We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectular Views & Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions most recently for 2 weeks skiing. Has to have the best views in Queenstown.

Our room was clean and tidy and the staff made the exta effort to make our stay enjoyable, nothing was a problem.

While not right in town the location means you can relax in peaceful surroundings but you are only a short walk into the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjmc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed for a week on work. very average and quite tired rooms. was comfortable and ok for work. would have been disapointed if on holiday. Fernhill is quite a way from town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plumb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is a great out of town hotel with fantastic views of the lake and surrounding mountains, if you are on a budget stick with the cheap, no view, rooms because you can still get the same views from the public areas of the hotel.

The hotel is up a very steep hill so if you decide to go out for a walk be prepared for the climb back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I came here with a friend for a skiing holiday and our experience in this hotel was pretty disappointing given that it is a 3.5 star rated hotel.

The bathroom had mould in it and our carpet was not vacuumed once during our week-long stay.
The check-in staff lied to us about getting a free upgrade.
The spa was lukewarm at the best of times.
The hotel advertises that it gives 30 minutes of free internet access to each guest per day - we were not offered that service and instead we were charged for it each time we used it.
My recommendation is to stay somewhere closer into the center of town (Mercure is 30 minutes walk away) and somewhere that delivers what it is supposed to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redlegs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The Mercure Resort seemed like a great place with a nice view until we got in room. Once we opened the door the room smelled musty and there was mold growing in the tub area.

Once you got use to the smell then you discovered the lumpy mattresses that should have been replaced years ago. I could almost feel the springs coming through the cover of the mattress. The bed spread was also stained and in bad shape.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Great view from lakeside room. Jacuzzi not warm all 6 days we stayed - even after complaining every day. Staff is helpful. 30 mins/day of free Internet (or 1st 8MB (ie 1 photo)).
There is a shuttle service to hotel but car is recommended because it's out of town and up a hill.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and look forward to going back. If you want something flashy then this isn't the place for you but if you'd like a room with all the basics and that's immaculately clean, then stay at the Mercure. There's very few places that you don't have to pay extra for a spa, so having unlimited usage of the outdoor spa was a great bonus too. We dined at Vista restaurant which I was also impressed with. The food was good and reasonably priced - kids meals $10 and kids desserts $5. Overall, I would be very surprised if you could find better value so I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nailz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
900 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $105 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing