We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

I was pleasantly supprised with this hotel. Cost was my biggest deciding factor when I was choosing a hotel for my ski vacation. There is alot of bang for your buck here. The room was clean and confortable. The restaraunts had good food at reasonable prices. I enjoyed watching rugby in bar with new friends I made there. Although my room overlooked the parking lot, the views from other parts of the hotel were great. The shuttle to town is nice, but I usually just walked back and forth as it wasnt too far. The shuttle to the ski resorts was very convenient. If I had to compare this to an american hotel chain it would be somewhere in between a Ramada and Sheraton.

As a side note. If you are coming for a ski vacation I recommend Coronet Peak over the Remarkables. No real reason, just liked it more. Also, if you decide to book some Heli-Skiing than go with "alpine Heliski". it was a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank random_traveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    595
    223
    72
    33
See reviews for
349
599
87
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in Mercure Resorts. The view from our room is amazing!! I reckon the lake view is the best among all the hotels in Queenstown!

The staffs are friendly and the resorts offer free swimming pool and spa. The room is very clean and spacious.

Overall, it's good value for the money you paid. Well I paid NZD 79 for a night for 3 person. So it's worth the money in every sense.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kah Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

Can only add to other comments about this Hotel in that the views from the lakeside rooms are just fantastic.
The buffet breakfast which was included in our price was good value with a good selection.
As others have said it is a good walk outside of town with a steep walk uphill the lsat quarter mile.
There is a local bus service which stops at the Hotel though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

Stayed for 10 nights in a lake view room. The views are amazing! Staff were friendly and helpful and they even remembered our names. On the last day we were supposed to check out we got snowed in and they were very helpful in getting us another room for a cheap rate. The hotel is located a 10-15min walk up the road from the town centre and is a nice place if you want the party atmosphere of Queenstown but still able to get away from main stream and relax.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmttas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed here for 2 weeks for our skiing holiday with our 2 young kids. The hotel was easy to find located on Fernhill about 5 minute drive from central Queenstown. Check-in was very pleasant and we were upgraded to a Lakeview room for free. The room was spacious for a family of 4. The sauna and spa were very relaxing especially after skiing, it's a shame the pool is not enclosed. Asked housekeeping for bathrobe and slippers which were brought to our room very quickly. Wireless internet available in the reception foyer, you buy a $5 card which lasts you 30minutes. The hotel staff were all very friendly, courteous and polite. Carparking is free and fills up fast so you may have to park on the street. Laundry room is located on the 1 floor and has 4 washing machines and dryers, they are coin operated and take $3 for a wash, washing powder is complimentary. Had dinner at the hotel and the food was delicious and the waiting staff were friendly, the restaurant has spectaculour views of the lake and Remarks. Overall our stay was a very pleasant one, the hotel exceeded our expectations as so did the staff. We would definetly come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klokan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Mecure resort is not located in the town center, it is 5 minutes drive from town and is located up at the hill so it has a great view overlooking the lake.

Check-in is quite disappointed, we arrived at 2.30pm which was alreay pass the check-in time but was told our room was not ready, and no one offer us any compensation eg drinks. Though the staffs were nice and polite, when we asked about the location of sites they provided really detail and helpful information.

The room was clean and has average standard, but what I like the most is the lounge, which is loacted next to the reception, there is a flatscreen tv and a bar, we sat there having drinks and watching tv with beautiful view of the lake, my parents really enjoyed!

There are spa and heated pool in the resort but we did not use those facilities as we forget to bring our swimwear!

I only recommand you to stay in this resort only when you are driving, it is really not convenient if you don't have your own vehicle as you may have to walk up hill.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mercure Queenstown with 2 other mates on a 1 week snowboarding trip.
The staff service has been superb and consistent - even upgrading our internet hot deal to Lakeview rooms!!
Rooms were always tidy and bathrooms were immaculate. It was great being able to wake up to the beautiful views!
Because of our tightly scheduled trip, we weren't able to take advantage of the spa and sauna facilities, but I'll definitely come back and recommend it to all my friends to not miss out next time!
Location is OK if you can drive into town, otherwise it's a 20minute walk - the uphill is the killer... but for those views you get being situated on Fernhill, one can not complain.
Service was of the highest calibre, everything was followed up and through!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pigkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing