We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Resort Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatlife61
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel front desk staff was amazing! We loved the location and the views from the lobby area. The price wasn't terrible and was a decent value for Queenstown. Unfortunately, we didn't ask for a lakefront view and so our room was overlooking the pool area. This wasn't a big issue at all. The cleanliness of the room was actually the worst we had on our 25 day trip around NZ. They were easy fixes, such as large cobwebs in the corners of the room. Dust and black smudges on the walls. Mildew in the bathroom in the sink, around the toilet and especially in the tub. They desperately needed bleach. I am a practical person, so I just wiped away the dirt and smudges myself with a washcloth and notified the front desk of the mold and cobwebs. It didn't get taken care of while we stayed there, but upon leaving feedback with the hotel, they said they would look into it. I would stay there again despite these minor things. It was wonderful in every other way honestly.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakefront view! The other rooms have a poolside view and aren't very good.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista_B8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I do apologise for the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room. This is not our usual standard and we are addressing as to why this has occurred. We are happy however you did enjoy your stay overall and our staff showed their usual friendliness and service to you. We do pride ourselves on our value for money but will be addressing your comments seriously to ensure these issues cease to occur in the future.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Mercure resort is a great hotel but the pool is a bit to cold and the hot tub can be a bit too hot so it is not so good for people with sensitive skin like myself. The view is amazing, staff are brilliant and the rooms are spacious. Unfortunately, a lift was not operating when we were there, other than that a big thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do understand our pool is a seasonal, sun heated pool and may be a little cooler than a fully heated one.
We are sorry you found the spa pool too hot - as you have noted it is a personal preference for how hot or cold one enjoys it.
We are very happy you did enjoy your stay with us on the whole and enjoyed our friendly staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I did not even draw the curtains, the lake with the mountains were a constant backdrop and the play of lights at sunraise just magical. True, the carpets are a bit worn in the staircase, so are some of the door's veneer, but this is so irrelevant. At breakfast we asked for advise on a day walk. The manager came and encouraged us to make up our own sandwiches from the breakfast bar. We were allowd to leave our car parked up at the resort even after check out time. I.m not surprised the Mercure is booked out most of the time, I hope I can come back again this year (stayed 19th Dec 2012)

Room Tip: Need to pay the extra for lake view, essential
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaTeAroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Queenstown Resort, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very fortunate to have some of the best views Queenstown has to offer and it is great to hear that you took the time to enjoy these! In addition to the fantastic views, another perk of our location which you have noted is our free car parking. Once again thank you so much for your valued feedback, we hope to see you at Mercure Resort again soon!
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute & were blown away by the location & quality of room, amazing, the best view we have had in Queenstown & we have stayed here many times!! Our room was on the 3rd floor & was extremely spacious & tastefully furnished, super comfy beds, we wanted to stay longer, just loved it!! We didn't make use of the bar or restuarant, but it looked very inviting! There is a very good size pool & outdoor area, but think the pool was unheated, only put my hand in & it was chilly, very nice on a hot day though! Hotel is located on Fernhill, so quite a hike, but bus stops at main door to hotel, but with a car no problem! We really enjoyed our stay here & will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eden9825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thanks so much for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Queenstown Resort. We strive to deliver the best possible service to our guests and we are delighted to hear that our hotel and its services exceeded your expectations. We are very fortunate to be blessed with some of the best views Queenstown has to offer and we are pleased that you enjoyed these throughout your stay! Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Resort sometime soon!
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abubrow
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $106 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing