We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Queenstown
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

5 star in every respect that mattered to us. The staff were without fault and went the extra mile without being asked. The restaurant is one of the best in Queenstown and few know this because they assume the best eating is in town and miss out. So try eating in at least one night, you will be impressed! We ate out in town during the day because the hotel food was so good, the service and ambiance so pleasant we just could not think of one good reason to back into town at night (free bus or a short 15 minute walk). If you want a romantic stay for two and to treat someone special - this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryWhite_cpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    580
    180
    50
    30
See reviews for
333
770
53
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is our third visit to the Heritage in Queenstown. We had a great time. The hotel is excellent. This time we stayed in the Waterfall block. We were ungraded to the top floor. Wonderful spacious room. Super king comfortable bed. Lovely balcony. Could not fault this place. We had buffet breakfast included which was great. Everything you could think of. Could not fault this breakfast at all. We found all staff to be friendly and very helpful. We were lucky to be in Queenstown the week of all the snow fall. Looking at the mountains whilst sitting on the balcony with a wine was incredible. This hotel is a little out of town but it is well worth it. They provide you with a complimentary bus pass during your stay. The bus stops right outside the hotel and leaves every 30 minutes. Excellent service. We did hire a car and went to Arrowtown and looked around. We also went to Onsen Spa which is well worth it. Very relaxing. Overall we had a wonderful couple of days relaxing, eating, a few drinks etc. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffour_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed with a group of girlfriends in two lake view apartments. Friend liased with a staff member who was very helpful to sort out our requirements/needs prior to arrival. Impressed with property upon arrival, and also of our apartment and views. Well equipped, toasty warm with gas fire and wall heater. Nice and clean. Saw all seasons in one weekend. Snowed in for two extra days. Heard others being offered reduced rates due to extended stay, but we weren't offered this. Were told this was done on an individual basis!! We looked on wotif and found our room for $220 less. Asked that night if could get this rate, told had to ring in the morning and discuss it. In the morning it wasn't forthcoming for the previous night (when we rang) and it wasn't til we said we would check out and book on wotif that we got it for the next nights. House keeping stingy with toilet paper - and we ran out - generous with towels. Pool/spa great. Lovely sitting by fire toasting marshmallows. They do some of it so well, just need to sort out the other bits. Checking out was a mission - trying to get correct names on receipts so they could be used to claim travel insurance. Will definitely go back, as great for a crowd, but check all sites for best deal as apartments are not cheap. Realise staff numbers down probably due to not being able to get to work because of snow, but fine tune, and you will leave your patrons with a bit memory at departure time. Lost property issues are also a bit of a mission to deal with.

Room Tip: Check out wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage_Queenstown, General Manager at Heritage Queenstown, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Heritage Queenstown. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I was most concerned to learn of the problems you experienced during your stay, particularly with regard to the difficulty in securing rates for your extended stay and the level of attention to detail. Please be assured that I have discussed your concerns with the Front Office Manager in order to avoid any recurrence. As a result we have conducted a review of our selling policies as well as our urgency in following up.

Once again, thank you for your feedback I do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. This will allow us an opportunity to show you the level of service that we pride ourselves on and one would expect from Heritage Queenstown.


Kind Regards

Carey Norton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

first time to queenstown and loved it ! will be back ! so much to do traking,biking,water sports,golf,touring & the views ! hotel was perfect ! great service ! perfect spot with breathtaking views over the water towards the golf course ! stunning ! free bus just outside the door to the town centre . the skyline gondola & luge is a must no matter what age ! fantastic golf tours ! next time i"ll be into the segway golf check it out ! great chef at restaurant in heritage you may not want to leave the hotel ! and there is no need to ! happy travels !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marklah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We requested a room on a non-smoking floor, when we arrived in our room it smelt badly of cigarette smoke so we called reception. We were moved to another room within 10mins without a fuss.
Other than this our stay wa wonderful. Our room backed onto a beautiful forest with a waterfall, extremely relaxing.
We loved the fact we were close enough to town that it was only a few minutes on the free bus service and we could park for free at our hotel. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMarieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We regularly stay at the Queenstown Heritage - both for work trips or holidays with family and friends. It is comfortable and quiet and so close to Queenstown without being in the middle if all the action. You can wander down the hill to shops and cafes etc or take the free shuttle there and back - to suit your exercise needs or timeframe. Friendly staff were so helpful on our last visit - it just made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Myself & adult daughter stayed at the Heritage in June, for the start of the winter festival. We choose not to be right in the hussle & bussle of the town as we wanted some much deserved rest and relaxation.
On arrival our lake view room that I had paid an upgrade for was not ready. Not that it was their fault , our flight arrived much earlier than check in time. So as not to waste a day of our long weekend we had our bag stored, spent a lovely day in Queenstown and returned to the hotel after dark. When we were being given directions to our room I checked that this was a lake view room that I had booked & was assured it was.
We got to our room which was a couple of floor up but right next to the road overlooking the bus stop and hotel main enterence. We couldn't see the lake from our balcony, but by now it was pitch black so we decided to wait and see what the morning revealed.

This first night was a disaster, the room was really cold, the heater was less use than a hairdryer, we had to sleep with our bathrobes on top of our thermal pyjamas, just to be warm enough to try to sleep. There were drunks shouting and laughing at the bus stop & the traffic noise kept us awake till very late and woke us very early the next morning. As the new day dawned I have to admit the lake was visible from the balcony but it was not what I imagined a lake view room to be. I couldn't put up with this for another three nights.
I went down to reception & calmly explained my disapointment to the receptionist who within minutes had arranged another room. Within half an hour she had our bags moved and we were all set up in a very similar but warm, quiet room with a lovely lake and mountain view, birds singing & the view spectacular. - what a star she was (Mirenna - I think).

From here on, the stay was absolutely great, helpful friendly staff, good food and a warm cozy log fire in the comfortable bar area. The hotel provides free bus passes that go very regularly to & from Queenstown centre, however it is honestly only about a 10 - 15 minute down hill, lovely walk (bit steep comming back).

Don't bother using shuttles or taxis ($45- approx) to the airport it's very easy on the bus link system & costs only a few dollars. All of the transport staff are so willing to assist you. I was going to hire a car for a few days but didn't need to.

All in all we had a lovely stay at the Heritage and Queenstown and will definately be back but , be very specific about which part of the hotel. Thanks again to the receptionist, without your assistance our peaceful break could have been a nightmare & our now fond memories of the Heritage very different.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on Taxi's, the link bus service is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Queenstown

Property: Heritage Queenstown
Address: 91 Fernhill Rd | P O Box 648, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is has a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Heritage Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing