We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this as a romantic getaway, staff very friendly and helpful. Room spacious, everything included down to bathrobes & sewing kit which was a blessing as a button fell off my coat just as we where going out to dinner. Spa area has amusing Roman theme, loved the salt water pool. Can recommend the massage, again staff here were lovely and professional. As the hotel was quiet we did receive a great rate and meant hotel was wonderfully quiet at night, just what we needed. Yes rooms need some maintenance, car parking limited if busy. Rooms need a spring clean & good dust. Bed very comfortable, pillows great (feather). Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 633 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fabulous facilities, great spa and indoor pool overlooking the river. Beautiful room with generous balcony and spectacular views. The staff and the atmosphere of the hotel was so welcoming and friendly we will definately be going back and the photos don't do it justice. (pool is now indoor) So a great winter or summer break.

Room Tip: River view with a balcony, room 202 superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place is incredible and definately needs to be experienced first hand to be believed!

We stayed in a river view room which had the most beautiful view. We loved the furnishings which are homely yet luxurious at the same time. The sheets were divine with a very comfy bed. A very quiet room with nice dark curtains. Nice and warm in the room.
We had our robes missing in our room but a quick ph call to reception saw them delivered asap :)

The rest of the hotel is incredibly beautiful - the dining suite with amazing views (& a great library!), an ornate ceiling, and lovely fire, and the spa is very luxurious. We enjoyed having access to the spa bath and pool in the ornate surroundings - divine!

We had one meal at the hotel & the staff were most accomodating to our requests to change the ingredients according to dietary requirements. The food was delicious.

Room Tip: River view are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcfnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I would love to tell you more but it's a well kept amazing secret place in queenstown - ok ok so I will say that if you want luxury for less then this is the place to check out. They look after you, make you feel pampered and give you that extra service you've been looking for. The rooms are great, they accommodate more than 2 people to a room if you have one child and if you have two and want an adjoining room theyhave these too. The pool is amazing, with the jacuzzi and spa facilities this is the best reason to go. As well as the views of the shotover river!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for river views and if you need a two bedroom place ask for the apartment on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atthebottomnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday to Queenstown, where we stayed at 3 different hotels. The Nugget Point Hotel was definitely the best accommodation that we had on our trip. It was our honeymoon and we were upgraded to a wonderful room with the most amazing view of the Shotover River. The staff were incredibly helpful and generous with their time, the food was lovely and the overall atmosphere of the hotel was one of warmth and friendliness. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kiwiboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was wonderful - the room, the staff, The spa suite, the location and especially the food. We will be back.
Why does this review have to be at least 200 characters?? I have nothing else to say, maybe I should review the review! I have nothing else to say, nothing nothing nothing

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Thewaxbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

It was so bad i don't know were to start.

We had booked and paid for a River View Suite to finish off our 5 week trip in style but when we checked in we were told they had no suites left and we either had to take a "carpark" view room or they would refund our money and we would have to find something else which was out of the question after skiing all day and everwhere else full. As compensation for this we were given a $50 credit given that the room and suite price difference was around $300 this was the first of many insults fired at us, including;

1: the tv from the 70's took ten min to warm up then stopped working altogether
2: there was no hot water in the mornings which we told them about but as we found out the next morning while trying to rush out nothing was done about it and we had more cold showers.
3: the advertised heated towel rail did not work.
4: the advertised bath robes were not in the room and we found out that they didn't even have any for us to use.
5: the doors to the verandah right next to the hotel entry could not be locked leaving us and our belongings vunurable
6: paint peeling off the ceiling
7: simple things like no pen supplied with the stationary and not all the tea and coffees replenished after our first day.

After 35yrs of world travel this is one of the worst experiences we have ever had.

Don't waste your time and money on this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank conjolaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,441 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.7 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,608 reviews
3.4 mi away
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Whistler Holiday Apartments
#29 of 58 in Queenstown
284 reviews
3.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $113 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing