We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was here for a 2 day conference on site. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable.
The breakfast and lunches were good. The only downside was the 15-20 minute walk to and from downtown Queenstown. It was pleasant and scenic but stopped you from popping out at lunchtime and getting to shops required some planning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon NZTaveller, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is great you enjoyed your stay. With regard to getting into town, the hotel is on a bus route and we have bus tickets available at reception – my apologies that you were not informed at check in. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

After staying in motels with excellent facilities in various cities in New Zealand, this Hotel was way to expensive for its room, facilities and location. The hotel is quite far from the city center, you either have to walk a long long way, or hire a cab to go back. The balcony was also quite small, and didnt have a proper lake-view. We stayed for 3 days with >200$ each night, but our room was quite small, and it didnt include breakfast. More annoyingly, our credit card was charged twice for some things that they arranged, and we had to sort it out later over phone calls. We would prefer to stay next time in other places with lake view which are more centrally located.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbee306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon travelbee306, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is very disappointing to read about your experience with us. I would like to look into this further personally, if you would be happy to email me at Donnas@heritagehotels.co.nz with your details. I apologise for this experience as this is not acceptable and I look forward to you contacting me. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was not over the top expensive but beautifully appointed and well serviced. The bedding was luxuriant. We stayed in a waterfall room and had a peak of the lake view. A gorgeous view. The rooms are spacious and have all that you need and then some. It was lovely to be able to step out onto the balcony and enjoy the fresh air. The hotel is not new, but very well maintained and appointed. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Good afternoon Michelle W, thank you for your delightful comments on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I will be sure your comments are forwarded onto the team – we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not in the center of town but who cares it's a 15 min walk or 5 min taxi ride , this hotel is in such a beautiful setting and rooms are perfect bathrooms are very large and staff is wonderful , will def return here great for couples and families .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdiamonds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Good afternoon rdiamonds12, thank you for your excellent comments on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I will ensure they are passed onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in a Lakeview Deluxe Hollywood King room on the 4th floor of the Waterfall Block. The lake view was stunning and well worth carrying the luggage up an extra floor (the lift only operates up to the 3rd floor).

The room was large, clean with a comfortable bed, a small balcony, in-room safe and fridge including (rather expensive) mini-bar. The bathroom included a (dusty) bath and separate shower with great water pressure. The room came with a generous supply of towels – a mix of soft, new towels along with thin, old towels.

Complimentary wifi is available in the lobby. Breakfast was reasonably priced and all staff members were pleasant and helpful. The outdoor “heated” pool is in the centre of the complex but is cold.

The hotel is in a quiet location, a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from the middle of Queenstown and the local bus stops at the door. The bus from the airport costs $8 and, following a bus transfer in central Queenstown, drops off at the door of the hotel. Taxi to the hotel is about $50 from the airport and $15 from downtown Queenstown.

Despite our positive comments on this hotel, we wouldn’t stay at this hotel again because of its distance from town. The hotel is quite isolated and the walk to town would be long and unpleasant in bad weather. This hotel may be best suited to travellers with their own transport or to travellers on coach tours.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hataitans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon Hataitans, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. I have passed your comments regarding the towels on to the Executive Housekeeper to ensure consistency is maintained. We hope we can welcome you back someday in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Heritage Hotel was a great place to stay.
The initial reception was very friendly while the room exceeded expectation. A very spacious room with a huge "Hollywood" king bed and lovely furniture was most acceptable. There were excellent cooking facilities too; microwave, two plate electric cook-top, heaps of crockery and cutlery. We wondered if the dining room might suffer then decided it was perhaps for families with young. Non-lake view didn't matter; the outlook over the pool was very acceptable.
The conference facilities were well organised for our group. service was top grade.
Breakfast on the terrace on a lovely autumn morning was bliss, sheer bliss.
We came away saying, "What more could one want?"

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan3322014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Good afternoon Bryan3322014, thank you for your wonderful comments your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown - I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My family & I booked a 5 night stay at the Heritage Hotel Queenstown during our trip to New Zealand in April. We found the hotel to be in a lovely setting just on the outskirts of Queenstown The staff at the hotel were friendly and hospitable and offered good customer service - we would like to single out Mairaed who works in the restaurant as she was always cheerful & very helpful. A real plus for the hotel is the secure underground parking, self service laundromat on site, plus the rooms are of a good size. The hotel is not a comfortable walking distance to Queenstown, however I do believe there is a curtesy bus into town, but this was not passed on to me directly upon check-in. Finding parking in Queenstown centre can be a challenge so the use of a shuttle bus would be a good option. My wife did feel that the bathroom was tired looking & that the food could gave been of a better quality in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room facing the lake. We stayed in the Forester wing which was the central b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arekaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Good afternoon Arekaa, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown. It is great you enjoyed your stay – I will ensure your comment is passed on to Mairead. The hotel is on a bus route into town – my apologies that you were not informed at check in. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Donna Stewart, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $162 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing