We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Queenstown
Nearby Hotels
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$316
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$130
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$108
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azur(Queenstown)
$830
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$117
$112
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,707)
Filter reviews
1,707 results
Traveler rating
739
660
217
60
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
660
217
60
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest winglake viewdeluxe roomfamily roomin townbuffet breakfastopen firespa poolsteep hillunderground parkingnew zealandquiet locationwashing machinesmall balconymilford soundamazing viewssouth island
Filter
Updating list...
1,113 - 1,118 of 1,707 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Really lovely Hotel, just a mile out of town, but served by an excellent hop on/hop off bus service which saved trying to park in the main town centre. Hotel is perched on the side of a Hill with great views across the Lake & taking in the Remarkable Mountains. Beautiful ambiance & the room was very well furnished& spotless

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Good afternoon Graham P

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

It is wonderful you enjoyed your stay – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My daughter and I were very pleased with our stay at the Heritage in Queenstown. Our Forest Wing room was large, quiet and clean, with a balcony and a very nice view. It was clean and comfortable, with nice linens on the bed, comfortable mattress and pillows, and thick towels. The breakfast buffet, which includes espresso, was excellent. I didn't rate this 5 stars for a handful of small reasons: no free wifi, and low water pressure which made rinsing my hair a challenge. There's no lift to the fifth floor so we had to haul our luggage up a flight of steps. And although the downhill walk to town is very pleasant, it's a daunting prospect at the end of a long day to face the uphill walk unless one is quite physically fit.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, ask if the elevator goes up to your floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebN860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Good afternoon Deb N

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. With regard to the internet, we do have package deals where internet is included. My apologies that you were not made aware of this. I have also passed your comments regarding the water pressure on to the Maintenance team for review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Although not far out of town, the climb up the hill from town can be a demanding walk.
The walk downhill though provides great vistas of the lake.

The rooms are a good size, well equipped and very clean. There's no shortage of clean towels, spa products for pampering, and quality gowns for lounging around.
Staff are very helpful, informed and friendly.
There's a small pool and spa that is well used. The open fire in the bar for happy hour was well stocked with marshmallows and roasting sticks! What a treat.
Undercover parking was most welcome when the weather was inclement.
The guest laundry was a bonus and very cheap to use.

It's a place where many bus tours of international tourists stay, so be prepared for busy times in the breakfast room and foyer.

Connection to the internet is a bit last century! You can have 1 hr free connection in the main building / reception / breakfast room - or you can pay $10 for a 24 hr connection. Surely it would be better to add an extra few dollars to room costs and provide free internet connection, rather than annoying guests by having them each pay for it. This seems 'out of step' with what others in the hospitality industry provide.

Another annoying feature of the Heritage is the 1.5% surcharge added to the bill - when paying by credit card. Even the use of a debit card attracts a surcharge for international guests. Really ... how else does management expect guests to pay?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Good afternoon AussieBoomers

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

It is great that you enjoyed your stay – I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. With regard to the internet, we do have package deals where internet is included. My apologies that you were not made aware of this. With regard to the credit card surcharge, please be aware that we are in line with most New Zealand and Australian hotels and it is to cover any merchant fees.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My extended family and i have stayed at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown several times over the past six years, having been initially impressed by everything the hotel offers. However, our last three stays (the most recent being December, 2013) have disappointed us immensely.

Firstly, the Heritage hotel in Queenstown appears to playing some game by attracting clientele with offers of lake-facing luxury rooms when booking and, then, allocating no-view, standard rooms on arrival (checking in). Apart from Han (a member of the reception team), who is excellent, the reception service is below par. Avoid duty manager Sebastian at all costs - he is rude, arrogant and totally under-skilled for the position.

Some of the staff do not speak English which is a challenge for English clients but I do understand that a large number of visitors are Japanese and Chinese tour groups.

Room cleaning is okay but they don't seem to provide replacement soap.

The restaurant staff remain truly excellent all round. This was the best part of our stay and the restaurant experience remains fantastic.

Arranging a massage or spa-treatment is impossible: their on-site service has now been outsourced and is seldom available.

Management does not respond to complaints.

Overall, our perception of Heritage hotel in Queenstown has diminished somewhat and we shall not stay there again. We would rather try other hotels in Queenstown and come the Heritage for dinner!

Room Tip: Be careful of this hotel: their marketing is misleading. You get promised a fantastic luxury room which is not available on arrival.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Good afternoon Jonathan S

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

It is very disappointing to read about your experience with us. I would like to look into this further personally, if you would be happy to email me on Donnas@heritagehotels.co.nz with your details.

I apologise for this experience as this is not acceptable – I look forward to you contacting me.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Heritage Queenstown in the most enormous guest room. It was very clean, comfortable, quiet and spacious. Free carparking was available either outside or in the basement of the building. The Heritage is not right in town, but it's a lovely walk downhill and along the lake shore to the restaurants and shops. A taxi back to the hotel is around $12. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Good afternoon essjay

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heritage Hotel in Queenstown.

It is great you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure your comments are passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews