We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location Problem with the beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location Problem with the beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location is amazing. Its only 300 Metres or less to town and the bus stop is only 30 metres away. The view is great and the rooms are clean and tidy and I also found them to very warm. We only needed the heater 1 night. The only downsides were that we requested 2 double beds but were only given 2 single beds to sleep 3 people. We were told there weren't any double beds available despite the booking being done 1 month in advance. The shower pressure and temperature were great but the toilet is too close to the wall. The toilet roll holder sticks into your side and you're tempted to sit at an angle. The rooms are quiet but you occasionally hear other people and doors closing but not enough to annoy you. Would have given 5 stars but for the problem with the beds.

Room Tip: If kids want to run around ask for a room on the 2nd floor. This has a door out onto the grass. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born_In_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your feed back, and apologies for getting your booking wrong, appreciate your comments and hope you enjoyed Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    336
    175
    63
    30
See reviews for
134
347
59
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Initial thoughts were 'this is really nice & not overly expensive'. The room was clean & spacious. However, our room (2401) was located fairly close to the lift and was not very well sound-proofed. The corridor outside was tiled & you could easily hear conversations & anyone passing with suitcases. On one morning a party of guests departed around 5.30am & the noise really was unacceptable in such a hotel. On the plus side the staff were helpful & the hotel is located only 10 minutes walk from the main areas. There is a charge for parking ($10 a night), but there is ample free on-street parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogita180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay and I was sorry to hear that you were woken so early by the lifts and people passing, I thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in September 2013 with my daughter (12). We found all the staff to be incredibly helpful. We tried the bar food one evening - it was such good value compared with the rest of town and such outstanding quality we ate there most evenings....the steak was lovely and tender, lamb burgers were tasty and the fish and chips were great - hint: order a side of vegetables - hotels rarely get something so simple so right - we couldn't fault it at all. (The vegetarian pizza was the best we have ever had). The bar staff should be commended for being so attentive and polite and thanks to the Chef - great job!
We found the room to be quite adequate (lovely views), well maintained and housekeeping did a good job. If you usually stay in shiny new hotels keep in mind the price you are paying to stay here compared to other hotels in the area - and given the proximity to town (walking distance) and the lovely gardens overlooking the lake - then this is great value - it really suited our needs. The bus stops outside if you dont want to walk back up the hill from town (another hint: catch the local bus from the airport - much cheaper than any other option too).
It takes about 10 -15 minutes to walk to the gondola or town centre (max) and Concierge are always happy to help with any enquiries/bookings. We will most definitely return. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Many thanks for your revue and the kind comments about your stay at the Copthorne Hotel and Resort, I will pass on your comments about both food and service. Thank you again for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay here.

Great view, great service, friendly staff. Walking distance into town (about 5-10mins) which made it very convenient but note that you have to walk uphill on your return trip (not too far though!)

The buffet breakfast was lovely (this was included in our deal).

The lunch menu at the restaurant is very affordable and portion sizes are big! My husband and I were able to share a meal for lunch and be satisfied. (Especially after the buffet breakfast)

The only reason for NOT scoring a 5 was because:
1) we had booked to have a room with 1 double bed but were given a room with 2 queen beds. We were given another room (with an even nicer view) but had to wait an extra hour so they could clean it.
2) We had given a bag of clothes for laundry on the Wednesday night (they advertised if we give it in the morning it will be done that night). When we came in on Thursday night we went to reception to pick it up but were told it would be in our room. It was not in our room. We called reception several times but no one picked up (there was a large tour group who had arrived that evening) so left if for the next morning to find out where our laundry had gone. The next morning (Friday) when we called reception we found out that it had not been done yet, so they put it through for us but it was cutting it fine as we were checking out at 10am. It all ended well as we got our clothes in time but prompt service would have been appreciated.

Even with those 2 issues we found the service to be friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again and recommend to our friends! Especially the Lakeview rooms as the views are absolutely beautiful!

Room Tip: Our room was a lake view room closest to the lake. It was away from the main part of the building w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback on your stay, Apologies for the Laundry incident we certainly should have had this back to you in a more timely manner. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the views of the Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just 10-15mins walk from town centre.
Friendly staff especially the room service staff, and most of the reception staff.
The overall cleanliness was well, and this including the private spa pool facilities.
The water wasn't consistently hot though, and the bathroom was a bit small but maybe that's because I stayed in a standard room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay, we are gradually upgrading the rooms with another 40 rooms being upgraded early next year bringing the total to 186. I will pass on your comments to our engineer regarding the water. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I arrived at the Copthorne and found the TV and heater didn't work. I rang reception and a repairman came and found the TV wasn't plugged in correctly. He found the heater had blown a circuit breaker and reset it. I went out and left the heater on as the room was cold. I came back and found the heater had blown the circuit breaker again. I again rang reception and the following morning I was put in another room which was opposite the lifts and very noisy. I was most unhappy with this and complained to the reception staff in the morning on checkout. A poorly maintained hotel. I should have at least be given one night free accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your feed abck on the hotel, I cant say much about the issue of the broken heater but I will see why it keeps blowing a fuse. Appreciate the feed back thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location to start with. Easy check in but where not told about where to park our car .... there is only off street parking. Place is quite a maze to walk around we where on level one which required catching two lifts and a bit of a walk.You will soon get use to it.Amazing views from outside our room. Room was tidy and clean but a strange damp outdoor from the bathroom ..old shower curtain I think.Spa pool a bit cold and at when we where using it a bunch of clowns in the next room ..but that's not the hotels problem ...Small issues.Good location good price ..now get out and enjoy Queenstown

Room Tip: Maybe not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramonenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for the review,glad you enjoyed Queenstown on your break. The hotel does have 2 levels of car parking and there is quite a lot of street parking available so I will talk with the front desk and ensure they are informing our guests of the correct information. Thanks again for the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Property: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing