We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Missing"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Missing"”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Enjoyed the stay as with other visits, staff and service could not be faulted, room and ammenities we excellent.

But there was someing missing!!!

It was the person with his finger on the pulse, the organiser, the friendly person who always had a word with you and fellow guests every time he saw you.

As a regular visitor to this hotel over the past years I was surprised to find that Gavin Traill, 2 I/C had been made redundent. Sad loss for us but more so for the hotel, the attention to detail from Gavin was just not there anymore! I understand that all hotels in the group in NZ lost their 2 I/C's and I am afraid it shows in Queenstown!

No attempt has been made to replace his energy, enthusiasm along with his ( I will say it again) attention to detail!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WO2SSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    376
    212
    54
    16
See reviews for
95
382
54
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we arrived unfortunately the fridge smelt of sour milk. We brought this to the Hotel's attention and they gave us an excellent upgrade, and a bottle of wine,which was outstanding.
There were days when my wife chilled as I was at a conference and despite the privacy they left towels etc in a bag outside the room.
The location is great, though you might want to use a taxi back due to the hill and our laziness! The Internet is overpriced and if you were on holiday free wifi in town was the option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rendomorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the issue with the fridge. I am glad that our front office team were able to provide good customer service and ensure your stay was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 250 which is on street level with heavy traffic very close to the windows. AC didn't work well so we opened the window to try to air the room out. Someone had obviously been smoking in the non-smoking room. Called the front desk but no other rooms available. Bed very comfortable, but only a double. Would prefer king or queen.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you found our new beds comfortable. I apologise that your room was not quite what you had hoped for with the bed size and traffic noise and it was unfortunate that we did not have another more suitable room available for you at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here our first night in Queenstown as we could not get a second night at the same rate in our other hotel. This was a very nice, clean hotel. Staff were friendly, and the bed and room was very comfortable. No complaints, underground parking too for 10 dollars. We arrived a bit earlier than our check in but that wasn't an issue for us as we had a car so we left our luggage there in the underground parking and walked into town to enjoy the sites. When we came back after lunch it was ready, we rented bikes and then cycled for another couple of hours around the lake. Beautiful, very much like Banff or Whistler back home in Canada. People were very friendly. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuincytheCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and were able to make use of the bicycle hire to enjoy a ride around our beautiful Wakatipu lake. We hope you are able to visit again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to check in at 2pm. Were told our room was not yet ready that it would be around 15 minutes before we could go in. At 2:15 a group of people who work for an airline checked out....one of them from our room. When we questioned how much longer we were told they were just doing a final vaccum. When we got to the room we could see it had not been vaccumed. There were scuff marks on the carpet from people walking and dragging bags. 5minutes after getting into the room housekeeping knocked on the door, as i didnt get to the door after the first knock she let herself into the room. Not sure exactly what she was going to do....maybe that final vaccum they said? But she left when she saw we were in the room.
Like others were told there were no car parks available that day. Was not given the option for parking the next day either.
Only two pillows on the bed and yes they were old and lumpy. Found one new one in the cupboard that was quite firm. But one good pillow out of 3 is not good enough.
Were told laundry was in the 2nd floor we went down and had to walk around to try and find it. There were no signs directing us to it.
First impressions were not great and nothing has made us change our minds. We have stayed with sister hotels before and have not had any problems. This was definitely not worth the money, very glad we did not pay full price for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniellesherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. Please accept my apologies for the delay in getting you checked in to your room. We have been changing all the beds in the hotel and this has caused some delays with rooms being available on time and as part of that refurbishment we have just taken delivery of new pillows to replace the old ones. I will speak to the maintenance department about putting up an extra sign for the laundry as the one we have could easily be missed. Again I apologise for the inconveniences during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very disappointing from the moment we arrived!! Room still not ready at 3pm, no carparks available onsite & carpark not secure as gate broken, told to park on a sidestreet a 5min walk away even though weve got a 2yr old with her stroller & all other gear, assured it was safe for car but told that we park there at our own risk - not much choice given no onsite parking! Looks pretty dated inside & some of the walls / light fixtures were disgustingly filthy, honestly can't have been cleaned in at least a year. Standard kind of room with a soft main bed & a rickety old mess of a single bed as the second which resulted in restless nights all around. We would never ever stay here again, & it's most definitely the worst hotel I've stayed at in NZ, or overseas for that matter. I'm not sure why anyone would stay here if they knew the reality when there's a plethora of far better choices all over QT

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebigpuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we were very sorry to hear that you did not recieve our usual high standard of customer service during your recent stay. I hope that you have recieved my message requesting more information so that we can do a full investigation as to what happened, this will help us ensure that our standards are kept to the highest levels. We have, in the past few weeks, replaced every bed in the hotel, this could have contributed to the delay in getting into rooms and for this we sincerely apologise.
Unfortunately our garage door was damaged in a recent accident but the car park is still secure in that we have regular security walks and there are camera's in the downstairs garage.
Our front desk team are there to assist should our guests find it easier to drop of family and luggage at the hotel before finding parking in the nearby area.
I will also speak to our Housekeeping Manager about the housekeeping issues but having the information requested will assist us in this.
Again thank you for you feedback and we apologise you did not have the experience you should have had with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is minutes from the centre - walking distance. There is also carparking for only $10 a night.

We stayed 3 nights in room 343. The bed was large and comfortable and the room had everything we needed. The hotel is basic but has all requisite amenities. Free wifi is available in the lobby for 20 mins/20MB per device/24 hours.

The staff were friendly and enthusiastically assisted us with booking tours and giving directions and food suggestions!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you, we really appreciate your feedback. It was good to hear that our friendly staff were able to be of assistance to you, ensuring a better time in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Property: Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing