We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional/Rude Staff and Poor customer Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unprofessional/Rude Staff and Poor customer Service.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed there because of a cancelled Jetstar fight(04/02/13) and must say the Front desk's staff attitude was unprofessional and rude(with smiling faces).I asked the man(Irish accent) at the front desk about the dinner timings that evening and he asked me to go to the restaurant and ask there as they didnt know anything(I thought Front desk was the information centre and people there being facilitators know everything in and out but no-Literally to my dismay).Later that night,i requested for a shavig kit from my room and the lady(Irish accent again) asked me to come down to the front desk and grab it.I asked why can't that be delivered so she went for a thought and said ok we will.
I am a hotelier myself (Duty Manager-Front Office) and understand plus know "customer service" very well. Highly dissapointed with what happened.Never reccommending this place to anyone.

Cheers

Varun Ragtah

Room Tip: Not Applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you were dissapointed in your stay with us, as I am sure you can understand we take complaints about the level of service we have delivered very seriously. Although the day you checked in our reception team were very busy with the flight disrupt there is no reason why you should not have recieved a much higher level of service.

I have spoken to each member in my team about these issues and they will be given further training so we can continue to improve and offer top level customer service and more extensive knowledge to all our guests especially during busy periods.

I appreciate your feedback.
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    384
    215
    56
    18
See reviews for
98
391
57
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

lovely hotel, well positioned next to all tourist attraction. Staff very friendly, rooms very clean and big. Had a family weekend there travelling with our 9 months old baby, the hotel put up a cot in our room and was lovely

Room Tip: get a room facing the garden, beautiful view indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Was a mystery hotel on wotif and excellent value for money . Close to town bit of a walk up the hill but we needed the exercise. Good sized rooms, clean, didnt eat there but meal options look like they offered good value . Couldnt ask for much more

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veiutotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We had 6 nights at the Millennium on a good rate booked directly with the hotel. We were happy with our room apart from the lack of WiFi. Staff were friendly and service good. Breakfasts were fine - we only had one evening meal - which was very good (because we wanted to try other restaurants). On the days we didn't have a car we used the shuttle - one day we walked from town. We are unlikely to stay again unless they get WiFi sorted.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nothing great, but nothing to complain about. The hotel room was tidy, the bed was good but the pillows were rock hard. Very handy to town which is great if you don't plan on hiring a car and heading out for a Dinner/Breakfast. Would use again if I could get a reasonable price through one of the hotel aggregators.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Millenium. Got a really good deal on price on a deals website and was not disappointed! The bed was very comfy with a variety of pillows depending on your firmness preference! It was all very clean and towels etc were replaced daily, even when I had the privacy tag on the door they still left a bag of goodies outside :-) I ordered a room service pizza which was great and arrived promptly. Walk into town/marina/activities very easy and my Milford sound coach driver dropped me off directly across the street from the hotel.THUMBS UP! Only negatives - 20min free Wifi not very generous, at least one hour would be nice! NB did not use the pool or spa

Room Tip: Garden view room lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you, we really appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room and that the services provided were the expected standard. We hope we will see you again on your next visit to Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is location up the hill from the centre of Queenstown. there is a courtesy bus which runs once an hour. You notice the Trip Advisor sticker as you enter the main door and the Certificate of Excellence with 4 stars for 2012 proudly displayed at Reception but we didn't feel that this hotel actually lived up to this rating . . . Staff were OK but less friendly and helpful than in other hotels on our NZ tour. Our room was spacious with effective air conditioning. It was furnished in a traditional style suggesting a top class hotel but the wardrobe was scratched and the bath/shower hadn't been renovated when the rest of the bathroom was spruced up. The surface area around the basin was very limited. The guest laundry was a useful feature but charged at a higher rate than other hotels providing identical facilities (NZ$ 4 each for the washer and dryer plus another NZ$2 for powder. Many hotels in NZ charge half this amount and include the powder! Most disappointing was the cost of trying to use the Internet. When you are aware that the Internet services in the area are unreliable and often very poor, it seems completely UNACCEPTABLE to charge the rates that this hotel does. During the 20 minutes offered free in the Lobby the connection was too poor to send our emails so we paid NZ$10 for ONE HOUR extra and it was still too poor to do much. Most hotels offer FREE Wifi when they know they cannot guarantee a good connection and the Millennium should consider changing its policy in this respect . . .

Room Tip: Rooms facing inwards towards the garden are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Property: Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#30 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing