We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived @ 1.30pm, room not ready, but decided to go to pool, uncover car parking ideal, reception found us there and transferred us to another room so we could check in, great. Pool was nice & relaxing, outdoor spa. Suggest they have some pool side service for drinks would have been icing on the cake. We went up for a drink to bar then went back down to pool. Great view lake from balcony. Tip, ask about bus pass $5 return outside door, handy and convenient as parking in town is difficult & bus runs till nearly 11pm. Didn't eat in house so no comment. Room was very hot, no way of cooling it though, as no air con, only a heater for winter, so had to leave door on balcony open all night as very stuffy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear GVH232,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

I was delighted to read that our staff were able to provide the level of service that we pride ourselves on. The hotel can provide a portable fan for your room for those occasional hot nights, please accept my sincere apologies if we did not make you aware.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the heritage two weekends ago, and loved it so much we came back again this weekend. Great location, just out of the hustle and bustle of the bars, but not too far a walk if you feel like being a part of that.

Great service, great rooms, exceptional views, facilities and great deal.

We will always come back to the Heritage to stay when we are in Queenstown.

Room Tip: If staying in summer ask for a fan for the room, as it is alpine resort as well, so the rooms are ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear KMD84,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed for first stay and you chose to stay with us again, given the number of hotels available in Queenstown.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a twin room with a balcony, unfortunately not with a lake view but we had a great outlook from the room. The room was a good size and the bathroom was excellent.

All the staff we spoke to were very helpful and very friendly. Whilst we were there, the maintenance guys came in to look at the balcony door which had been reported by the housekeeping team as not opening easily. They were great and gave us tips on where o visit whilst in Queenstown.

Car parking was a bit of a problem. We came home and there were no car parks available on site and no signage to any alternative parking. Also the wifi wasn't working for the 2 nights we stayed.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Queenstown, however, there is a bus stop and a good service directly outside and the hotel sell discount bus tickets also a cab ride was about $7.

The location was very quiet as it was just outside of Queenstown and this meant a very good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeH803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear JudeH803,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced regarding the Wi-Fi problems, and lack of car parking during your stay. I was glad to read however that our Maintenance staff were able to pass on a few ‘local tips’ so that you could enjoy your stay in Queenstown.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Heritage Queenstown again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Hotel 3 nights in December.
The hotel is located on a hill just outside Queenstown. To reach the center you can walk for about 15/20 minutes or by public bus, tickets are available at the front desk.
The layout of the hotel is rather strange, a central body that includes the lobby, Cafeteria, gym and swimming pool and other wings with rooms;
this forces you in and out from one place to another,
Our room was in the "wing forest" with a window and a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the lake; the view was breathtaking.
The room was comfortable with good furniture. The bathroom very clean throughout our stay.
You can have half an hour of wi-fi only in the lobby, I do not understand this policy.
The breakfast is a bit expensive and you have to pay for "extras" such as a cappuccino. The food was pretty good, but, in my opinion, with some lack in quantity for all guests.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and they solved a problem in 15 minutes.
Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianfi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Gianfi58,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to provide the level of service we pride ourselves on.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

this is the second time we have stayed here t the heritage and enjoyed it as much as we did the first time. will be returning again. We did get a good price for the room and appreciated this opportunity.

Room Tip: Room was well appointed and although it wasn't a lakeside room it still had a lovely view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Nicki K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following you recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facility.

I am delighted that you chose to stay with Heritage Queenstown again, and that you were able to enjoy your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Heritage is on top of a hill and you get awesome views from the hotel, Lakeview rooms and can get nice views from the Forest wing as well. We stayed in the Forest wing and had a lovely view from our balcony. We were in a renovated room which was very nice. Our room wasn't quite ready so we received a complimentary drink while we waited which was only like 10 or so minutes - great customer service! We enjoyed our stay here, just as we did 7 years ago. The mattress is really comfortable, pillowsoft mattress - awesome! Enjoyed the buffet breakfast and desserts we ordered one night - great room service. Friendly staff, lovely place to stay in, great stay in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnthrdonethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Bnthrdonethat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following you recent stay. I am delighted that you chose to stay with Heritage Queenstown again, and that we were able to provide a wonderful experience. I trust it will not be another seven years before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed overnight before flying to Milford sound in November. Room was exceptionally comfortable and having arrived in time for happy hour, could not ask for more.We fully intended to get the bus into town but once the open fire was lit in the bar and the effects of good white wine we decided to eat in the bar.This turned out to be a good choice as the portions were a good size and the food was of a very good standard.From the minute we arrived the staff were attentive and very friendly and helpful.Would definitely stay here again if visiting and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair C, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Margaet B

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facility.

I was delighted to read that the staff were attentive and helpful and that you enjoyed your meal in the bar. I trust you will enjoy Milford Sound and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards

Alastair Clifford
Acting Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,491 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $162 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing