tessa gives an amazing facial. Will definately be staying again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in a river view room. Lovely linen, comfy bed and couch. The staff are very helpful and knowledgable. It was nice to meet people who were passionate about their place of work. They have a cinema, and spa area which we unfortunatly didn't get time to try, but they have a good DVD library, and each room has a DVD player. This was a really nice addition to the room. Great views over the river.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompallier64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while in Queenstown and it was amazing! We paid the little bit extra for the Shotover Sutie and would recommend this to anyone! We felt like we had been transported in to being celebritites or something - we were really treated so well. The room was ginormous - with lounge area, seperate bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. The room has two spas one in the bathroom and one on the deck overlooking the shotover river! There is also a gym and squash court we made full use of... but the highlight it the health spa facilitites... You have a steam room, sauna, rain showers, dipping pool and spa baths... you can book in to have massages and treatments but we just made use of the facilities and it is truly magical so relaxing after a day on the slopes. The staff are also commended for their service as nothing was too much, helping with bookings, recommendations etc

Room Tip: It has to be the Shotover Suite! You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently stayed a couple of nights at this hotel for our wedding anniversary. It has one of most beautiful room views. We checked ourselves in the superior river view suite. The view of these rooms are amazing. They oversee the Queenstown’s Shotover River and surrounding mountains. It is indeed picture perfect. Each room has its own private balcony and a personal spa tub in the bathroom. The hotel also has really nice spa setup. The whole spa area has been designed very well. We really enjoyed space services; the massage is a must do at this hotel after a tiring day of travel and activity. The food options are limited and is allright, nothing extra special.There are better eating joints in Queenstown if you don't mind the commute.

The staff at the hotel are really friendly and considerate. During our stay, due to some maintenance work in the kitchen we could not order hot breakfast, the staff quickly apologized and offered us a bottle of house wine, which I thought was good customer service. We did however notice a lack of staff during our stay. Didn't make much difference to us, however some additional staff might have helped to make the place run a bit more efficiently.

This hotel is situated at a 15 min drive from Queenstown town-center So it is advisable to hire a rental car. Taxis are available however its better if you get a rental car. We had one and it was easy for us to hop into the city and commute to the airport. There is plenty of parking spaces available at the hotel. Overall it was a good experience and we look forward to come back and stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: Choose the river facing room. Garden facing rooms don't have the views. It is worth paying extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumanth1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place was fantastic and the staff were equally if not more fantastic! We were warmly greeted and given a tour of the property by Andrew whom also allowed us to use another room (our booked room would not be ready in time) whilst getting ready for our Wedding which was a definite life saver!

When we arrived back late that night after the wedding we were surprised in our room with champagne, a stunning view and a fabulous room (though we thought we couldn't go wrong booking the presidential suite). The room, spa on the balcony and bedroom itself was great value for money and in an ideal location. Just out from the main Queenstown center and 10 minutes from Arrowtown this is a perfect spot to venture around and explore the amazing area.

We will definitely return and hopefully can get back sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
4.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Property: Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing