We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

When we stayed here it was awful. The parking was a shambles, reception staff off hand, room very poorly maintained, it was noisy (doors had to be banged to close them and they had large gaps under them meaning the hall noise invaded the room), not enough towels, poor quality toiletries, curtains that wouldnt close, shower seal fell off and remainded off for our three day stay, shower head faulty, balcony door had to be forced open and balcony was of full of leaves, breakfast room understaffed and dinner service less than average and food bland ... And we're still waiting for the wine! And we were asked to pay a huge amount to use the spa pool (can't remember how much). For the first time in my life I sent a written complaint. I received an email reply saying the CEO would give me a call. I'm still waiting for that call. Certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 5haron_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and must apologise for the inconveniences you encountered. The CEO of Distinction Hotels has tried to contact you several times, and I believe that he reached you today and has apologised directly.

We certainly take all of your concerns seriously, and they will be passed on to all staff involved.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 631 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

I surprised my then girlfriend with a nights stay at Nugget Point during our 3 week NZ tour. I booked the Shotover Suite under one of the special packages and couldn't have been happier. Although there was some initial confusion between the website & booking confirmation email of what was involved this was cleared up on arrival.
We were treated to complimentary shuttle service each way from the airport which is great as this is not in town, but up at the beautiful Arthurs Point area.
The suite - well what can I say - STUNNING, easily one of the nicest places I have ever stayed, everything was just fantastic. There were a few hiccups on the way, like trying to get the fireplace to work and the spa on the balcony being out of order. But thanks to the tireless work of Harriet everything was sorted out. The hotel was pretty much deserted while we were there owing to peak season just finishing. This meant we had free range of the facilities such as pool, spa, sauna etc. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic, it was a pity daylight saving had just finished as the views from the restaurant would have been fantastic. After dinner I couldn't think of a better place to do it so in front of the roaring fire in our suite I popped the question and she said yes - a fantastic stay all round.
The morning spent getting massages in the spa and breakfast all added to the experience. We didn't want to leave and after it was over the rest of our trip seemed not as nice and wished we were back at Nugget Point.

So yeah could not fault the place, fantastic luxurious facilities, extremely helpful staff when a few things weren't working, fantastic cuisine, amazing spa and the view is magnificent!!

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheeeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

First of all, congratulations!

Thank you for taking the time to post this feedback on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to hear such great feedback, and we are glad that we could be a part of your engagement and make your holiday.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the room and facilities so much. You certainly chose well. We must apologise for the hiccups that you encountered with the fireplace and spa, however we are glad to hear that our staff were so efficient in fixing these issues. We have passed this on to Harriet and the team.

We hope to see you again in the future, and again, congratulations.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband and I recently had a one night stay at the Nugget Point Boutique Hotel. Booking through the website was easy and we received a good rate on the room. The staff at check in were very friendly and helpful, quickly registering us and taking us to the room.

The room itself was very nice. It was spacious, reasonably well furnished and with a spectacular view over the river. The room had a lovely huge bed and sitting area, plenty of space for luggage, a desk, nice sized flat screen TV and gorgeous bathroom. Love the antique marble fittings and deep spa tub.

The hotel had a very nice pool area with steam, sauna, rain showers, cold plunge and spa pool. It also had a nice massage room with fantastic views over the river.

Breakfast the next morning was very nice. There was a buffet of cold items with fruits, cereals and breads, plus a choice of cooked to order items and good coffee.

My only suggestions for improvement would be in the housekeeping area. The floor in our bathroom was not totally clean (some hair that wasn't mine!), there was a handle missing and replaced with a mismatch on our wardrobe and some towel items missing when I checked in. The front desk staff very promptly brought me some so no harm done there.

Check out was also no hassle, and we found the staff at all times to be friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: River view suites are lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is a joy to hear such positive feedback, and we are glad that the process was hassle-free and pleasurable for you.

It is great to hear that the staff were so friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities so thoroughly. Thank you for giving such positive feedback on the rooms and breakfast, however we must apologise for the lack of attention in housekeeping. We will certainly bring this up with the staff involved.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is Motel. Its website and such purport luxury, but it is actually just an average hotel with nothing particularly wrong (or right) with it. The building itself appears to be 1970/1980's and the rooms reflect it, with unattractive open beams, a weird mismatch of furniture, and a large TV with a tiny screen far from the bed. Also, the service just misses, forgetting to clean room, missing cups, etc.

If you are just going there to sleep and to be closer to Coronet Peak, then you will probably not be disappointed. If you are going to have a luxury weekend at a spa resort, then you will be disappointed. Most of the clientele appear to be package bus tours.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel, such as the shotover lodge.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

We would like to apologise that the service and facilities did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. It certainly depends which level of room you choose as to how luxurious your stay will be, however we are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your standards.

We must also apologise that the housekeeping service was not up to standard. We will certainly be talking to the team about this, and we will do our best to resolve this issue.

Thank you for giving your feedback. We do appreciate this, as it helps us to continually improve.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Fabulous location if you have a car as this hotel is situated about 7kms from all Queenstown facilities. Decorated expensively throughout in a heavy, mock period style which, whilst it may appeal to many, we found overdone although comfortable. We were lucky in being allocated a riverview room with a balcony, which we thought was the very best positioning to take full advantage of that wonderful view. There did seem to be a shortage of staff, and this may account for the sloppy standard of service by the waiting staff - particularly at breakfast .... no plates, no dishes, no replenishment of juices, sugar, milk, bread... all provided when requested but really not good enough in an expensive hotel. However, the view made up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltravelled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post yout feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this, as it is only with this feedback that we can continue to improve our service to you.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the views. However, we apologise that the service was not up to standard in the breakfast restaurant. We will endeavour to fix this problem as best we can.

We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again here at Distinction Nugget Point.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Before our family chose to stay at Nugget Point Hotel, I read through the reviews on tripadvisor.com and found many positive reviews as well as many negative reviews. There seems to be no middle ground. We stayed at the Garden View Room during Christmas period, and my opinion seems to be that this is a good hotel, but not for everyone. I will try my best to explain why, so that everybody who intends to stay here will be well-informed of what to expect, and know whether or not this is the right place for them.

The hotel is indeed beautiful. Its garden is stunning, and its reception area and dining room are stunning. It is located out of the Queenstown city amidst the mountain overlooking Shotover river. Its rooms are beautifully decorated to a very high standard. Our balcony (garden view room) is not so great though. It has lots of dry leaves (but it was very windy that day, so it is probably not the staff's fault). The staffs, whilest minimal, are efficient and friendly...

...but not everyone will like this hotel. The very first reason is that this hotel is one of the most expensive hotels in Queenstown. The price it charges for its rooms exceeds what normal 5 star hotels in NZ charges for their rooms by miles. However, the trend of top-end accommodations around the world has changed from the time Nugget Point opens, to something completely different from what it currently offers. Right now people who pay premium price for accommodation seems to prefer villa accommodarion, such as those of Aman and Banyan Tree Resorts. Thus, if those people are looking for those types of accom in Queenstown, Millbrook Resort and Heritage Hotel have them...at the same price Nugget Point Hotel charges for its hotel 'rooms'.

I read one negative review where an American traveller expressed his (her?) disappointment that what Nugget Point offers is no different than what other hotels offer. While his(her?) opinion that it is equivalent to 3 star hotel is certainly on the exaggeratedly side, (s)he has a point. Nugget Point's rooms, while beautifully decorated, are just that, hotel "rooms", with 1 King sized bed (or two single beds), with TV and sofa next to it. You can get a one bedroom suite, with separate bedroom and living room (although nowhere as beautifully decorated) at many other recently opened properties in Queenstown for the same price Nugget Point charges for its standard hotel room. And at $400-$700 where Nugget Point charges for its 'luxurious suites', you can get a 3 brm villa at the Heritage or luxurious villa at the Millbrook. As a result, there will be people who will not be happy...not because Nugget Point is at fault...but because the current trend for top end accommodation has changed.

The second reason is that this hotel is away from Queenstown. Without your own car, you will have difficulties getting around Queenstown. It also has no complimentary shuttle bus service (well, at least when we stayed the staffs told us that there wasn't one). Furthermore, being away from Queenstown, it will have no view of Lake Wakatipu, and this may turn some people off. Finally, like many have noted, this hotel is unusually quiet because it is very small (only 36 rooms). People who want absolute privacy (as if the whole place belongs to them) would love it, but people who want to see lots of 'action' would not like it.

Thus, I can only say that we certainly enjoyed our stay, but we recognise that this hotel is not for everybody. You need to have your own car, you must know that what you will be getting here is not a villa but either a normal hotel room for $200 a night or a suite for $400+ a night. If you are after away-from-it-all privacy, you prefer beautifully appointed rooms/suites over apartment-styled accommodation, you will love the Nugget Point.

PS. Our room also has no air-condition and it can be quite hot at night on hot nights, but Queenstown has very few hot days. So this should not be a problem for most of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nitra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionqtwn, Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We appreciate how insightful your feedback is, and it certainly is true that aspects which may be positive to some are not to others. We believe that to many our location is a positive, as it is far enough out of Queenstown to be peaceful, with uninterrupted views, but only a short drive from the city and close to Coronet Peak ski field.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the location, privacy and the rooms. However, it is sad to hear that you find the style of the hotel to be behind the trends. As you say, each person is different, and so it is good to have variety among the top end hotels.

Thank you again for giving such comprehensive and useful feedback. This will be useful both for guests wishing to stay with us, and for us as a hotel to improve our service to you. I would like to let you know that a complimentary shuttle is being worked on and we hope to have this up and running soon.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

First I should say, unless you have a car, this would NOT be the most practical location for those choosing to visit Queenstown or Arrowtown. The lodge is about 7 to 8 kilometers from the center of Queenstown.
For those with cars, preferring to stay in a serene location far from the tourist crowds down below in the city, this is a good choice. There are several types of rooms. We had booked a garden view room for NZ$158, but were upgraded to a river view room, with a king-size bed, small sofa, writing desk, enormous armoire/closet, DVD player, tea and coffee maker, mini fridge, and flat screen TV. The views from the room and its balcony were stunning. The room was comfortable and elegantly furnished. The bathtub was large and deep with spa jets. Toiletries, such as shoe polish pads, sewing kits, cotton buds and the usual shampoo and lotion were provided, as were terry cloth bathrobes and slippers.
We also dined in the restaurant because we were too tired to drive into town. The food was good but overpriced. I had the venison dish for NZ$40. Two small pieces of venison, one small venison sausage, several tablespoons of silverbeet (Swiss chard) sauteed with some sort of bacon or Canadian ham (the menu did not list this ingredient, which is unfortunate as I do not eat pork), and three pitifully meager slices of kumara (sweet potato). I mean, how much more would it have cost to put half a kumara on the plate?
My partner's lamb rack dish was much more generous, with not only more meat but also more veggies. It cost NZ$38. Plenty of lamb and venison in NZ (despite the recent lamb mortalities caused by the spring blizzards).
The selection of wines by the glass was limited and not very good--there is no excuse for this in New Zealand, especially in an area surrounded by fine wineries.
The views from the restaurant would make this a good location for a romantic meal, but plan on spending about NZ$200 for a complete dinner for two (that is two mains, two entrees, desserts, and a bottle of wine).
This was our second stay at Nugget Point. Curiously, when we first called the staffer who answered told us that the garden rooms were fully booked (was it my American accent that provoked this reponse?). So we booked through Wotif instead. Some of the staff are great, others not as friendly and helpful.
A lot of Asian tour groups stay here. These seemed to be smaller groups, which makes sense as the resort is not that large.
We would definitely stay here again, but probably skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassarinhoAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.7 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
1,595 reviews
3.7 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
445 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $105 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing