We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Nearby Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.
Positives- nice big rooms, sauna and jacuzzi facilities available, near to town center, serves meals at appropriate cost, helpful reception, excellent bar.
Negatives- Inactive housekeeping, same breakfast served on all 3 days, parking chargeable@$10 per day.
so a mixed experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamsTravelogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Personal Assistant at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed our nice spacious rooms and the facilities.
We apologise if the housekeeping dept did not meet your expectations. If guests use the Going Green hanger, which we encourage to help us be environmentally friendly, then a full service is not carried out as per the information in our compendium. This can sometimes cause confusion as to what services are expected.
With regards to breakfast, we have the buffett breakfast in order that you can select different items each day but we do offer an A La Carte breakfast menu if you just ask for this at our kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
There are newer reviews for Millennium Hotel Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 844 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a week at the Millennium and were very pleased. Location is perfect, as its only 20 mins walk from town centre, even up that bloody hill. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle bus that leaves to and fro the town centre every hour til 9pm. Room was pleasant, not massive in size but clean with all necessary amenities. Bus stop right in front of the hotel, staff was mostly helpful. We didnt use the pool or spa but they seemed adequate. We scored a good online deal for it too, so if you're after an affordable 3.5 star hotel with good location, this is for you.

Room Tip: The shuttle bus is gold!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willpower55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Booked the wrong dates with booking.com for our stay at the millennium and only realised when we went to check in. Reservations manager got us in that weekend, same type of room at the same price even though the rugby 7's were playing. Thank you so much. Room was great, doors opening onto courtyard. Porter staff very helpful and got us into town with an unscheduled courtesy bus stop. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Executive at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad we were able to assist you and that you enjoyed your garden room. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of a wotif 'mystery' deal and essentially paid for what we got. Rooms were very average with soft beds and soft pillows from being too old. The hotel could do with being renovated and is a bit of a trek (10mins) to town, although there is a free shuttle service (which they dont actually tell you about). Parking is an extra $10 a night or free if you park on the street and dont mind getting wet if it rains.


Service was reasonable and the airport bus stops outside which is a plus. All in all, nothing to shout about and probably wouldnt stay here again. We also stayed at he Copthorne Resort which is opposite and a sister hotel of the Millenium. Service and the room quality was better and it was only $4 more!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilani79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Got a Wotif deal which was pretty good. The rate was said to include a $50 food credit per day, free paper and free use of gym and jacuzzi. As far as I could tell the paper, gym and jacuzzi were free

When we checked in about 3pm we were disappointed the room was still not ready and we had to wait another half hour although they did give us a free drink I guess.

The deal failed to mention the rooms were not in a good part of the hotel. Our room looked out onto the bus car park. We asked if there were other rooms available and they said the other rooms for the deal were on the Frankton Road side of the hotel which was noisier due to traffic which we would agree with.

The $50 food credit we used on breakfast which was below average. Chewy overcooked bacon, dry and burnt hash brown.Then staff had a lot of trouble at check out working out the room bill applying the food credit - took about 10-15 minutes to check out.

Hotel is about a 10 minute walk to town, quite steep on the way back. Alternatively the hotel has a free shuttle going into the city on the hour every hour.

For part of the trip we had a rental car and there is free street parking at the back of the hotel on Melbourne Street.

Rooms themselves are pretty clean, reasonably spacious.

Room Tip: Ideally get a room looking into the centre of the hotel where there is a garden. Alternatively a roo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hway29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We got a very cheap rate on wotif so can't complain too much, however I'd have been pretty disappointed if I'd paid a more standard rate.

Check in was a bit of a shambles - waited for about 15 mins while the poor guy at reception tried to reach housekeeping on a walkie talkie to check if our room was ready, before consulting his boss and then getting in the lift and going up the room to check himself! (we weren't trying to check in early). I asked if he had added the car park to our access cards, which he hadn't so that then necessitated another wait while he re-programmed them.

Once in the room it was pretty dated and old fashioned, but spacious for what I presume was a standard room. Checkout much smoother and car parking was cheap at $10 per night.

Overall a very average hotel room in a town that is full of better choices. Ok if you can get a cheap rate online but otherwise don't bother.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcstephens86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was a place to stay. Nothing special.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

My annoyances:
The amount they charge for wifi. $30 for 24 hours access. Once you have started using it, there is no turning it off.
Parking $10 per day.
All TVs were locked to their system where you had to pay to watch a movie. No connecting of other devices to watch your own TV.

The MRS said:
Really enjoyed staying there. Awesome staff.

Would i go back? Yes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 825Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#30 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $129 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing