We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Dunedin
1 review
“A surprise”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We have stayed at the Copthorne on numerous times over the years. We have always been lucky and have had lakeview rooms, if not allocated them, we ask for one. We have stayed with family in a triple a couple of times. This visit we had our adult daughter and we chose the Copthorne because it has larger rooms. Some other hotels in Queenstown have very small rooms.It is also handy to just park the car and walk down to the main centre of town.
We were thrilled when we eventually found our room to discover we had been allocated a suite with Lake view. The suite was warm, well appointed, comfortable beds and a large bathroom with spa and great shower.
One minus though was the state of the wood work in the entrance of the room. Some attention needed, this is a fault of quite a number of hotels.
Breakfast was included in the rate, the range was extensive from the buffet, service a little slack from the staff.The original part of the hotel was buit in the mid 1970's with the newest part built in the late1980's.
We have stayed in both areas and have always found the rooms warm, well furnished. The dining room could do with refurbishing though, still a dark 1970 Alpine look to it, not in keeping with the rest of the hotel decor.
Staff ,as with most Queenstow hotels, is a mini UN which can result in variable service standards.
With such a nice suite, we were reluctant to leave,wishing that we were able to stay longer. With the hotel have been built then added onto plus being built down a hillside, it can take some time to find your room and also to get lost within the hotel, but that can be part of the fun!
They still keep the old tradition of NZ Hotels, the free morning newspaper.
No doubt we will stay at the Copthorne again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    344
    178
    63
    31
See reviews for
140
351
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had a very comfortable stay. We got our room at a very reasonable rate on "grab a night" so very happy. Our room wasn't on the lakeview side, but we didn't expect it to be for the very reasonable rate we paid.
A nice walking distance to town(about 5 mins).
Undercover parking was great.
We had a meal in the restaurant which was very nice, but the restaurant was cold. We probably would have stayed in the bar to watch the All blacks play, but it was too cold, so went back to our room to watch.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank anna_borthwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I must admit that I didn't expect too much from a Copthorne and my biggest fears got proven right: This place (as well as the Millenium just across the road) are far below what their rating would suggest and no comparison to what the big international chains would offer for similar rates.

Staff was badly managed and trained, some of them seemed like kiddies just out of high school which is probably not even far off the reality (cheap labour, I'd say) or outright creepy. Pretty unfriendly and not willing to react to complaints, some of my colleagues had similar experience.

The rooms itself very obviously only recently renovated (unlike at the Millenium across the road where everything looks like right from the 80ies) but they somehow managed to still keep it ugly -why in the world did they keep those awful flowery duna covers (see photo)?

To make it even worse, I ended up with a room that offered a lovely look onto yet another room just across a badly maintained inner courtyard. Yes, they DO have rooms with quite spectacular views of the area but you need to be either lucky OR pay extra to get them or else you could end up with a really ugly view instead. Other negatives where the thin walls that let you listen to conversation in the rooms next door and the badly low water pressure in the shower. And what in hell are those random lounge areas that I've seen ALWAYS empty (see photo)? Also: No pool, not even a gym.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel, and it's really nothing special but it does the job. We appreciated the 20 minutes of free WiFi, but thought that if some of the motor lodges we stayed in on the South Island could offer unlimited free WiFi, why couldn't this big hotel?

Also, we were hoping for a nice view (since that seems to be all there is in Queenstown), but we ended up with one of the road-level rooms that looked out onto the side street. In other words, worst view in the place. Our other complaint is that the walls must have been paper thin. We could hear our neighbors at all hours.

The hotel was clean and the parking was convenient.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copyedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The hotel itself was quite nice upon first glance. It was 2 blocks away from the lake which was pretty promising. It was great to wake up and go for a nice walk by the lake. Check-in was efficient, the staff were really friendly and helpful when booking the activities like sky diving and jet boating. The room itself was a decent size but was a bit tight for us because we had 3 in one room and had to squeeze in an extra bed. The bathroom was decent/clean but shower was pretty average. I would stay away from using the internet, it's 3 dollars for 20 minutes. They don't use standard browser so I had issues trying to get to sites that require IE or firefox. The hotel is really not in the central part of town so you have to do some walking to get to restaurants/bars/stores.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

How anyone can be enthusiastic about this hotel is beyond belief. The staff encountered were very good, obliging and pleasant. However, it was below zero outside and no heating whatsoever in the corridors, had to wear a coat to walk between room and bar/restaurant. Mentioned it on three seperate occasions to the front desk, usual promises but no action. Room heater was not switched on even though it was known that the room was to be occupied, took some hours to warm the room and bedding through so that it was comfortable. The ventilation in the bathroom is non-existent so it became a steam room after one shower. The decor is dated and in generally pretty poor condition. The lift I used clanked and banged, stopped using it out of fear. Breakfast area is gloomy but food just about OK. No business facilities (printing etc). Car parking good, indoor and safe indoor access from rooms. Hotel is not right on the lakefront despite the name, a good 5 minute walk into the centre of Queenstown and steep uphill all the way back. This hotel is on the corporate list for the company I am involved with, not for much longer though!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easternrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Very happy with the service .The meals were great and the room was of a very good standard.Have stayed in many hotels Canada ,U.S.A. Australia and New Zealand and this is up there with the best.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairmont020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne8123, Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
On behalf of the Copthorne Lakefront Hotel & Resort Queenstown I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Property: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing