We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    616
    226
    75
    33
See reviews for
358
623
89
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Mercure Resort, Queenstown on two separate occasions whilst on our visit to South Island, New Zealand. The first time was two nights on the 4th and 5th October. We arrived just before 6pm having driven from Lake Tekapo, through the most beautiful scenery, and over the Crown Range into Queenstown.
After checking in, the manager of Concierge approached us. He arranged for our cases to be delivered to our room, and took us on a brief tour around the hotel to show us the various facilities. He also arranged a table for us, for dinner. He had advised us that the restaurant was going to be full after 7pm with a large party, and that if we could possibly dine around 6.30pm he could book us a nice table. This was a good suggestion, as we were tired having been on the move all day and didn’t want to go far that night. When we got to our room, two of our cases were already there, and the other two arrived and couple of minutes afterwards. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant. There was a special set deal available on the menu which we chose, and this was perfect. The food was lovely and certainly not overpriced for the quality. Excellent service, thank you!
On both occasions we stayed, we were in a Lake View Room. It was lovely to wake up in the morning to a view of the mountains and Lake Wakitipu opposite. The room facilities were spacious, excellent and the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel is located quite high above the town, and there is a bus facility that runs in a loop around every half-hour. We used it on the Friday afternoon when it was raining, but on the Saturday morning we wanted some good exercise and walked down into town. Having taken the 12am trip on the steamship TSS Earnslaw, we walked back from the Real Journey’s office and back up the hill again. The hill is quite steep, but you can take your time, stop whenever you like and gaze at the view across the lake.
We returned to the hotel for a second stay on the nights of 7th and 8th October having been to visit Milford Sound in between. Our second stay was as enjoyable as the first, with our room and its facilities again meeting our expectations. Every morning throughout our two stay’s we had breakfast in the hotel. The food was plentiful and of a good standard. The service was excellent, and the hotel staff all very genuine and friendly, and helpful.
We wish to thank the Concierge, the Reception staff, and especially Matt & Leah who we got to chat with quite a lot throughout our stay. We would definitely stay at the Mercure Resort again, and I would happily recommend this hotel to other’s......

Room Tip: Level 1 Lake View rooms are probably the best one's?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We were happy you did experience the walk downtown and very impressed you came back up on foot - Well done! Matt and Leah are two of our fantastic Food and Beverage team members and both of them possess a true passion for hospitality and their chosen careers. We have passed your feedback onto them. We do hope you may be able to visit us once again,
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel Oct 25-28. Immediately, we were greeted by the manager, Paul. He is very friendly. In fact, on evening we were watching rugby but being from the U.S. we didn't understand the rules. Paul gave us a 45 color commentary during the match explaining all of the rules and what was taking place on the field.

The hotel room we had did not have a special view but it was nice. The beds were comfortable. The place to be is the restaurant which has a floor to ceiling glass window with a view of the Remarkables mountains and the lake. The food was very good and very reasonably priced. Bar service was very good. The entire hotel staff reflects Paul's attitude. They were always smiling and asking if we needed anything.

The hotel is about one mile from the shopping. It is an easy walk down the hill and you can take the foot path along the lake. The walk back to the hotel can be a little strenuous. My wife has a bad knee so we opted to take a cab for $11.00.

Since our stay was in the cooler season, the pool was not warm enough to swim but the hot tub was hot. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the floor 2A with a view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srq221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful positive feedback. Paul, our GM is Australian so I hope he diddnt give you any bad advice regarding the rugby as we must advise you NZ won the Rugby World Cup!.. gets the Aussies every time! We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotels service and great staff from our TOP guy to all our team members.
We especiallly like that you advised other visitors "this hotel is for everyone" and we extend the invitation to our castle on the hill for all travellers with every type of leisure / business requirement.
Kind regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Overall I liked this place, its a small european efficiency hotel. View of lake is gorgeous, and its semi close to town, though you couldnt walk it. Small rooms, but the hotel was spotless but a little tired. Good products in bathroom, excellent housekeeping. Breakfast was nice and hot. Good place to park yourself for 1-2 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. As an ACCOR hotel with a very French connection we are happy you were able to appreciate the Mercure brand's value of location, views and great friendly service. We do offer a clean, uncomplicated, easy stay for all travellers who are enjoying the best of what the Southern Lakes offer. We do in fact actually find many guests enjoy the 15 minute downhill walk to town as it affords you the "up close and personal" connection with the Lake and surrounding environment. As you say "a good place to park yourself for 1 - 2 days" and BEST OF ALL you can PARK YOUR CAR FREE!
We look forward to you returning on another visit to NZ,
Kind Regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were advised of this hotel by other travellers and its easy to miss as its past the town but don,t miss it. Very good value for money and if you can get a room overlooking the lake and the mountains well worth the extra dollars but if not spend a bit of time in the dining room for the spectacular outlook and as a bonus the food is good, not expensive and plentiful (the buffet breakfast will fill you up for the day) especially compared to the rip off prices elsewhere in town. Services in the hotel are just average but who cares with the reasonably priced rooms and the views, the peace and quiet and the views.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views- ask to see the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I enjoyed reading your tag line "easy to overlook, dont miss it" - it led me to think how apt a sentence it was to describe how EASY it is to relax in our Lake view rooms, our Lounge Bar, our two Restaurants and our grassy balcony and OVERLOOK the Lake and Mountains on your leisure or business stay.
We are lucky to enjoy these views every day, so make sure you return to us and as you found out about us, keep telling others and we will continue to enjoy welcoming guests to our unique piece of Queenstown Alpine paradise!.
Kind Regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I got a room overlooking The Remarkables and the lake. I didn't want to leave my room and just wanted to enjoy the views. But more breathtaking views awaited me when I went to the restaurant. If you want to enjoy postcard-like views, this is the perfect choice. Other services are of average to good quality. Location wise, it is not close to the city centre. But there is regular bus service and the bus stops in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeiZhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I, we booked through accorhotels.com for 2 nights accommodation, the rate included a $25 "daily" credit, for use such as room service or breakfast.
During our stay, we spent a total of $43, but during check-out, after the deduction from the daily credit, we got charged an additional $18!!!
We were informed by Assistant Manager Mr. Hiro, said that we had a total of $75 credit to use over the 2 nights stay. He said we "lost our chance" that we did not use the credit on the 1st day, and it was entirely our responsibility to understand how the daily credit worked exactly, but insisted that we had to pay $18 extra.
The following is how it happened...
During check-in on our arrival at around 7pm on 19/Oct, we were given a voucher card, stating there was a $25 "daily" credit, and the counter staff explained about showing the voucher card at the end of our stay during check out; we also clarified with him that the daily credit could not be accumulated.
Because we paid for 2 nights of accommodation, and the voucher did not explain or specify exactly when the credit expired, we thought that we would have 2 * $25 "daily" credit.
We had breakfast on 20/Oct, costed $20. At night, when we got back to the hotel, because usually it would be considered as another night of accommodation, and we had to leave early the next day, so we decided to use the $25 daily credit which we thought we have for room service that costed $23 as we tried to keep it under $25.
The next morning during check-out, Assistant Manager Mr. Hiro insisted that the breakfast in the morning and the room service at the night were considered the same transaction, thus we had overspent and had to pay an additional charge of $18 after deducting the daily credit. He said that we could use $25 on the first day, he made it our responsibility to understand how the daily credit worked, and that we "lost our chance"...
There was a few points which we were really disappointed:
- The daily credit voucher card did not specify exactly when the credit expires, which was not align with the number of nights customers paid
- Looking back later on, the daily voucher was only to be shown at check-out was a catch, as customers would have no confirmation if they still have enough credit
- Poor customer service, the staff did not show sympathy of the inconvenience which caused us, and made us felt stupid
This experience would make us to think twice before staying at another Accor hotel again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQR, Director of Sales at Mercure Resort Queenstown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback outlining your confusing experience with our promotion "Daily Hotel Credit". As this is the first time this issue has arisen we understand Hiro did his best to advise you on the terms and conditions, however we would like to understand how we can improve the communication of the offer.
Unfortunately we are dispappointed this has led to you not enjoying your stay with us and possibly affecting your future stays with us.
We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you in person.
Please could you contact me directly on 64 03 442 5501.
I look forward to assisting you,
Kind Regards,
Michelle Dent
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
873 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Property: Mercure Resort Queenstown
Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing