We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Resort Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    579
    220
    70
    33
See reviews for
345
583
87
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guadeloupe
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Good hotel very near the down town. Has grey view of the lake and mountains with ice covered peaks. The restaurant has high roof with roof to floor glass windows, spectacular vies on the lake. Rooms are comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the views. We loved your great room tip to our future guests to upgrade your room to a Lake View and increase your experience by enjoying the sunrise and sunsets from your very own room. We do hope you return to us soon! Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel enjoys a spectacular view over the lake. It is some way out of town (about a mile) with a steep hill to climb on the way back. There is a regular bus, at a cost of $6 return.

Our room was clean and spacious but tired looking; the two seats were badly worn. I found it particularly irritating that the room safe was key operated with an intimidating $200 penalty if lost - why not do us all a favour and use code-operated safes like most other hotels.

Breakfast was OK. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the scenic location and the friendly team here at the hotel. We have taken your comments regarding our in- room safe process into consideration, as we are always looking to improve our customer experience with us.
Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good quality accomodation as would be required by a chain premises in a competitive environment. Only ate breakfast here so can't comment a lot about the dining. Room clean, bed comfortable, great views over lake. A bit far out of town up a fairly steep hill but the bus ran regularly. We walked it though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely positive review. We are especially pleased you made the lovely scenic walk to town as I do believe it’s the nicest way to see the beautiful lake! We do hope you return to us soon, Kind regards, Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel has a lovely location on the lake and while feeling quietly tucked away it is actually right in the centre of town and easily accessible for everything. The bar area was quite cosy. However I would avoid the restaurant. The dinner was very over-priced and very average and the ambience almost motorway cafe while breakfast was awful. Go out and have it in a cafe!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy the meals in our restaurants. We have passed your comments to our Chef for consideration as we are constantly assessing where we can improve our customers experience.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a tricky one
Soon as you walk in the room your eye goes directly to the view outside-amazing!!!.Great location on the hill away from the bustle & hustle of town (but not too far away). But once you have taken in the view & take in the room a bit of a disappointment. Although large & very comfortable in need of an upgrade in particular the bathroom. Staff are very helpful & attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jas448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall with us and enjoyed the wonderful views and our friendly team. We do hope you return to us on your next trip to Queenstown.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

i wanted to give negative rating to this hotel. my stay was for 5 nights from 14th feb. Breakfast was not at all 3 star and the quality was also bad. They dont take a la carte orders in the morning. if you want to have an omlette than you wont get because its not there in the menu. omlette is not included is the buffet breakfast. i think this review should be read by the chef of the hotel. the staffs are not at at all friendly. I am a accor member since last 6 years but this is my first worst experience. The rooms are outdated. the hotel really needs a renovation. there are many good options in queenstown. the hotel has only good views which every other hotel has near the lake adjoining queenstown central.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahulparekh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We have taken your comments into consideration. We do believe we offer a full and varied breakfast buffet, however we are continually looking to enhance our customers experience with us.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent, Mercure Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing