We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rooms we've stayed at in New Zealand, excellent location, but a bit understaffed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Best rooms we've stayed at in New Zealand, excellent location, but a bit understaffed.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We love the spacious room excellent decor, Comfortable bed and good pillows. The in room coffee and tea service is also very nice and there's a very functional and well appointed bathroom. The hotel bar is well-stocked affordable, and has excellent customer service. The only significant downside was that the staff was a bit overwhelmed with the holiday check in and check out time. We had to wait in a lengthy queue and several of our requests were significantly delayed. Despite it being the rush time, there were only two clerks on staff. Also, they made several requests to other staff via the radio which continually went unanswered. Despite the rush, however, the staff remained friendly and attempted to help us out and gave us access to the carpark even though our rooms weren't ready. The location is very convenient and only a short walk to the heart of the downtown shopping and dining area. Overall, the hotel is a great value in a great location and very well-maintained. We would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Personal Assistant at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also thank you for your patience regarding the check in and check out process, we do try to ensure that there are sufficient staff to assist at peak times. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    381
    213
    55
    17
See reviews for
96
388
55
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days while visiting Queenstown on our tour of NZ for our honeymoon. We couldn't believe that this hotel had been rated "4 stars plus" and were so suprised that this was a Millenium hotel based on our experience with them in other cities.

For starters, we had several bags to unload and were not greeted by a bellman. In fact, while checking in the front desk saw us lugging our suitcases and didn't offer to bring anyone out to help. They let me bring all of our luggage up myself while my husband parked our car in the garage on premises (which is an additional cost - otherwise you can "fend for yourself" with the "ample parking out back" -- mind you, this was NYE, and "ample" was not the right word for availabe parking).

We stayed in a superior room, and our AC was broken the whole time. They will tell you to "make sure the windows are closed" (which they were - and it was still broken).

The bed was one of the most uncomfortable we've slept on - seriously! I've stayed at many types of hotels ranging in various rankings and this was one of the worst I've slept on. For a "superior" room, there was nothing superior to be said.

The breakfast in the morning was adequate but nothing to write home about. We sat down for twenty minutes before we were even asked whether or not we wanted any coffee.

When we checked out with the front desk (which took us over twenty minutes to do), they didn't even take any time to ask us how our stay was.

The only single employee that was accomodating was the bartender Karina, who gave us some good advice on places to go and mixed a good cocktail.

Though the location and proximity to the center of Queenstown was great, there are other hotels in the vacinity that I am sure would be more worth your while. This was a disappointing stay all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueslady442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamsyn V, Personal Assistant at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, We are glad that Karina from the Club Bar provided a good service during your stay. We apologise for the issues you had during your stay. We are pleased to say that we are replacing all the beds in the hotel. We have also spoken to the Front Office Manager to provide further training and instruction to the front line staff, to ensure that all guests are assisted with luggage and other services. We apologise for the air conditioning issues you had, our maintenance team do their best to fix any issues in the rooms as quickly as possible and if they cannot we do try to offer another room. It is unfortunate that at that time of year the parking space does run out very quickly, hence we provide the option to pre - book a car park space in the undercover parking area. Again thank you for your feedback as it helps us to attain the standard expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great Bed, wonderful nights sleep. Big Room (superior) and lovely breakfast! All the staff were very helpful. The Air con was a bit loud and we were on the main road so opening the window was not an option but all in all great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Friendly and professional staff
Comfortable spacious room with great kingsize bed and good airconditioning which was appreciated as it was very warm
Nice grm and spa pool
Didnt use restaurant
Secure underground parking

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phila987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked a mystery Hotel and ended up in the Millenium. We have had dinner in this hotel, but never stayed here. The front desk staff were friendly, but we were told we couldn't use the garage, unless we paid another 10 dollars per night. We had the choice to park for free in the adjoining street which we did.
The room is a very good size, with a very nice bathroom. The room is maybe a little outdated, but still nice.
The bed was very comfertable and the airconditioning worked well. As mentioned the Hotel has large diningroom and serves good meals. When we left we were greeted by the housekeeping staff in the corridor who thanked us for staying, we thought it was so nice to be greeted in that manner.
Overall the Millenium is a nice Hotel to stay in Queenstown and is very central, you can easily walk to the city centre and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandsen055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

While not located in the heart of the city, it is a short 5 minutes walk, which is one of the perks of staying here.
We booked through booking.com/hotels, so we grabbed a standard room at $113 (per night), which was a bargain in comparison to other hotels. So always check booking.com/hotels to see what bargains you may find!
However I found the room modest at best, nothing too fancy, yet nothing too appalling. The restaurant was always empty when we walked past, so we did not risk trying it out, when there are much better restaurants in the city
Overall, a very affordable stay at a nice clean hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very different from my expectation of Millennium chain. A small hotel. My room is very dark, in the back of the hotel facing a wall with no light and no view. No view of the lake from hotel room. Buffet brekki was ok, nothing fancy but not bad. Internet is expensive so didn't purchase the plan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Property: Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#30 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing