We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, easy stay with great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, easy stay with great customer service”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for a business conference for four nights in May 2011. I was very impressed with the Millenium - it had great modern rooms, excellent customer service and all the necessary in-room facilities to make your stay easy and relaxing.

The location is good, with just a 5 minute walk down a steep hill into town. This, of course, means you have to walk back up the steep hill to return - not great in heels! However, the hotel offers a shuttle bus on the hour every hour into town (and back) which is very useful and free of charge.

I found the TV a little frustrating to use, but I think my remote control might have been running out of batteries. No big deal though, as I wasn't there to watch TV.

The breakfast in the restaurant was good, but quite pricey I thought ($21 for a continental). Great service though.

Overall, I would definitely consider staying at the Millenium again and would recommend it to people whose budget and requirements suited the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    382
    213
    56
    17
See reviews for
97
389
55
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We came back to our hidden secret in Queenstown. You need to visit for the comfort, service and the fantastic staff who are there, for what it seems just to please you.

I have stayed in all sorts of accommodation, all over the world, from water sodden ditches in the Falklands where the visitors thought lead for breakfast was good, to the 7 star Burj Al Arab in Dubai. If you want the best in Dubai go to the Burj, but if you want the best in Queenstown you have only one choice "The Millennium".
Tip.
Get them to book you on the evening dinner trip on the TSS Earnslaw to Walter Peak Farm the carvery is fantastic!!!

Please try this hotel you will not be disappointed!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WO2SSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch nz
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Spacious rooms with quality furniture, great reading lights,two comfortable armchairs, also a nice large bathroom. The staff were friendly and they run am hourly shuttle bus into town which is only a 10 minute walk away. The only downside of this hotel is the dining experience. We paid for Breakfast which was very mediochre, a 2 star breakfast, and in fact on the 2nd day only had hot food cooked if required. As we had paid the bed and breakfast rate of $149 a night which included a breakfast buffet we ate in. The night we arrived was a Sunday so decided to eat in at the hotel's Observatory Restaurant. I ordered a 300g Porterhouse steak, medium with mushroom sauce ,cost $30 included 1 sauce and 1 side. It arrived sitting on it's lonesome in the middle of the plate, looking cooked to a medium. Unfortunatley I only had a steak knife to cut it and I needed a machete. I was offered a complimentry glass of wine as compensation, not another steak,Overall a good hotel with a second rate dining experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed 2 nights with my husband for a weekend getaway. From the quick and friendly check in to our check out, the staff were extremely helpful. Definitely will be back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tippee438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Arrived there where the outside looks very nice shame about the rooms. I think it is shocking that you have to pay for parking of $10. We also had the experience of an extra $50 bond being taken off the credit when it had been paid for. Also our room smelt strongly of BO and had to go and complain. Was then moved to a suite for the night which was a lot better. I think this hotel needs to be done up as alot of people would think the rooms are top class for a 4 star plus rating when they are shocking. Would not ever return back there again.

Room Tip: Pay heaps to get a suite on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We got a special price for the three nights we stayed - excellent value for our money.
Room well appointed, warm clean and comfortable.
Just a short walk from the township.
Initiallly a bit concerned as we on the first level, we thought we may miss out on a lake veiw but were pleasantly suprised that we could see the lake and mountains. Although on a busy road we could not hear traffice noise - that also a plus for us as peace and quiet is a must when away for a weekend.
Service outstanding, we had our car parked and delivered to us when required - when checking out we expected to pay a fee for that service but there was none.
We used the shuttle service one evening and the driver was genuinly pleasant and took the time to chat with us.
We would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We spent five nights at the Millennium in Queenstown and felt very much at home. It was much more than we were expecting from the low rate we had paid (via www.hotel-desk.net). A decent sized room, comfy bed, good sized bathroom, satellite tv etc etc. All really smart and clean too. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, both at reception and whenever you met one in the corridor. One thing that we loved was that they offer a "Green" service for those not wanting their sheets changed and rooms cleaned every day. Great thinking!

The only very slight downside is that it is at the top of the steep hill next to the town so you have a climb back to the hotel after you've been out in the evening (it's still only a five min walk!)

Very much recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamCoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Property: Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#30 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing