We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, just a little out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abubrow
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Resort Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doraxplora
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights over Christmas. We spent over two weeks travelling in New Zealand and this was the worst accommodation by far. Our room had a great view of the lake, however sadly this was the only thing that the room had going for it. It was extremely dirty, there was bird droppings on the inside window sill, hairs on the bed, pubic hairs in the bath, stains on the bed clothes and the room was not vacuumed. There were also damp stains on the ceiling and walls and thick cobwebs on the windows. The decor of the room was very out-dated and there was a strong odour also.
We complained about the room at reception and were offered a complimentary drink and had our room upgraded. The upgraded room was an improvement, however on closer inspection we noticed that there were urine stains on the base of the toilet, stains on the valance sheet, there was also food crumbs on the floor, the room was not vacuumed for the duration of our stay as the crumbs remained there.
The service in the bar was very poor, on two seperate occasions my boyfriend had to wait in excess of 15 minutes to be served despite the fact that there were staff present and they weren’t busy.
The buffet breakfast each morning and desserts that we ordered on one occasion were both very good. The swimming pool and spa were also good.
Overall the cleanliness of this hotel lets it down and we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eireval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed you were not happy with your accommodations. We are in constant progress of refurbishing our rooms and this is an ongoing process.
We are however very surprised at the quality of the water in your room. As we have never encountered our drinking water to be dirty before we would appreciate knowing what room this occurred in. Please e mail me on michelle.dent@accor.com.

We are very happy you enjoyed our Restaurant and the cuisine and enjoyed the fantastic views from the hotels Lounges and Restuarants.
We do hope you return to Mercure and we can endeavor to have you in a refurbished room.

Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EllieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

One of the best locations for a hotel in Queenstown. The traffic along the main roads was crazy which must have made an unpleasant stay for many guests in hotels along those roads due to the noise. At the Mercure we were able to open the windows to our lake view room and enjoy the quiet, day and night. Fantastic nights sleep both evenings and then the sun streaming in next morning so that we needed sun glasses in bed to take in the view. One of the largest rooms I have stayed in also and a trundler bed would have been no problem if needed.
That view again in the bar. Did not use the restaurant but most tables looked like they would take in the scenery. Gym a bit small and basic but again overlooking the lake. Who needs it if the weather allows you to get out and do the many physical activities Queenstown has to offer?
Staff were fine and friendly. We had a rental car but parking spots a little scarce.
Our only negative was the tired state of the room (033). This has been mentioned a few times I see but it is a shame the staff have to be put in a situation of selling below par and dated accommodation. If the Mercure/ Accor senior managers think it is acceptable to sell dated rooms with stained cabinetry, threadbare chairs and discolored grouting in the bathroom, they should be ashamed. I know the rooms are being upgraded and our level must be one of the last to be renovated, but I believe the money should have been spent many years ago. Whether they need it or not, hotel rooms need to be upgraded to a regular schedule before they look old.
The Mercure was a great place for a few days and we would love to come back. If 033 is stripped of everything but the view and remodeled we will gladly stay in the same room. Come on Mercure/ Accor. Open up the purse strings, close the old rooms off and do it right. Myself and others don't mind paying a bit extra if you do.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been renovated.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, firstly we are so happy you enjoyed the view, the facilities and the positive aspects of being in such a unique location.
Please be assured all the ACCOR Management are truly aware and focused to continue to refurbish our rooms. As you will be aware in all industries business levels dictate the speed of these improvements however we are very committed to the ongoing process this is.
We do truly believe we offer a great value for money option when staying in Queenstown especially over the busy holiday period.
We do hope you will return to us and we can accommodate you into a refurbished room and you can enjoy both experiences.

Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's not The Ritz. You're not paying anywhere near that sort of price. But what you do get is a comfortable, well equipped and well run hotel. The staff are at all times very professional and make for a pleasant stay. I will say that you are best to hire a car or be ready to pay for a (short) taxi ride to the centre of Q'town as the hotel is 650 meters (0.4 miles) up a very steep mountain from the centre of town. Walking up it would not be that fun in my opinion. However being on the hill side does make of spectacular views of the lake and surrounding mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesspea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Mercure Queenstown Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service you received was up to your expectations. In addition to driving and walking to and from town, guests of the hotel do also have the option of busing. With a bus stop right outside our front door and buses due every 30 minutes, guests can rest their legs for a small fee of $4. Once again thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Mercure Resort sometime soon!
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales & marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The view from my massive hotel room windows was to die for - over Lake Wakatipu and out to the Remarkables - remarkable is an understatement. There is a bus stop literally right outside the front door of the hotel - undercover no less! I arrived well before check in time and left my luggage in storage and went out to enjoy the day. The service at the hotel was fantastic - I would highly recommend this hotel and intend to stay there next time I visit beautiful Queenstown.

Room Tip: choose a lake view room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_E_N_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay at Mercure Queenstown Resort. As a hotel we are certainly blessed with gorgeous views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables and we are delighted to hear that you had the time to enjoy these during your stay! We pride ourselves on delivering the best possible service to our guests and we much appreciate your recommendations to others! We hope to see you down in beautiful Queenstown and Mercure Resort again soon!
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $106 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing