We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great stay :-)”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed for three nights while doing some hiking in Queenstown. The room was lovely and warm, bed was very comfortable and the views were great. Staff were very helpful and kind, they definitely made this a wonderful place to stay. I would recommend there being a set of plates, cutlery and bowls in each room, incase customers do not wish to dine out and also the gym, particularly the treadmill could do with an upgrade. Great parking facilities too in there underground car park and reasonably priced. The hotel is very close to the city centre and in past reviews people have complained about the distance or the apparent hill they have had to climb on retune to the hotel, the walk is short and requires minimal effort, don't be put off by other peoples comments about this. All up a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Hannah T,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is a pleasure reading your comments and we thank you for your constructive suggestions. You are correct that walking back to the hotel require minimal efforts and we do understand that it is not possible for all the guests as walking back could be tiring. To avoid this we encourage our guests to use complimentary shuttle service that runs every hour on the hour to town.

Once gain we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    376
    212
    54
    16
See reviews for
95
382
54
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The rooms are nice but as this is a 1996 property, the size of the rooms may be small compared to newer five star hotels. But it prices itself lower than its competitors thus if you can get a good deal this hotel is worth it. The breakfast is also nice and plentiful. Our room is in the inner part of the hotel overlooking its indoor garden, and its garden is so beautiful. There is a shuttle bus to town every hour so it is nice to take a trip into town for one hour then return to the hotel. One minor gripe about this hotel is that is has no lakeview, but that is not a problem to us. If lakeview is important to you then you might not enjoy your experience as much as we did.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Nitra001,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

We appreciate your comments and agree that we do not have Lake views at Millennium Queenstown which is unfortunate. I am sure that for most of our guests, like yourself, comfort will take precedence over the views.

We hope to have you back with us in near future.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here because we booked late and in the high (skiing) season, other places were booked out. Not exactly in the CBD, it is a steep walk back from town. There is a hotel van every hour on the hour which is handy. The guys who drive this are a hoot and the best part of our stay. We paid $10 per night parking and a fortune for WiFi. If you stay a week, be prepared to shell out $120 just to be connected. The 2h WiFi package is $15!. We noticed most other hotels (of any rating and including the backpacker's down the road) offering free WiFi. The hotel is not cheap, so we were disappointed. The rooms are not generous and lower floors have low ceilings with not much of a view adding to the gloom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basename164_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear basename164_frie,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding our service and internet. We are sure that our internet price is very competitive among the similar star hotels in Queenstown. At Millennium Queenstown we unfortunately do not have rooms with views of the lake but all are rooms are of same size and offer same facilities.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and hoping that you will have a more memorable stay with us next time.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed last weekend and can recommend this hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated, comfy king beds and bathrooms adequate. Helpful staff and only around a 5 minute walk to the main centre of Queenstown. Hotel was offering great specials so it was well worth what we paid. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATDAV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DG9300, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Deat KATDAV23,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff and services comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Millennium Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Average hotel nothing to write home about. It was a pleasant walk into town but a long, long walk back up that steep hill. Room was clean and standard. Could use a bit more natural light as window was small. Disappointed with the breakfast given the price. Canned fruit and a mediocre omelet were simply not worth the cost. The savings grace is the hotel is in Queenstown. Best place in New Zealand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Al B,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

We are pleased to know that you found our rooms comfortable but were disappointed with breakfast buffet. Our Buffet has a lavish spread of hot and cold items with choice of 5 fruit juices, tea and coffee. Our guests can order eggs to their liking with our chefs and i am interested to know how we can improve it further. I am interested in your views and would appreciate if you can please contact me via email at millennium.queenstown@millenniumhotels.com.

I agree with you that walking back to the hotel could be tiring for some hence we have complimentary shuttle service that runs to town every hour on the hour from 9 am in the morning until 9 pm in the evening.

I am sincerely looking forward to hearing from you so we can enhance our guest's experience.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a room overlooking the courtyard on the east side which I imagine was quieter than some rooms since this hotel is located on a major street corner - well as major as it can be in Queenstown!! This is somewhere I only dreamt I'd be able to stay at but we picked up a deal and away we went. My daughter thought she was in a castle with the big swirling staircase and it's location was perfect so close to the main centre. Street parking was possible in the off season. A little dated now as, incredibly, it has been open about 30 years but suited its purpose and gave good value for money. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear LivNic,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is great to know that your daughter felt like a princess living in a castle which is great compliment to us. You are correct that hotel is open for nearly 30 years hence we have taken the first step in refurbishing our rooms which was done last year. We will continue this process to give hotel a fresh and a modern look.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Millennium Hotel Queenstown.
Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights for a convention, room was comfortable and spacious with a practical layout, light levels were a little bit low at night time (energy saver bulbs) which made reading difficult. The bed was very comfortable.

Food was good to excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly at all times.

The hotel is a short walk from town and the small hill on the way a great way to burn off some calories after lunch or dinner in the town.

Overall would recommend for those that want a good business class hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an internal room away from the main road if you are sensitive to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Anthony T,

Thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay.

It is indeed our pleasure to know that you had a great stay and found our services comfortable during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Millennium Hotel Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Property: Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing