We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2006

We stayed in the forest wing for four nights in a standard room. We had a balcony with a nice view over the lake which was good.

The room was quite large with a very comfortable bed and ample space to store all clothes etc. The desk staff were very helpful in booking activities, the cost of which were added to our room bill which was convenient. Activities arranged through the hotel meant that we were picked up outside rather than having to go into town which was handy.

The shopper bus service was sometimes late but wasn't too bad. The walk into town is only about 15 or 20 minutes which is fine but the big hill made walking back a bit more of a challenge!

Overall, the hotel had quite a corporate feel but was a very practical and comfortable base for our stay in Queenstown. It was very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area and I felt it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kiwireviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2006

This was a fantastic place to stay. I was there with my family and several people didn't want to leave. It is very tastefully done, with amazing views. We had a lakeview villa and it was amazing. I couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rataturium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

After a horrible couple of days at another hotel, we decided to change to this one. It was the exact same price as the other hotel, but this one included a full cooked breakfast. Never have I been so impressed. We had beautiful view of the lake and mountains, and it was pure comfort in our Suite. The staff were excellent and their restaurant was nice also. I will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank feijoa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

I had the pleasure of staying here for 5 nights in July with my husband and 2 children.

I booked the stay on [--] and got a great deal which included a full buffet breakfast each morning......
HINT 1...for any travel you are booking within 21 days of departure this is the website to visit !!!

Some people may say the location of the property is a bit far from town..... personally I think it is fantastic as you are close to town but far enough out of it to avoid the unwelcomed noise of nightlife in Queenstown. Perfect for families.

You could chose to walk to the town centre which would take about 10 minutes ( coming back would be uphill) or drive which is about 5 minutes. The hotel also offers a regular shuttle service which is handy for going out to dinner.

The rooms were clean and tasteful. The service was friendly and the facilities were well maintained.

The hot / cold buffet breakfast was top notch and a god send for the wallet as the staff do not frown upon taking fruit for the kids to munch on later at the Ski fields

The pool and spa were a blessing to come home to after a hard day skiing and the gym was small but had everything you would need.

There is ski storage available. We had a 4WD and found it very convenient to drive into the garage area and drop of the gear at the storage desk then slide into a car spot... it was never a problem.

It's definetly cheaper to head into town for dinner as opposed to eating at the hotel restuarant. Queenstown offers lots of variety. HINT 2 : DO NOT GO TO QUEENSTOWN PIZZA HUT.....IT WAS THE WORST I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED.

But all in all the best part would have to be coming back home to the guest lounge area after a lovely family dinner and enjoying a nice bottle of wine by the crackling fire place whilst watching the kids toast marshmallows....... which may I say were complimentary.

I definetly will stay here again next ski trip.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Kim-Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Stayed for 2 nights in October 06, it was probably my favourite hotel from the whole holiday. The staff were friendly, the rooms were well equipped and comfortable. We were in the Forest Wing, but we still had great views of Lake Wakatipu.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel but it was very good, and the bar was quite nice. I regret not trying the pool or spa.

It is a little bit outside the centre of town, but there are free buses and it's a nice walk by the lake if you want to get some exercise heading to town.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank GK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

This hotel affords fantastic views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, which was the biggest selling point for me. It is located a fair bit up a hillside about 1km west of downtown Queenstown. I highly recommend staying in the Lake Wing with a lake view room, a bit more, but worth it especially for the romantic sunsets and a star filled sky at night. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious with comfortable beds, a microwave, toaster, refrigerator, dishwasher, cook top with pots and pans, and clothes washer/dryer in room (nice for extended holiday). The pool and hot tub offered a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in after a long day of touring or adventure. Great location for couples and families, but would not recommend if stag, due to price and distance from other social locales (bars/nightclubs).

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alaskan2farSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

The Heritage in Queenstown is a great hotel in the upper market range. Unfortunatly we didn't get a lake view, but the room was well equipped including small kitchen, a huge bed and great shower. Whilst out of town somewhat (20 minute walk largely up hill) they have a deal with the local shoper bus which allows you to travel to town free of charge. Buffet breakfast was the norm - with no complaints, and the skewers and marshmellows next to the fire place were a nice touch. Would highly recommend for those looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ktl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
893 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $135 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing