We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from Breakfast Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My son and I stayed 5 nights at the Mercure for a ski trip. The hotel was booked through an agent, and I was advised I would not receive any frequent flyer points, nor would I accumulate an Accor points. This was disappointing. Check in was swift and efficient, and very helpful in explaining how to go about arranging ski equipment in town, and supplied a bus timetable. The public transport bus costs about $6 per return trip to the town centre, and is necessary as the hotel is a little out of the way. A walk to the town centre takes about 20 min, all downhill. However getting back is about 40 min, all uphill, and a killer for the no so fit. The room was large, as were the twin beds, which were almost like double beds (perhaps they were). There were two large built in shelves to accommodate two suitcases next to each bed which was very good. The bathroom was very tired, even though it had recently had a paint (blue painters masking tape was still visible around the fittings). They were clean, but tapes and shower dripped. Rooms were heated and insulated very well though.
Breakfast in the restaurant was good, standard selection of foods, but also catered towards asian tastes with noodles and congee. It was probably better than a number of hotels I've stayed at.
Staff were friendly, and no real complaints. Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank karabatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Karabatraveller, Thank you for your great review. The best comment we can have as hoteliers is that you will come and stay here again. We are thrilled you enjoyed all the staff and the facilities here at Mercure. We have taken your points regarding the bathroom seriously and will be addressing this presentation of the bathroom immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Resort Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

As previous reviews have stated, this hotel needs refurbishing. Our room was adequate, but the bathroom was very outdated. The view of the lake and mountains was stunning, but unfortunately also overlooked a very sad looking pool area. The staff member on the front desk was lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TDKAY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear TDKAY2014, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our wonderful team’s service to you. The Garden view rooms do overlook the Garden / Pool area and as its winter unfortunately it doesn't feature the lovely colourful plants and roses you will find here in summer. The Lake Views rooms feature amazing views overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and mountains and we hope you return to us and upgrade to one of these rooms on your next stay,
Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rpbriones
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I went to NZ to ski for the first time. the skiing was not good but the staff at this hotel went above and beyond what was required. Although the hotel is a little dated the staff and view more than made up for it.

Waking up looking over a beautiful lake to sun-drenched snow topped mountains was very hard its the stuff of poetry.

Thank you to all the staff with special mention of Dean,Sameet, Husha and Luka

Room Tip: get a room with a lake view on the 4th floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear JG, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled the staff you encountered all embodied our great friendly service ethic here at Mercure and you were compelled to mention some of the special team members in your review. We do hope you return to ski again in our winter wonderland. Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed last week with family....building getting tired but great views and lamb special in restaurant was very good. Given it was school hols it was busy and told of screaming excited kids. Only a few minutes back into town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Topher1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay over the school holidays and the vibrant hotel they bring. We are also pleased your enjoyed our Southern Lamb special – its great value and very tasty! Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Never have I written a review for a hotel, however felt compelled to after this shocking 4 night stay. Having not been to queenstown in over 10 years we were very excited to return, sadly our stay in mercure immensely decreased our queenstown experience. We booked Mercure for the sole reason that we could get points for our leclub Accor card, however upon checking in, we were informed that we would not receive any points for booking through a 3rd party website even though this was not mentioned anywhere at all. Our rooms though big, were very outdated and the bathrooms so old, I doubt they have been renovated whatsoever since this hotel opened 3 decades ago, which is certainly unacceptable for a 4 star hotel as well as horrible showers. Our room with a 'garden view' was merely a few branches and twigs lying around. Our room card key did not work properly and had to be swiped numerous times. We booked for a full buffet breakfast the next day and were disappointed to see a very limited range of food compared to the other hotels we have stayed at throughout the years and what you would expect from a hotel of this name and brand. The hotel offered no free wifi apart from 30 min access in the lobby which was unacceptable due to the fact that nearly every other place in queenstown including g small backpackers were. The gym was very very small with half the equipment broken or ridiculously old. The view from the hotel balcony area was beautiful which made up from its location being quite far away from the main CBD (20 min walk) the staff were also very helpful and friendly. Mercure queenstown is unfortunately simply not good enough for the hotel and hotel group brand which they represent. This hotel needs a serious renovation and changes made to its facilities and services in order for it to even come close to being the 4 star hotel they claim to be in such a huge tourist area such as queenstown. I will never be staying again, but hope the great staff the best, that this ridiculous hotel be saved.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Curioustraveller411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Curious traveller, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. It unfortunate you had not understood the terms and conditions of Le Club which clearly states qualifying stays are those that are booked by the member directly with the Hotel. We do feel we offer a full, fresh and varied selection of Breakfast items and we are fully in line with Mercure Hotels globally. To clarify for our future guests we are not a 4 star hotel and do not advertise as such. The Mercure Brand is 3.5 stars. We do hope you enjoyed all the fun activities and attractions Queenstown has to offer. Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $106 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing