We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, would recommend fully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very clean, and lovely to live in. My son (12.9yrs) would come back. He swam and enjoyed the spa and luxury of it all. We felt like Kings and Queens. My Mum would love to live long enough to enjoy it again when we come back to NZ for another holiday. Cheers from Brisbane Australia.

Room Tip: Don't forget your swimmers, heated pool in winter is great fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon Wendy F, thank you for taking the time to offer your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is away from the central city part of Queenstown, but still walking distance if you are fit. Downhill to town, steep up hill back to hotel. Otherwise 10 minutes by car. This is my second time at this hotel and it is perfect... except the parking, but I have more good things to share than bad. First time was with a company conference. This time as a couple. There are three wings to the hotel with parking underneath. We only got a park twice, so had to park across the road in a vacant parking lot. Not ideal, but they do monitor it every half hour. I don't know how disabled or elderly people get on. That road can be dangerous, so watch for traffic. Last time I stayed, a woman was killed on that road standing on the median strip taking photos! The cars approach so quick. There is 30 minutes free wifi, then you pay. You have to pay for the business center computer also which we weren't happy about as we are so used to free business centers. We visit the USA often and have hardly ever paid for use of a computer or wifi. My partner and I stayed here over Easter weekend (6 days in total) to visit the Warbirds Over Wanaka International Airshow that is on every second year at Easter. It was busy but comfortable. A few noisy unruly kids, but that's my pet hate. It is a good hotel for families, but more for couples I feel as it has a lovely lodge feeling, romance, etc. I booked online and requested "a room with a view if possible" and although I knew I would have to pay for a Lake View upgrade, they still accommodated us with a partial lake view, so we could sit in bed in the morning looking at the mountains and lake. Each room has it's own balcony. The rooms are spotless and very quiet. Very warm room, no air con, but there is a wall heater. The bathroom was too warm for us and we had to wedge the door open with a towel as it kept closing and left the balcony door open in the morning to get fresh air. Underfloor heating in bathroom we think. Heated towel rail. Lovely toiletries. Flat screen tv in room. We loved sitting by the open fire in the bar area. You have to wait your turn, but sometimes a table further from the fire is more comfortable or you will cook. They offer marshmallows to toast on the fire. The bar service was excellent. Breakfast included in our rate was excellent - two kinds of bacon, eggs, sausage, hashbrowns, mushrooms, tomatoes, pancakes. Over Easter, they offered Hot Cross Buns. Another table had pastries. Also fruit and yoghurt available. Seating is very elegant and comfortable. Plenty of window seating. You can walk onto the balcony from the dining area with a view over the lake towards the Queenstown Gardens and watch people parasailing. Would definitely stay again. Staff are top notch.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a lake view, book a Lakeview Wing room or ask for a partial lake view if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCandWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon CCandWH, thank you for taking the time to offer your great feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

No really, the mountain range that surrounds this hotel is called Remarkable and quite appropriately named.The Heritage Queenstown offers views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable Mountain Range.This hotel is a short distance from the town center. It is a easy walk to town but let me warn you, it's uphill coming back. This rustic hotel is a great place to relax. I believe the most outstanding characteristic about this hotel is the beautiful scenery that can be seen from most guest rooms. There is internet access for a fee. A meal plan will include a full breakfast. After a day of tours, relax in the club room and on cold nights enjoy complimentary toasted marshmallows over an open fire.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony that has a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacheragent101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon Teacheragent101, thank you for taking the time to offer your great feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A superb hotel, a little out of town but buses available across the road every half hour and then hourly after 7pm. Taxis cheap only 10 dollars to town. Concierge was one of the best, contacted before starting the trip and he booked all our tours after sending full description and recommendations. Faultless especial mention Emmett, thanks for making our visit special.
We had a lake view room and it was a truly stunning view. The room was large with a kitchen and washing machine, dishwasher, etc.. Breakfast was very good, large selection of Danish pastries and cooked food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon Moosie57, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is wonderful you enjoyed your stay, I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

All accommodation is expensive. We stayed here, and were quite happy with the room.
Super massive, with a balcony and a little view of the gorgeous blue lake. This hotel is located a little away from the town centre, you can get there in 10 mins by car or a gentle long walk down the hill side.

Room Tip: Try and take a room closer to the lake if you want a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tirath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon TirutheViru, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Booking hotels online can be a little unnerving. When planning a trip to New Zealand from the US I honestly didn't know what to expect. After arriving to Heritage, I instantly knew I made the right choice.

This hotel is far enough away from the commotion in the center of Queenstown, but still only a short walk. This was nice and gave us some extra exercise in the morning.

The rooms are nicely designed and extremely clean and comfortable. I am a pretty picky sleeper, and I felt right at home here.

As for the views... the views are out of this world. A small table and chairs were on our balcony which made simple small meals and snacks feel like a fancy cafe overlooking the scenery.

If (and when) I return to Queenstown, I will definitely stay here again. I have absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnlimitedExploration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon juelz8288, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

WE booked this through WOTIF and we were thrilled with the experience in all aspects .The bedding was very luxurious had the best sleep ever loved the spa.The heating was very good and staff wonderful. Would be a great place for a wedding venue.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Good afternoon Lorraine M, thank you for your delightful comments on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $170 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing