We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average - in need of updating - especially the beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average - in need of updating - especially the beds!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

We booked to stay here on Wotif for 2 nights - our booking was supposed to include free drinks upon arrival but these were not forthcoming. We had stacks of luggage but there were no offers of assistance from staff. We ended up grabbing the luggage trolleys and carrying it all in ourselves. The hotel had 'free' parking which was basically in the main carpark out the front if there weren't too many other cars. The hotel had a musty smell and was in need of an update. Our room was OK but the bathroom was small and definitely in need of a renovation. Unfortunately the beds were really uncomfortable - so much so that we booked another place to stay for our second night even though we knew we wouldn't get a refund for this place. When the whole family woke up with sore backs after sleeping intermittently we knew we couldn't do it again another night! Unfortunately I couldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leez6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    594
    223
    72
    33
See reviews for
348
599
87
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed here for a few nights in June 2009, got a good rate through hotels.com and decided to go for the lakeview room as it was only a few pounds extra. Views from rooms are simply stunning, well worth the extra! Rooms not flash but cosy,spacious and homely. Nice lounge areas and reception staff were always very friendly. Didnt have time to try the restaurant unfortunately as QT has so much going on but we loved the Mercure. Try the burger restaurant called something like "Fergburger" in town, absolutely packed classy (!) takeaway that doesn the most amazing food, the biggest burgers Ive evers seen, you only need one to share, we went twice! We also went to a little place just outside town which had private hot tub rooms which you rented for an hour or so with retractable roofs to look out at the night sky, very romantic. Loved Queenstown, Loved the Mercure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Mercure for two nights on our two week vacation in New Zealand. We paid approx. $130 US/night, which was fairly reasonable, as it included a lake view room. The views were amazing, indeed of the beautiful blue waters of the lake against the Remarkables!

The location is not the best in Queenstown, but it's not impossible to get into town either. There is a bus that appeared to pick up at the hotel (although on one of the nights, while we were headed back to the hotel, the bus appeared to have gotten into an accident with a pedestrian!) and the drive is quick back into town (and there are a few accessible parking lots scattered throughout the city, although some are paid parking).

Our biggest disappointment though with our stay here was the cleanliness of the room. The bathroom appeared to have mold-like and scum-like substances in the grout of the tile. The bed was comfortable and appeared clean, but we were really put off by the impression the bathroom left on us.

If the Mercure takes the time to upgrade some of these bathrooms that are in this state, it would be a beautiful place to stay while in Queenstown, but until then, I don't think I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We got this hotel for $200 US/night and included a lake view and breakfast. The breakfast was nothing to write home about but the room was comfortable and had a hot water kettle and coffee/tea service as well as a refrigerator. The gym is dismal but you will be hiking or skiing anyway. The pool is very nice with lounge area. For the price, view and location I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

The rooms were outdated - old, worn furniture. We only had a tiny peak of the lake, around an old building. The faucets were broken and leaked, wallpaper pealing, holes in the wall in the bathroom, the "spa" was not functioning and the staff was not friendly. It is too far to walk back from town, up the steep hill. The only good thing was the view from the bar.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santacruz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Not centrally located. There are too massive hills to walk up going back to the hotel. Car hire recommended. The views are stunning though, arguably the best in Queenstown.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisaaussie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Make sure that when you book you ask for the lake side as the view is worth the extra. We had breakfast included and it was good value. It does had a pool and spa and although the pool is "heated" it is way too old to swim in it (and this was in the summer !) . The hotel is located on a hill and hence the nice views but if you're walking be prepared for the steep hill.
Overall I would say I was very pleased to stay at the Mercure and would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing