We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Resort Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a very nice stay. Lovely view of the lake.Nice furnishings in room, with 2 large beds. Restaurant was great value with excellent food. Very easy to get to airport, as bus comes right to the door, and only $8/person. Would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank kiwislanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you have recommended our hotel to future travelers who are looking for great value for money while still being able to enjoy five star views!
We hope you may return to visit us again soon,
Michelle Dent, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    579
    220
    70
    33
See reviews for
345
583
87
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Rooms are average, but I would recommend it simply for the impressive and beautiful sunset AND sunrise views, which are perfect with the Remarkables and the lake.

Large windows by the dining areas allow you to enjoy the sunrise view during breakfast. The place is up a hill (which gives you the amazing view), but there are shuttle buses that get you in and out of the main city area easily enough.

Stayed Mar 2012.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you have endorsed our location and the ease of getting into the CBD and back. With this unique location you have enjoyed the best scenic Queenstown views of any hotel town (we believe!).
We hope you may return to visit us again soon, Michelle Dent, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington Nz
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights here - the rooms are huge but make sure you ask for a lake view room - the view over the lake and Queenstown is stunning. the beds were good - the room could have done with another chair in it and the bathroom while fine, did look a little as though it could do with a bit of grout and paint to bring ir up to first class standard. We ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and both were good value - especially the dinner from the NZ favourites part of the menu - exceptional value especially for a 4 star hotel. Would certainly stay here again, though note that it is useful to download instructions on how to get there as it is a little difficult to find initially.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are especially happy you enjoyed the great menu on offer in VISTA. Along with the great NZ themed cuisine you can enjoy the majestic views of the lake and mountains from every table!
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Michelle Dent, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Highly recommend this place to stay while in Queenstown. It is located in Fernhill, adjoining Queenstown. Free parking, quiet, fantastic views, helpful and friendly staff, pool and hot tub.
Easy 2 minute drive into downtown Queenstown or a 10 minute walk. It is located up a hill so a little exercise to walk back up to it, the bus will take you back if you don't want to walk back up. Clean room, minibar with prices that are the same as if you buy in a store in town. Front desk will cheerfully answer questions and book any excursions you may want to make. Laundry was convenient to use. Would have given 5 stars but service in the restaurant was very slow.

Room Tip: Had room with view of lake-very affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dblwellxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are very happy you recognised the benefits of being accommodated in Fernhill away from the noise and crowds of downtown and to truly experience the scenic, relaxing environment Queenstown is renowned for. We hope you may return to us in the very near future,
Michelle Dent, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is lovely buts its in great need of a refurb. The staff are lovely. We had room 21, Great room view but the furniture in the room was chipped,torn,water stained (badly) and needed to be taken to the tip. I think this room suffers from mould and mildew. Staff gave us air freshner so they know its a problem. Manager if you read this, have a look at the table the tv is on at the base and how torn the wood is. The furniture is straight out of the 60s. There is also little sound proofing. I could hear the guest next door word for word. Lucky I couldnt hear many toilet noises!
2 pillows could be folded into quarters so we asked for other pillows. 8 mb of internet is just not up to scratch ! Staff told us its expensive in NZ but in reality its not. Not sure if this place is available across all of NZ but we used internet access company limited, they are very cheap and great. Just log on for costs.

It costs 5 dollars to catch the public bus from the front door to town, and takes 4 minutes. Great if you want a few drinks.

Room Tip: 21 needs airfreshner but has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are striving to refurbish our hotel as an ongoing programme but this does take time so there are rooms which are still of the "mature variety" . We do apologise for the air quality you encountered and are presently spring cleaning and refreshing all of the rooms. We are heartened however you did encounter our wonderful friendly and attentive staff and hope you did enjoy your stay overall.
Michelle Dent, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

A nice resort located on Fernhill Rd, it provides one of best views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables. Since it is located about 1.5km from the city centre, it offers great privacy for a reasonable price. I enjoyed the quality of service this hotel provided and it was easy for me to get into the city - Connectabus (which is the public transportation in Queenstown) makes one of it's mandatory stops here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wtchuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the great value for money and wonderful location on your stay. Queenstown is a special, scenic place and its great for our guests to enjoy these majestic views from all areas of our hotel.
Michelle Dent, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice looking hotel from the out side but once inside a little out dated. Still very clean, with friendly, helpful staff. If you just want to relax and enjoy the views this is the perfect hotel as there is lovely views of the surrounding mountains plus it is a little out of central Queenstowns so it is nice and quite.
Only down side is there's a bit of a walk to town, only 2 or 3kms and the walk to town is down hill but the walk back from town is all up hill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Savana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. You have experience the essence of what Mercure Queenstown can offer - a peaceful, scenic relaxing hotel away from the noise and bustle of downtown. We do encourage guests to walk down town as that is the best way to see the lakefront and fantastic photo opportunities of the Lake and Remarkables. The Connectabus comes back up the hill every 30 minutes for your convenience.
Michelle Dent, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing