We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view of the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed with a tour group so i dont know about the prices. The laje view is beautiful. The rooms are quote big. I did have a broken bathroom door. Good and modern hotel. The location is a bit werd... On a steep hill and far from watetfront

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

hot buffet breakfast could of changed in the 3 days we were there, everything else was perfect the staff were very welcoming and friendly. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone that is going to Queenstown in New Zealand for a holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibby143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wellington, New Zealand
1
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very friendly staff, knowledgable about area and had plenty of maps and information for tourists. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Would have liked the pool to have been open later when we visited we arrived late and it was a very hot night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel is situated at the top of a very steep hill about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown. Walking down to the town is OK but suggest you get a taxi or a bus for the return journey unless you are fit or want a work-out!

There is a wonderful view of the lake from the restaurant and bar area.

The room offered to us initially had a garden view and faced the pool on the inner courtyard. It had two double beds but the room was on the small side. We upgraded to a room with a king size bed plus a view of the lake. This room had more space and the bathroom (which looked new) had a walk-in shower. One minor negative was that the shower had no shelf or soap dish so everything had to be left on the floor.

The bed was very comfortable.

We used the restaurant mainly for breakfast and also had one evening meal. The food and service were good.

The staff were very polite and most helpful.

We would prefer somewhere closer to the centre of town but would stay in the Mercure again if the price remained competitive.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is rather hard to find, on a road above Queenstown. This elevated position gives awesome views over the city and the lake. This is one hotel where booking a room with a view really is worth the money. The rooms are large and well appointed though perhaps the decor is a bit tired and dated (This seems to be a recurring theme in Accor properties in NZ). The breakfast is more than adequate and the restaurant is good for dinner at reasonable prices with once again the view from the floor to ceiling windows.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and made good suggestions about things to see in the area. Their positive attitude takes the overall rating from good to excellent

Room Tip: Get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles_Orleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dunedin
1
Reviewed January 2, 2012

overall the stay was good although the room smelt musty and had cobwebs around the window latches, and lamp shade was water stained.
There is plenty of off street car parking and the local bus service stopping there every half hour was a good option for getting in and out of Queenstown center.
staff were friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Good location, nice room although no air conditioning. So on hot summer day difficult to get a good nights sleep as openning window let swarms of moths and mossies into room.

No spa, swimming pool freezing, plus could be cleaner.

However great views form room and restaurant make up for above.

Hotel guide could be improved, better information, things to do etc...



  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED-TRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Queenstown

Address: Sainsbury Road 9197, Queenstown 50071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $106 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Hotel Queenstown
Mercure Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing