We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor nights sleep on King split bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed August 26, 2012

In years past this was one of the premier hotels in Queenstown. Today however, the property is tired and in need of reinvestment/refurbishment.

The hotel location is walking distance to town which is convenient.

The guest room is spacious and comfortable for a short stay. The bathroom is ok with everything you need. However the shower is over a bath which is can be awkward.

The bed however was terribly uncomfortable. It was a King bed made up of 2 singles joined together. I have slept on many of these beds in the past without any issue. However this bed was not joined together properly, or was old and needed to be thrown out. There was a big divide in the middle of the bed which I sank in to all night. This left me with a disrupted sleep and sore back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstpointnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your review, and your email to the hotel, to which the General Manager has responded personally. As advised the hotel will be replacing all guest room beds in the next two months as part of a larger soft refurbishment programme. However, until our new beds arrive, and following your feedback, we have put provisions in place to ensure that the 'hollywood' type mattress (two mattresses zipped together) which are in a small percentage of our rooms, are correctly joined. Again may I express our sincere apologies for the disruption to your sleep and soreness to your back that this particular bed caused, and our thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 870 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Millenium for two nights recently as part of a well earned break, and as we were only travelling over the Crown Range decided to arrive around 3pm. To our dismay the room was not ready as they had encountered a mass check out that morning (a Saturday), OK, it happens, that was fine, but what we hadn't anticipated was the receptionist stating that our room was still "dirty" and we would have to return later to check in. we did, an hour later to be met by another receptionist who informed us that the original staff meber is training, and boy, does he have a lot to learn!!!!!. We were given our room keys, which I might add, were for a different room on a higher level floor than the original ones and we parked the car, this was also given to us free as way of an apology. The room we received was top notch, rather like a junior suite with a huge tiled bathroom and massive lounge as well as King bed which was super comfy. We didn't take any meals at the hotel, there is just too much choice in Queenstown, but the experience has not put us off returning to enjoy another stay in this wonderfully located Queenstown hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the courtyard but was extremely quiet and no road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AlisCentralOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A good base for Queenstown everything in walking distance (and surrounding area), clean room although a little small, breakfast good with good laundry facilities. There are lifts to all floors. Stunning view of The Remarkables from upstairs. The hotel is capable of hosting seminar

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank WellKentFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is an annoying walk from the town center up the hill - too close to taxi, too far to be gentle stroll (and im not as lazy as that sounds) It is perfectly comfortable but tired and there's definitely better places to stay in queenstown for the same price.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank DACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. I do understand that our location is on the hill just outside Queenstown, and for that reason we provide a free courtesy shuttle for guests to and from central Queenstown on the hour, every hour between 9am and 9pm. Should guests still wish to walk to and from town, my front desk team always recommend using Coronation Drive rather than the main road, as it offers a much more gradual gradient, and is a more scenic stroll bordering Queenstown Gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel and room were nice enough but the main issue was parking. If you want to guarantee a space you have to pay to get an under cover spot. Otherwise, you're out on the street. As a result, our car was hemmed in by other vehicles who were parked illegally. Really think that hotels should offer free car parking space. The room costs enough!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well appointed, clean, delicious breakfast.
Short stroll to the city, even though there is a climb, not a problem if average fit. Missing wi-fi, a bit strange in 2012. Cable Broadband is charged!
Free bus to city available hourly.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

myself and my partner stayed here after choosing the mystery hotel option on wotif.com. We got an amazing deal and a very good room. However we had to wait ages at reception for someone to actually find us to check us in and had the same problem when checking out. the location was close to town but the being at the top of the hill seemed a pain when coming back. they do offer a free shuttle service available but towns only a ten minute walk. Well worth a stay if you get a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intothewildwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#31 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $138 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing