We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed one night; had all the amenities you want in a room. Our room was meticulously clean. Very quiet area of town, especially if you get a room in the back. A little distance out of town but we did not find this to be a problem at all. It's walkable or an easy drive,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Sandra E,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Heritage Queenstown as we appreciated that there were a number of choices you could make. I am please to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room to be meticulously cleaned.

I hope that we can welcome back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My partner and I chose to stay at the Heritage for the whole duration of our stay in Queenstown in early January 2013, and I'm really glad that we did. There is a wide variety of accommodation to choose from in Queenstown, and although there are hotels that are more centrally located, we were glad to be slightly further out. The hotel is still within walking distance (5 - 10 minutes depending on how fast you walk) and there is a gentle incline, but if you prefer not to walk, the local bus stops right outside the hotel, which is really convenient.

The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful. They offer a lot of advice on local attractions and are happy to make bookings on your behalf. The general areas, including the reception, bar/restaurant, pool area were very pleasant to relax in, and were always clean and tidy.

We stayed in a lake view room, and we were able to enjoy the incredible view of the lake and mountains from our balcony. Our room was enormous, and had all of the facilities that we needed. The only downside was that the internet was wired and a bit complicated to use, so we ended up having to sit in the reception or restaurant in order to use the free hour of wi-fi each day.

We ate in the restaurant and had room service, and the food was of a high standard. They are also very accommodating when it comes to any dietary requirements that you have. I would highly recommend staying here, and we certainly plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NtrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear NtrepidTraveller,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Heritage Queenstown. I am thrilled to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and that you were able to enjoy your time at the hotel.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back the Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Heritage is not in the main town, so this is not somewhere you would really want to stay without a car, unless you like a longish walk! There is a bus stop opposite though to go into town. We found it was nice to be away from the town as it was very busy as almost new year. We had a deluxe room with a partial view of the lake from one window and out over trees from the balcony. Decent size room with a very comfortable bed, plenty of storage space.
When we were packing to go, I was checking the wardrobes to make sure we had left nothing behind and I saw two bathrobes neatly folded on a shelf! WHY OH WHY not put them in the bathroom where we could have seen them and used them?
Comfortable bar area for happy hour! There is free wi-fi in the lobby area only. You need a code and you get 20 or 30 mins every 24 hours. BUT be warned, if you had your free wi-fi at say 4.00pm on one day, it seems as if you can only get it at the same time the next day! I tried to get some at 8.00pm and was told I couldn't as I had had it at 4.00 the previous day - very odd!
There is a big car park under the hotel and some spaces outside. Smiley staff everywhere in the hotel. We couldn't get the TV to work, so phoned reception. Within minutes there was a guy at the door to fix it.
We didn't use the pool and spa area sadly, but it looked good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissSunshine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Miss Sunshine15,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were helpful. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand and hope that one day we can welcome you back to the Heritage.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived @ 1.30pm, room not ready, but decided to go to pool, uncover car parking ideal, reception found us there and transferred us to another room so we could check in, great. Pool was nice & relaxing, outdoor spa. Suggest they have some pool side service for drinks would have been icing on the cake. We went up for a drink to bar then went back down to pool. Great view lake from balcony. Tip, ask about bus pass $5 return outside door, handy and convenient as parking in town is difficult & bus runs till nearly 11pm. Didn't eat in house so no comment. Room was very hot, no way of cooling it though, as no air con, only a heater for winter, so had to leave door on balcony open all night as very stuffy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear GVH232,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

I was delighted to read that our staff were able to provide the level of service that we pride ourselves on. The hotel can provide a portable fan for your room for those occasional hot nights, please accept my sincere apologies if we did not make you aware.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the heritage two weekends ago, and loved it so much we came back again this weekend. Great location, just out of the hustle and bustle of the bars, but not too far a walk if you feel like being a part of that.

Great service, great rooms, exceptional views, facilities and great deal.

We will always come back to the Heritage to stay when we are in Queenstown.

Room Tip: If staying in summer ask for a fan for the room, as it is alpine resort as well, so the rooms are ke...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear KMD84,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed for first stay and you chose to stay with us again, given the number of hotels available in Queenstown.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a twin room with a balcony, unfortunately not with a lake view but we had a great outlook from the room. The room was a good size and the bathroom was excellent.

All the staff we spoke to were very helpful and very friendly. Whilst we were there, the maintenance guys came in to look at the balcony door which had been reported by the housekeeping team as not opening easily. They were great and gave us tips on where o visit whilst in Queenstown.

Car parking was a bit of a problem. We came home and there were no car parks available on site and no signage to any alternative parking. Also the wifi wasn't working for the 2 nights we stayed.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Queenstown, however, there is a bus stop and a good service directly outside and the hotel sell discount bus tickets also a cab ride was about $7.

The location was very quiet as it was just outside of Queenstown and this meant a very good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeH803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear JudeH803,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced regarding the Wi-Fi problems, and lack of car parking during your stay. I was glad to read however that our Maintenance staff were able to pass on a few ‘local tips’ so that you could enjoy your stay in Queenstown.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Heritage Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Hotel 3 nights in December.
The hotel is located on a hill just outside Queenstown. To reach the center you can walk for about 15/20 minutes or by public bus, tickets are available at the front desk.
The layout of the hotel is rather strange, a central body that includes the lobby, Cafeteria, gym and swimming pool and other wings with rooms;
this forces you in and out from one place to another,
Our room was in the "wing forest" with a window and a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the lake; the view was breathtaking.
The room was comfortable with good furniture. The bathroom very clean throughout our stay.
You can have half an hour of wi-fi only in the lobby, I do not understand this policy.
The breakfast is a bit expensive and you have to pay for "extras" such as a cappuccino. The food was pretty good, but, in my opinion, with some lack in quantity for all guests.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and they solved a problem in 15 minutes.
Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianfi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Gianfi58,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to provide the level of service we pride ourselves on.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
893 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $135 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing