We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our 2 nt stay here was enjoyable, a great price for a standard hotel room with forest view, but step out onto the balcony & you have a Lake view as well. Very spacious room good wardrobe space.Comfortable bed, spotless room .Quite a big Hotel with free carparking & Wifi free in Lobby great if you need to check on emails by a roaring fire with a glass of red.
Sure furniture maybe a bit dated but how amazing is that view & the staff were very helpful & friendly. I would like to return with family & take 1 or 2 of the 3 bedroom villas, they are so spacious fairly new, just gorgeous with stunning views. We ate at the Bunker & the Wai with friends & can recommend both restaurants. Amisfield for lunch was a treat.

Room Tip: Lakeside view are worth the extra as the scenery is so Majestic The Villas have it all plus an open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    599
    192
    52
    30
See reviews for
350
794
56
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phillip Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently stayed in the villas at the Heritage and found them to be very comfortable and spacious with quality furnishings. We chose the Lakeside villas and were delighted and enjoyed our stay. Great amount of space for the kids inside and they could slip out the bifolds and play in the terrace out the front. It was winter but I could imagine sitting on the terrace in summer and enjoying the view. We were initially given Villa 1 but I would recommend that you request not to have this as it is right next to a busy road and quite noisy, we were promptly moved to Villa 16 and thouroghly enjoyed the peace and quiet. We loved this place so much we returned almost 2 weeks later for our last night in Queenstown. This time we had a Forest View villas but still had views of the lake, but there is nothing quite like pulling back the blinds in the morning to view the snowcapped Remarkables and the "Loo with a view". Love the underfloor heating in the bathroom, fireplace a little difficult at first but once we worked it out we had no problems. Would highly recommend for families or for couples sharing

Room Tip: Villa 1 is quite noisy with road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAussieGriswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Heritage has to be one of the very best hotels for a holiday in the southern alps.
Great service. great property.
Hertiage sits a 15 minute walk from the centre of town overlooking the lakes. All hotel staff go out of their way to make your stay as if you are staying with friends.
the open fires and toasting a marshmallow around the fire is something your kids will love.
We stay in the Villas ( 3 Bedroom /2 Bathroom complete houses) when travelling with our kids and grandkids. full kitchens means that you really can settle in.
If you do book a villa order your groceries and liquer to have it delivered to your villa ready for your arrival .Fresh choice is a great local independent supermarket .their email address is OfficeUser@freshchoicequeenstown.com. Let the hotel know when the delivery will take place and they will kindly put your groceries in the Villa ready for you. Make sure you order 3 days before you are to arrive. the short walk to town will do you good - but there is also a shuttle every 30 minutes if you would prefer not to walk.

Room Tip: if you would like a view of the lakes make sure you ask at time of booking. rates vary depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place needs a major overhaul. That said it is in the low price bracket and I guess you get what you pay for. Very tired rooms, stained and dirty looking carpet and spa and pool area in need of much attention. Also was very surprised upon checking in to be told by receptionist "you requested room near pool and with a view?" to which I optimistically replied "yes!", only to be told sourly "we cannot accomodate any of your requests....". Who would know why they even mentioned it. Do not stay here if you don't have a vehicle, although a 2 minute drive to town, its quite a walk....Breakfast ok but again dining room looking very old, rips in fabric on chairs etc. Nice staff in dining room though. Overall this hotel has good bones but needs work!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineWatson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage_Queenstown, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Heritage Queenstown. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I was most concerned to learn of the problems you experienced during your stay, particularly with regard to the level of disappointment with the hotel décor. I am pleased to advise that we are due to begin a refurbishment of the hotel rooms in September this year.

Once again, thank you for your feedback I do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. This will allow us an opportunity to show you the level of service that we pride ourselves on and one would expect from Heritage Queenstown.


Kind regards


Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

So what couldnt be Romantic in Queenstown, what an amazing place... Heritage Hotel is up the hill (Fernhill) from the centre of town, its prob 1 to 1.5ks walk... but its so beautiful to walk into town on a crisp morning looking at Remarkables.. the rooms have huge beds, baths.. serviced daily.. Food in restuarant is great, and staff are friendly.. highly recommended if you dont mind a small walk... but you can catch buses in.

Room Tip: we got a great deal.. only $119. per night had all we needed, kingsze bed, bath.. verandah.. small v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during a ski trip. It's a bit far from the city center up on the hills but has an undercover carpark which was free so good if you have a car. The rooms are ok, located in separate buildings though and very dodgy furnitures. Actually the quality of the furniture was somehow odd. The furnitures were the type you find at Salvo's stores. The staff were friendly, there is a gym and a small spa, nice for days you don't/can't ski. There is a buffet breakfast for 20 bucks a day which was OK. All in all for the price that I got my room for on Wotif, it was a pleasant stay. I should also mention stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubikcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bdrm forest view villa! The villa is well laid out with all the living downstairs including an open gas fireplace and the 3 berms upstairs!

The bathrooms are well appointed with walk in showers and underfloor heating and the en suite has a tub that looks out to the forest and lake! Bliss!

The villa was really warm, had a full kitchen which we never used cause of all the food options in queenstown! All has full laundry facilities!

The villa was serviced well every day and the staff were very very friendly! Special shout out to Simon who is extra nice! Can't fault them!

The location is an easy 15 min to queenstown but 20 min back because of the hill ... Which is steep but a good workout! We drove primarily and the villas had single car garages which is means no early morning ice on the windscreen!

The sauna is nice, but the spa could use a renovation! Was warm but felt a little grungy! Even tried the pool to cool off from the sauna .. Was good and at 22'c refreshing! Never used the gym but seemed ok!

The wireless was good ... 500mb a day! However no wireless on the villa's ... Just wired! However if you are lucky like we were they have a few apple airports which means you get wireless in your villa!

Only drawback: please get flat screen in the villa's! Nothing worse than laxing in the nice couches and watching a 21-inch CRT!! Other than that excellent!

Highly recommended and would def stay in one of the villa's again!

Tip: the forest view villa's still have decent lake views!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
881 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Property: Heritage Queenstown
Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing