We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenstown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Queenstown Hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Heritage looks more like a nice motel from the outside but our room was very large and definitely had all the amenities of a fine hotel. These include towel warmers, plush robes, large comfortable beds with nice bedding, separate large showers and soaking tubs, double sinks, and separate toilet areas. The wifi was $10 a night and very slow. The hotel is outside the main town area of Queenstown on a hill. An easy walk into town but a rather long and constant climb back. There is a bus that stops right across the street and they gave us a free coupon to take the bus into town. The breakfast was nice and served in a large room but they couldn't keep up with silverware and glasses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Kathy G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Heritage Queenstown. We appreciate there are a number of choices available and are glad that you selected us. Thank you for your feedback, as it greatly assists with our desire to continual improve our facilities and service.

Hope you have a safe flight home.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    607
    194
    53
    30
See reviews for
353
802
56
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here 1 night enjoying a lovely spacious room. The room was comfortable and clean with everything we needed including a small balcony. In the morning we enjoyed a hearty breakfast! Would recommend for a quiet relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Donna A,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Heritage Queenstown and for taking the time to post this review following your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your night, and breakfast in the morning. I look forward to welcoming back as one day in Queenstown is never enough!

I hope you have a safe trip back to Hamilton.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford,
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We look forward to a break in Queenstown every autumn but had been sad to note that the room standards on our last couple of visits had dropped considerably, enough to decide to go elsewhere. But in the nick of time we discovered that a refurbishment of all rooms had been completed so we thought we would give the Heritage another go. Glad we did. The rooms are superb; gone are the tragic bedspreads (why do hotels persist with these nasties), replaced by the three-sheet system, the linen was lovely, bed was supremely comfortable and bathroom felt fresh. Gone are the dinosaur tvs - we spotted them all forlornly but neatly stacked down in the carpark, along with all the discarded furniture. Where does all this stuff go to die I wonder! On this visit we chose a sunny room in Forest wing which happened to have pretty views over the pool area to the lake and mountain...nice. Apart from the bedrooms, the Heritage is business as usual, relaxed style with pleasant staff. We were alarmed to spot a gas fire in the lobby area but this was only because they've had trouble with the chimney and sure enough, we were relieved to see the lovely big real log fire in the main bar area. Breakfast is still pretty ho hum, but we always managed to find something satisfying. My only gripe: mild surprise to find no free wifi spot. We like the fact that the Heritage is slightly apart from the often-boisterous town itself - it's just the right distance for a pleasant stroll for an evening meal. The free courtesy coach no longer exists...it now costs $5 per person but probably fair enough when it simply takes people away from the hotel to spend their money elsewhere! Free car parking is provided under the hotel. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Berry J,

Welcome back. Thank you for once again choosing to stay with Heritage Queenstown. I am delighted to read that you approve of the refurbishment of our rooms. I hope we can continue to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here at Easter. Have stayed here many times and love it every time. Got upgraded to a refurbished room. Was ver nice, beds were amazing, so comfortable. Only disappointment was that the carpets have not been replaced but did not detract from our stay. It's like coming home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visiblyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Visiblyred,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Heritage Queenstown again. I am glad that you enjoyed our refurbished rooms and in particular our new tranquil beds.

I hope you have a safe trip home, and look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford,
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was one of the nicest places we lodged in whilst touring the South Island. Our very well-appointed room had a balcony with small table & 2 chairs, looking over the lake and mountains. It was a great place to sip some wine with appetizers before dinner. We had spectacular weather while touring New Zealand, and we chose to take a "vacation from our vacation" here and spend several hours of each day just sitting poolside, giving our feet a rest. The carpark is free, and we opted to just walk into town and around the botanical gardens. Breakfasts could be a la carte or buffet. I only wish they would give people (who don't eat huge portions) a bit of a discount on the buffets, as it's not such a good buy otherwise & a la carte was about the same price as the buffet.
We enjoyed the plush spa feel to the rooms with very comfortable beds. All staff was helpful and courteous. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake. They are little more, but worth the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuchessKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear DuchessKathy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Heritage Queenstown and for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad that we were able to provide the facilities and room to ensure your enjoyed your time in Queenstown to the fullest. I was also pleased to read that you found our staff helpful and courteous.

I hope you have a safe trip home.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford,
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed two nights. Rooms was very well appointed, amazing view. Nice hot tub and pool. Reasonably cheap laundry and free parking. Very helpful staff. Has a restaurant, had one breakfast there at ~$19 (which was half price because of some special). Worth $19, not worth much more. Short walk to town.

Upon checkout the guy working at reception *had* to charge us 50 cents for a couple local calls. We could tell even he thought it was ridiculous and seemed embarrassed he didn't have the authority to waive the charges. Wouldn't stop me from coming back but hotels of this caliber (and price) shouldn't feel the need to nickle and dime people.

Room Tip: Lake view is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSassafrassquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear TheSassafrassquatch,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Heritage Queenstown and for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad to read that you found our staff helpful, and that you were able to enjoy the views and hotel facilities.

I hope you have a safe trip back to Canada.


Kind regards
Alastair Clifford,
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Queenstown over Easter weekend. Our room was lovely and the staff helpful. The facilities offered by the hotel were wonderful. Breakfast was amazing, everything you could possibly want. Our only gripe would be the lack of parking and the confusing 'wing' layout of the hotel.
When we arrived we were able to park in the hotel carpark. Returning from a visit to the town-centre,( a trip which does necessitate a car ride), we were unable to park beneath the hotel, and were told to use an unlit gravel staff parking area a little away from the hotel.
We will certainly be staying at the Heritage again.

Room Tip: We were in a "Waterfall" room which was very nice and had both a shower and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Lyn B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Heritage Queenstown and for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am please to read that we were able to make Easter Weekend an enjoy one for you. Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to park under your wing; unfortunately this was a very busy weekend with a large number of guests choosing to drive. I hope you had a safe trip home.


Kind regards
Alastair Clifford,
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
888 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Property: Heritage Queenstown
Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing