We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Awesome views and old world charm. We had interconnecting rooms and what SPACE and utterly comfortable. Beautiful renovation on the spa but a pity house guests are asked to pay to use the pool. Breakfast was nice but could be a little more relaxed. Staff are a great asset to the place as always attentive, helpful and pleasant. Cinema was great. Location is out of the way if you want to actually be in Queenstown but we wanted to be near Arrowtown and Coronet Peak so it worked for us. Did not try the restaurant for dinner so can't comment.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms overlooking the Shotover River are the ones to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinadivina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It is a joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we have now made the spa suite available for all guests to use, with the help of your feedback.

It is great that you enjoyed the views and the staff were a positive part of your stay with us. Once again, thank you for giving us your feedback as it has helped us to improve our service for the future.

We hope to welcome you again some day.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    186
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
68
403
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We had booked the hotel well in advance. However, when we arrived it looked as if there were not ready at all. There were no towels, disposable shower gel was half-used with someone's hair stuck on the bottle. The TV did not work (antenna cable missing). I asked the receptionist to fix it just to never hear from her again. TV stand was broken and was dangerously leaning towards the window.

Room Tip: Look for something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAEBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. This is very helpful as it helps us to continually improve our service. This has been passed on to the General Manager of Distinction Queenstown who is following up with housekeeping.

Thank you again for letting us know.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Fantastic views. The Spa and gym and squash court we used and I cannot rate them high enough.

We found the staff very helpful, pleasant; a great asset to the hotel as nothing was too much for them.
If you can, go for the Presidentcial Suite, the views, whirlpool on balcony and kitchen just make it a special stay.

The breakfasts you will need to experience, excellent in everyway.

Thank ypu Distiction, we will return.

Room Tip: Found this on living Social . com
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldhutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your generous comments, and for sharing them with us on Trip Advisor.

It is a joy to hear that you had such a good time during your stay with us, and that the facilities, staff, views and breakfast all seemed to exceed your expectations - this is what we like to hear! And you are certainly right about the gorgeous Presidential Suite - that spa on the balcony is something special indeed.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel was chosen as a base for a stay in Queenstown to do some exploring of surrounding sights and some skiing. The deal we got made the stay very good value for money in comparison to other Queenstown properties at that time of the year. (Queenstown is not a cheap place to lay your head if you are looking for better quality than a backpackers).

This hotel is not in Queenstown the town itself but about a 10 minute drive from downtown and if you do not have your own transport, then this is probably not the place for you. If you do have a car it is close to Queenstown, Arrowtown, and Coronet Peak Ski field.
It is a smaller hotel and because of that, a more quiet place, which is excellent for a relaxing night after a long day skiing, but probably not for those looking for the party atmosphere. Mostly a mix of guests from young couples to older groups but definitely not what you would call the "party 'till 5am crowd".
The rooms and bed are comfortable, well equipped, could be a bit more particular with some aspects of the cleaning but otherwise perfectly adequate.
River view suites do have a very impressive view over the Shotover river and the jetboats that run up and down it. The view is definitely a big plus for any of the river view rooms.
The breakfast is served as part of the deal we got every morning had a big selection of items and was fine. Continental and cooked but was a little hit and miss in quality/service depending on the day and the time you turned up.
The staff were very helpful, and could not be faulted in their attempts at dealing with requests etc. Sometimes did seem as though they were a little light on staff numbers with what appeared to be one person dealing with reception checkouts and the breakfast room at the same time on some days.
Value for money - the hotel was pretty good.
Is it a 4.5 - 5 star hotel? No. Is it a good value 3.5 - 4 star hotel? Yes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments, as they help us to continually improve our service.

You do raise some good points - some of which we are definitely aware of and working on. We have been slightly understaffed, but we have brought down a couple of people from our other hotels and are working on hiring more staff. We do have a new chef who has been a fantastic addition to the hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time out of the city to relax and take in the beautiful views our hotel has to offer, and that the staff were a positive part of your stay. We do however apologise that some cleanliness was not up to standard.

We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Located close to the Coronet Peak ski field and to the base for the Shotover River Jet boating and rafting. It is a short 7 or 8 minute drive in to Queenstown so you are not right in the heart of the town for restaurants and night life and do not get lake views. We were fortunate enough to get an upgrade to the Shotover Suite which was very spacious, well appointed, and with gorgeous views over the river valley. Queenstown is a spectacular resort town, and Arrowtown is another interesting place, perhaps 12 to 15 minute drive.

There is so much to see and do in the area.

The hotel has had a very expensive upgrade at some time and has a really luxurious spa complex. The lounge, bar and dining area is very nice and it was a pity that such a pleasant area was not better patronized.

There are no restaurants or cafes in the vicinity (other than the hotel itself) which means breakfast at the hotel is the only option unless you want to drive to Queenstown.

The restaurant food was good without being great, but the surroundings and setting were really good.

The hotel was let down slightly by a few maintenance matters not being attended to, and there is always the problem of staffing with 100% professionals in a resort town such as Queenstown.

Wi fi was free but very slow. You need a car if you are staying here unless part of a tour group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with us, and for adding the beautiful photo of your room view.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that the room and facilities met your expectations. Thank you for your feedback on the restaurant and the staff, as well as the maintenance issues. This is certainly something we are working on which is why we have recently hired a new Assistant Manager. This has been bringing about some positive change, and we will continue to improve in the near future.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Distinction in May and had a wonderful time. It's a bit of a drive to town (and you certainly could find closer) but we loved being able to get a way and "go home." It's about a 10 min drive from town. One thing you couldn't quite get from town is the view. It was absolutely gorgeous! Although all of Queenstown is beautiful, the view of the valley was out of this world. May is not a very popular month to travel to Queenstown so we had basically the entire place to ourselves. I couldn't say enough about those that worked there- they were so helpful, cheerful and out of their way hospitable. The food was great. The spa was great. The room was amazing (we upgraded to the suite!). I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semanej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is a joy to hear such positive feedback about the hotel and our staff - we are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed getting away from it all, and the stunning views we have to offer - definitely some of our best assets.

We hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The rooms were well appointed, the spa area was a real highlight and so nicely done. The views from our room were stunning looking over the Shotover River. To start with we were appointed a room on the road side which was very nice however the room wasnt twin as requested. The AMAZING Archie changed our room immediately to a twin room which was lucky for us as it was overlooking the river. Unfortunately their hot water broke, this was a slight issue but we were given use of the spa pool and champagne along with a beautiful bottle of wine. I am sure if we asked for anything more they would accommodate it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenbag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is a joy to hear such positive feedback, and we are certainly glad that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay, despite the setback with hot water problems. We appreciate your understanding.

We have passed your comments on to Archie, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,409 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
4.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
3.7 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
888 reviews
3.7 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Property: Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing