We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$225
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$180
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$316
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$169
$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$118
$112
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azur(Queenstown)
$1,081
$832
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
353
199
69
30
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
199
69
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshotover riversteam roomsquash courtriver viewspa areabodhi treeburmese restaurantcinema roomarthurs pointcoronet peakno liftspa treatmentsview roomheated poolsome tlcour honeymoonboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 676 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We really enjoyed our short stay at this resort. The setting and the views are magnificent and the rooms are very comfortable, spacious, nicely decorated and well kept. Staff very friendly and courteous and went absolutely out of their way to assist. Added bonuses were an outdoor spa pool overlooking the mountains, a tennis court, and a small cinema with comfy armchairs and blankets. The restaurant had an excellent selection of wines and the food was magnificently fresh and local produce was used where possible. All in all, would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Stayed at Nugget Point for 10 days. What a friendly and willing people run this hotel! They do their best to provide quality and convinience.
The dinner meal is excllent to my taste (and not only mine, as it follows from previous reviews).
The view from balcony to river 'Shotover' and distant mountains is really breathtaking espetially when you're sliding off the curtains for the first time.
There is the the garden also. This is the place where just interesting to walk and look at... things and plants and stones, and how they are arranged together.
Very much liked the vintage-style decor. I was higly impressed when I had known that almost all of the decoration stuff had been designed by owner herself. It was really great work worth to respect.

My opinion of Nugget Point is higly positive.

P.S. Don't make fun of my English! :)

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Neptune-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Spent 2 nights at the Nugget Point Boutique Hotel with my girlfriend. Everything was perfect. Staff were friendly and helpful. The view over the river was amazing. Loved the wild-game decor. The rooms were large and clean. The possum throw on the bed was beautiful and kept us warm. All you can hear from the room was the birds and river.

Be sure to check out the semi-outdoor bath pools (onsen) overlooking the river in the property next door.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jcjchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Our week long stay at Nugget Point was an extremely comfortable and enjoyable experience. The setting for this resort is hard to beat and we spent most early evenings after a hard days skiing in the spa on our balcony overlooking the shotover river. On top of this the meals in the restaurant were to die for!
Nugget Point is not about a formula driven response to guests and their needs. If you want that go to one of the big hotel chains. At Nugget Point you deal with real people who care about the place where they work.
This was exemplified one evening when we noticed Mike, the resident barman/waiter/jack of all trades, had organised for the children of some other guests to toast marshmallows on the open fire. Due to the clever design of the public areas this was accomplished without it interfering with our quiet night out.
We enjoyed the decor at Nugget Point, it is big and bold like the alps that surround it. I wouldn't have it in my home, but hey, I can stay at home if that is what I want! The canaries in the lounge are meticulously cared for and the two darling little maltese terriers would love to be your best friend but they are kept on a tight rein by the staff and not allowed to intrude on your personal space unless you request it.
Finally I have to compliment the meals that chef Werner serves up each evening. During our stay in winter they were a perfect blend of big gutsy flavours that complimented each other and the mountain climate in which they were served. The wine list is extensive and only limited by your budget.
To sum up Nugget Point is about indulgence in spectacular surrounds. It is by no means a budget destination but worth the expense for a special occasion or simply because you deserve it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank storeyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We had an amazing time at Nugget Point. for our honeymoon.

Great place - great food - great people.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bee_Kay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews