We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture postcard view from room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The hotel is close to the shops and restaurants via a short walk.
The view from the room was spectacular, #3419, if you have the extra money, it is well worth the lake view room.
Continental breakfast was very good, the bar meals average.
Transport picked us up at the hotel to take us to Coronet Peak, and dropped us back.
The beginner ski instruction was superb.
Cross country skiing is not as available as advertised.
Snoeshoeing at the Remarkables was exhilarating.
A 3 nite stay was not enough at this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmsenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 811 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed here for 3 days and got a great deal off "grabanight" website which was $65 NZ a night per room. We were really happy with this hotel as it is located resonably close so you can walk to the town centre. However it is a very large hotel and we tried to book the spa but it was booked out. Mainly due to school holidays, we had a look at it and though the spa very ordinary anyway.
We had a great time at this hotel and was very very happy with our stay and the hotels staff. Its the perfect hotel for ski or snowboarding holidays.
We didnt use the resturants but it had a wonderful lake view. The Millenium hotel is situated across the road and I wouldnt recommend staying there as it doesnt have a lake view and isnt as good as the copthorne even though its more expensive.
I am very pleased with this hotel and would have paid more to stay here if needed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melxxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in August, lovely hotel, slightly out of town with about a 10 minute walk into town.

Check in staff are very friendly and helpful. Also the guy who books your tours for you, he was so nice and gave lots of information, tips and advice.

Rooms are a bit dated and smelled musty but was ok otherwise. Views are amazing. Food was nice too as were the cocktails at happy hour ;-)

Shower wasn't very strong and bathrooms are small and dated.

If I was to stay in Queenstown again I would probably look for accommodation closer to town though.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

This hotel has an ok location, although other hotels are better located. That's it. That's about the nicest thing I can say about this place. The air condition is very loud, though it switches itself off at midnight, allowing you to sleep then. However, it is so strong you will be dehydrate. The buffet breakfast consisted of rubbery cold bacon, rubbery flavourless mushrooms, tomatoes coated in a dried packet mix of mixed herbs and then wilted under a grill. Not roasted or oven baked; wilted. The baked beans had developed a thick skin and as I was there a server added fresh ones to it and gave it a stir. Shudder. I ended up with cornflakes and canned fruit. It was ok. Two lights had blown in our room. the lighting was very dim due to the energy efficient light bulbs they used. I found this hypocritical against the airconditioning. The best part of the stay was going outside and feeling my sinuses rehydrate.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegreatnicski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

we stayed for three nights in this hotel in first week of may.We were pleased as soon we had the very first sight from our car,its in a great location and as soon as you enter the town u gotta see it.
The guys at reception desk were smart and proffesional ,within minutes we were checked in and we were upgraded to a newly furnished room lake facing instead of run of houses room.
although the floor plan of the hotel is bit tricky and we found some guest searching rooms and reception but it is not a big issue and one get used to soon.
the room was very well decorated and we without wasting time took the picture of it as we were sure we will make a mess of it soon.the view from window was wonderful showing garden of the hotel and lake.
It was very calm and quite .i always visit bathroom to get an idea of property and it was to the mark.
In the morning we went for the breakfst in restaurant situated on first floor,Big glass windows were facing the road and mountains.fresh snowfall could be vied on the peaks.brerakfast was very good comprising of hash brown,mushrooms,tomatoes ,juices ,fruits ,muffins andlot many nonveg items.(as we are vegetarians so we didnt peeped there).
one thing i must say to the copthorene guys that they should change breakfast from hotel to hotel and day to day.we stayed in all copthorne hotels during our tour and at the end i was literally bored of having the same same and same menu everywhere.
but the quality was good

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chirag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Nice restaurant / lounge area, average room. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I stayed here for five nights in January 2008. Location-wise it's nearby the Queenstown airport, and it's also fairly accessible to the main town, about a 15 minute walk uphill. The room was fairly clean, but the decor was dated, and the bath tub had a drainage problem. The quality of the front desk service varied depending on the staff member, some were friendly and some were cold and unhelpful. I paid NZD160 for a superior lakeview room, which had a stunning view of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains. The hotel grounds are fairly pleasant for a walk. Given a choice, I probably wouldn't stay here again, there are better options in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soslov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#33 of 58 in Queenstown
870 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $134 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing