We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“an average experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The hotel was probably once one of the more exclusive in Queenstown but it has probably seen better days. It lies a good 20-25 minute uphill walk from the town centre so you definitely need a taxi or local minibus to get there. However, it does have great views of the lake and mountains. The reception staff were friendly enough but did not offer any information on the hotel's services or facilities. We were given an upgrade on arrival, which was a welcome surprise - until we arrived in the room and detected a distinct smell of musty dampness. Otherwise, the room was fine and certainly larger than one would have expected. The bathroom was kind of 70s in style - pretty basic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    630
    228
    77
    36
See reviews for
362
638
92
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I think my heading says it all really - I find it difficult to fathom this establishment being classed as only 3 and a half stars. Internationally I've stayed in hotels billing themselves as 4 stars and more and frankly they do not compare. The regular complimentary shuttle bus into the CBD means you don't need to worry about a hire car or the fact the hotel is situated a little way out of town. And what about those views - to die for!
incredibly professional and polite staff - from housekeeping through to management. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
Soozy Bonner, Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Our company had a great time at the Mercure in Queenstown. The rooms had amazing views across the lake and the food was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for a better location for our conferenece

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuwilko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

From the moment we arrived to the time we left we were treated like royalty. If I had to pick a fault it would be that they couldn't turn off the rain on the third day. I will certainly be returning to the Mercure. Oh and they have the best views I have EVER seen from a Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank activetrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Seriously, the number of people complaining about this hotel really put me off, but my Mum had booked it as part of a package deal, so it was there that we stayed during a 5-day ski trip to Quyeenstown. It wouldn't have been my choice, but at the end of the day it's a three star hotel, and it met expectations for a hotel of this rating.

The room was adequate, basic cleanliness was maintained throughout, theough cleaning was a bit haphazard, with some service staff doing a more thorough job than others (towels ready for washing and left in the bath were still there and not collected by service staff). But the front of house staff were very helpful, going out of their way to assist us, which was much appreciated.

We ate at the restaurant one night, and the food was pretty good, though the views over the lake were even better! The stay was fine, I probably wouldn't stay there again if i was travelling for work or with my partner, but if the price was right and I was off on a ski adventure with mates I'd probably do it again. The half hour free internet (in the lobby, on your own laptop) was useful, though the $10 for 2 hours to have it in your room seemed a bit steep for this day and age!

Oh, and what everyone says about the hill is right! If you want somewhere at the centre of town, right in the thick of things, or if you're looking for luxury, stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australian_Argonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Quiet Hotel with reasonable sized rooms.Would compare with other 4 star hotels I have stayed at in Queenstown even though it is only 3.5 stars.Great check in service,and warm and comfortable throughout whole hotel.Offers gym,spa and outside swimming pool great in Summer and also an internal sauna.Lcd TVs throughout and plenty of off street parking.Would recommend any one wanting to be just out of the hustle and bustle of central Queenstown.Commuter bus running from hotel doorstep to town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plugseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions most recently for 2 weeks skiing. Has to have the best views in Queenstown.

Our room was clean and tidy and the staff made the exta effort to make our stay enjoyable, nothing was a problem.

While not right in town the location means you can relax in peaceful surroundings but you are only a short walk into the centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjmc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,572 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing