We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in the center but amazing high view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

+ Quiet rooms
+ The view is amazing
+ Take hiking trip to the mountain
- Several separate buildings
- 20 min walk to the center

Room Tip: Ask a room in the main building
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JarmoPulkkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Heritage as a group of 3 couples staying in deluxe rooms. The stand out positive feature of the hotel for me was the service we got from the staff. They were courteous and professional and always keen to assist. The location of the Heritage isn't too bad, you're able to walk to central Queenstown at a pinch or there's a free bus service. Otherwise it's about $10 to catch a taxi into town.

The hotel is probably about due for a refurb, and as such the decor and rooms felt a bit dated. Having said that, the facilities were adaquate. However for the first three nights we were there the spa pool was not working. This irked my friend Coitus O'Sullivan as he is somewhat of a ladies man and was hoping to woo some ladies in the spa pool. Fortunately this issue was remedied after a few days. I've attached a photograph of Coitus O'Sullivan and some of his lady friends for your information.

The heaters in the rooms were exteremely efficient. In fact so much so that even when the in room heater was turned off, the central heating would keep the room at a temperature that would easily melt cheese. This meant that it could be a bit difficult to sleep at times and we would need to periodically open the balcony door to allow cool air in.

The biggest let down at the Heritage was the food. It was over priced and disgusting. The buffet breakfast (for $28) was a complete rip off. I'd suggest eating somewhere else and getting a lot better food for a lot less. The problem being that there is nowhere else to eat nearby. Which I suppose is why they think they can get away with charging so much for such poor food.

All in all, I'd possibly consider staying there again. Although I'd probably try and get an apartment with a kitchen so that there was no need to eat their food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cartron3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage_Queenstown, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Heritage Queenstown. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I was most concerned to learn of the problems you experienced during your stay, particularly with regard to the heating in your room, the level of decor and the poor dining experience. Please be assured that I have discussed your concerns with the hotel Maintenance Manager and the Executive Chef. As a result we have conducted a review of our breakfast buffet, and have introduced a number of improvements. With regards to the heating in your room our maintenance team have checked the hotel central air system to ensure that we retain a greater degree of control. With regards to the décor of the room, please be aware that we are in the midst of finalising a mock up room with plans for a hotel refurbishment in the second quarter of next year.

Once again, thank you for your feedback I do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. This will allow us an opportunity to show you the level of service that we pride ourselves on and one would expect from Heritage Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here on a Friday night after spending 3 nights at Oak Shores Resort and what a disappointment! Had a beautiful 2 bedroom delux, lakefront room at Oak Shores for 300pn which was new and just gorgeous. One of our kids went home, so moved into a studio at Heritage at 250pn and what a dump! We were given a room with putrid plumbing, it was run down overlooking their restaurant and pool, forget the mountain view, was noisy, stunk and just not good. Notified recepection of stench and I must say the staff were very responsive and moved us immediately. However, given the inconvenience and the fact the hotel had many available rooms, management did not upgrade us. They moved us down a level, in a room that didn't smell at least, but closer to noise!

And, forget the heated indoor pool...there is no way you could swim in it, unless you're an excited small child, it would have been 18 degrees. And it was 1/4 indoors...the rest was outdoors.

On Wotif, these rooms are shown as being worth, from memory, $450 or so...false advertising!! $150 would have been more like it. Worse place by far that we stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyS-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage_Queenstown, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Heritage Queenstown. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I was most concerned to learn of the problems you experienced during your stay, particularly with regard to the odour in the suite, the disappointing views and the noise disturbance. Please be assured that I have discussed your concerns with the Front Office Manager and Executive Housekeeper in order to avoid any recurrence. As a result we have conducted a review of our room cleaning processes, and service standards at the front desk. With regards to the décor of the room, we are in the midst of finalising a mock up room with plans for a hotel refurbishment next year.

Once again, thank you for your feedback I do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. This will allow us an opportunity to show you the level of service that we pride ourselves on and one would expect from Heritage Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Carey Norton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife & I stayed in the Lake View Villlas in August 2011. The Villas used to be fantastic, a little on the dear side but the space & the view made it worth while. Now unfortunately the Villas are old & tired, poor maintenance has meant that essential apparatus such as stoves & heating (very important in the winter on the South Isle of NZ) do not always work. The furniture seems not to have been changed in all the years we have been staying there (about 7 years) & the mattresses on the main bedroom & second double bedroom compressed to almost no depth when you sat on the beds, making rolling out of bed whilst sleeping a distinct possibility. Window treatments do not properly cover the windows letting both cold & light in. Carpets were stained & in places threadbare. Staff mostly have a good attitude to requests but a poor attitiude to complaints. All in all no longer worth the NZ600$ per night they ask.

Room Tip: Try another hotel to get a better room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage_Queenstown, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Excerpt of letter sent:

Thank you for taking the time to forward your concerns following your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and frustration caused.

I was most concerned to learn of the problems you experienced during your stay, particularly with regard to the difficulty in starting your fireplace, the quality of bedding and window furnishings in your villa and the consequent poor service received after expressing your concerns.

I understand the frustration that this and your past experiences with the villa equipment and hotel spa have caused. Please be assured that we do take your concerns very seriously. A meeting has been held with all staff and management concerned to address the shortfalls in service that have been identified. As a consequence refresher training in customer service and complaints handling is underway for all Duty Managers and line staff whilst the villa maintenance checks have also been reviewed.

Once again thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. Whilst I can understand your reluctance to return to Heritage Queenstown, I do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards


Carey Norton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

5 star in every respect that mattered to us. The staff were without fault and went the extra mile without being asked. The restaurant is one of the best in Queenstown and few know this because they assume the best eating is in town and miss out. So try eating in at least one night, you will be impressed! We ate out in town during the day because the hotel food was so good, the service and ambiance so pleasant we just could not think of one good reason to back into town at night (free bus or a short 15 minute walk). If you want a romantic stay for two and to treat someone special - this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryWhite_cpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is our third visit to the Heritage in Queenstown. We had a great time. The hotel is excellent. This time we stayed in the Waterfall block. We were ungraded to the top floor. Wonderful spacious room. Super king comfortable bed. Lovely balcony. Could not fault this place. We had buffet breakfast included which was great. Everything you could think of. Could not fault this breakfast at all. We found all staff to be friendly and very helpful. We were lucky to be in Queenstown the week of all the snow fall. Looking at the mountains whilst sitting on the balcony with a wine was incredible. This hotel is a little out of town but it is well worth it. They provide you with a complimentary bus pass during your stay. The bus stops right outside the hotel and leaves every 30 minutes. Excellent service. We did hire a car and went to Arrowtown and looked around. We also went to Onsen Spa which is well worth it. Very relaxing. Overall we had a wonderful couple of days relaxing, eating, a few drinks etc. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyoffour_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed with a group of girlfriends in two lake view apartments. Friend liased with a staff member who was very helpful to sort out our requirements/needs prior to arrival. Impressed with property upon arrival, and also of our apartment and views. Well equipped, toasty warm with gas fire and wall heater. Nice and clean. Saw all seasons in one weekend. Snowed in for two extra days. Heard others being offered reduced rates due to extended stay, but we weren't offered this. Were told this was done on an individual basis!! We looked on wotif and found our room for $220 less. Asked that night if could get this rate, told had to ring in the morning and discuss it. In the morning it wasn't forthcoming for the previous night (when we rang) and it wasn't til we said we would check out and book on wotif that we got it for the next nights. House keeping stingy with toilet paper - and we ran out - generous with towels. Pool/spa great. Lovely sitting by fire toasting marshmallows. They do some of it so well, just need to sort out the other bits. Checking out was a mission - trying to get correct names on receipts so they could be used to claim travel insurance. Will definitely go back, as great for a crowd, but check all sites for best deal as apartments are not cheap. Realise staff numbers down probably due to not being able to get to work because of snow, but fine tune, and you will leave your patrons with a bit memory at departure time. Lost property issues are also a bit of a mission to deal with.

Room Tip: Check out wotif
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage_Queenstown, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Heritage Queenstown. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I was most concerned to learn of the problems you experienced during your stay, particularly with regard to the difficulty in securing rates for your extended stay and the level of attention to detail. Please be assured that I have discussed your concerns with the Front Office Manager in order to avoid any recurrence. As a result we have conducted a review of our selling policies as well as our urgency in following up.

Once again, thank you for your feedback I do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. This will allow us an opportunity to show you the level of service that we pride ourselves on and one would expect from Heritage Queenstown.


Kind Regards

Carey Norton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
893 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $135 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing